Ilminster Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Super little site

Only stayed 1 night on stop over from Essex to Cornwall, site situated very conveniently just couple of hundred yards from A303 route. Site is immaculately maintained by very friendly and helpful wardens even had some salad cream we needed in shop and warden kindly provided us with some ice from her own supply for a cold drink. Facilities block is fairly new and well maintained. As others have mentioned the left turn into the lane from A303 if heading West is a tight one so take it easy if you have a long outfit. Unfortunately no pubs or restaurants are within easy walking distance but plenty within a short drive. Overall a very good experience of a well run and maintained club site, well done Mandy and Sue.

Paullb

Reviewed on 12/07/2021 10:10

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Stay

We spent 8 days here. Wardens very welcoming and friendly, very visible on site which is good. Facilities clean as expected.Overall site whilst smallish doesn’t feel over crowded. Grass pitches can get a bit boggy when rains but wardens appeared to keep on top of making sure didn’t get muddy. Lots to do in area NT properties worth visiting only our opinion, Montacute House, Barrington Court, Lytes Cary Manor all have beautiful gardens and grounds and there are some walks at each property if that’s what you like. We also visited EH Muchelney Abbey worth a look and there is a nice river walk to . Hams hill country park is close by and nice to walk around. We ran out of time for visiting other places in the area so will definitely return

patandbob1

Reviewed on 03/07/2021 15:24

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful 2 week stay

We arrived on the first day that the site opened after lockdown, April 12th, we had the whole site to choose from! Not a big site which was very nice, no facilities for children and the dog walk is smallish but both suited us just fine (lazy dog, no kids). Wardens are great, so friendly and hardworking, always around making sure that the site is just perfect. The onsite shop sells the essentials including Cream Teas and Ice Creams - yummy. The wardens are new for this season and the site was not in a good condition when they arrived so have been working really hard to get it up to the standard they want. Cant comment on the facilities as we used our own. Access from a busy 'A' road via a sharp left hand turn into a lane only a couple of hundred yards to negotiate so not too bad even with an 8ft wide caravan. No barrier which is a shame as would give you a sense of security but great Wi-fi. Site is a bit isolated and not many places to walk to from site. TV reception seemed OK more than enough channels if you need them. We were very lucky with the weather it was glorious so we spent quite a few days travelling to the coast which is only 30 mins away, Lyme Regis, Sidmouth and Charmouth well worth a visit. NT Monacute House, Barrington Court & Lytes Cary Manor are not very far away. Supermarkets in Chard and we found Snowdon Park for a dog walk. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Jeff66

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 28/06/2021 23:07

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Best of sites!

We found that this was a well run, quiet site with friendly hardworking wardens.

G N Crisp

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 16:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Friendliest wardens!

The ladies who run the site were so friendly, welcoming and helpful, one walked us round the site and discussed our pitch options before we pulled away from reception area. The site is clean and welcoming. The shower blocks and toilets were always clean when we visited. It is well presented and well maintained with nice decorative flower boxes near the front. The shop had some basics for sale and also some bird houses which looked hand painted - possibly by the wardens, they were really cute. Nearly bought one, but someone beat me to the one I liked! Follow the club site directions as there is a very very sharp turn just before you get there It is a very small site but pitches are roomy. We stayed 6 nights and for us it was probably a bit too long as nothing is really accessible from the site by foot or bike. Everywhere seemed to be too far or on too busy a road that it was necessary to drive to. If we wanted to go for a walk or a bike ride we had to drive to somewhere first. It depends what you want out of your trip but for us that would put us off returning, but the site itself and the wardens can not be faulted so would highly recommend to anyone. Taunton nearby is a nice town, and has a great mini golf and adventure trail next to the town - great for families

mickysofine

Reviewed on 10/06/2021 14:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent

We stayed here recently for 10 days and enjoyed it hugely. A lovely well kept site in reasonably easy reach of many of the regions tourist attractions. The Wardens, Mandy and Sue are exceptional, very friendly and always willing to help out campers. We are already looking forward to another visit! The only downside is the A303, at busy times it gets very congested and care must be taken pulling out onto the road. Satnavs have a habit of taking you down 5 miles of very narrow lanes.

fredsautos

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2021 10:18

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Extremely clean site and great showers

Mandy and Sue the wardens who run the site work really hard to keep it clean and looking good. I don’t think I have seen a warden get so wet day after day as Mandy did from the constant rain helping caravans/motorhomes get off the grass pitches which had become sodden through so much rain and then trying to improve the grass for the bank holiday weekend arrivals. We have stayed here before and our only niggle was that the local farmer has now installed an automatic bird scarer which starts at 7.00am so if your looking for a lie in, invest in some ear plugs. This is a small, friendly and very clean site and we look forward to returning to it again next year.

Lbear

Reviewed on 03/06/2021 22:59

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Just what was needed

We spent 4 nights at this site last week being our first trip since lockdown. The wardens, Mandy & Sue are so friendly and happy to share and information when asked. They made us feel very welcome and take pride in all they have done since taking over the site. Although due to COVID regulations we were not able to shower, the toilets and vanity cubicles were open and were absolutely spotless all the time. There is a little shop in the office offering essentials as well as free range eggs and cream teas. Although the lane running past the caravan site is very narrow, We found some public byways a short distance away and enjoyed lots of lovely walks with our dog. We live an hour away from the site and hope to visit again soon. For anybody travelling down the A 303 towards or back from Devon and Cornwall it’s a great spot for a break.

BelT0

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 21/04/2021 15:31

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Short Weekend

Couple of days stopover on the way to Dartmoor National Park. During a hot and lazy weekend, Illminster did not disappoint - chilling out was all we did. Great facilities on-site with pristine toilet block and grass pitches recently mowed. Highly recommended to chill out and take a relaxing break.

Popeye Again

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/10/2019 14:51

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent place to stay

The site is very local to places to go and visit and see very good overnight stop only problem is is there are some very well behaved dogs but unfortunately the owners are not as good leads means leads and picking up poo is a must lovely site will drop in again

tom sally

Reviewed on 16/09/2019 08:53

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer