Kinlochewe Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice peaceful site

We stayed at Kinlochewe for a couple of nights whilst we were touring Scotland and absolutely loved it. The walks from site are fantastic and there are print outs of the different walks in the information hut which you can take away with you, which is really useful. Very friendly and helpful wardens and facilities up to the normal high standards. The site is next door to a petrol station which sells a few essentials, and has a nice little cafe. We booked a table at the hotel in the village (just a few minutes walk away) and had an absolutely amazing meal there, would definitely recommend. I really hope we get chance to go back to this site as I would like more time to do some of the walks from site and explore the area more.

SueC65

Campervanner

Reviewed on 12/10/2021 20:57

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great central location to explore

Warden on site from 5 pm for new arrivals. It was easy to find a pitch as instructions were posted at reception and pitches were clearly marked and comparable. The warden was really friendly and helpful on this camc site, got a real sense of them enjoying their job and wanting to make your stay equally enjoyable, which can make a big difference to the overall experience. Great food and service at The Stag at the Kinlochewe Hotel, which is a short walk from the site and very popular. It is dog friendly and we were told to book ahead due to their licencing. There's a bus that stops outside the hotel twice a week! There is also a lovely little cafe next to the fuel station which is left out of the campsite. The pitches near the road can be noisey as it is a popular stop on the NC500 Stunning scenery at Loch Maree and lovely picnic grounds to spend the day and kayak. The road to Torridon was awesome to cycle and take in the changing scenery (lookout for deer at the car park). The toilet block was small, bit dated but functional and clean. I would definitely recommend this campsite.

Leah16

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/10/2021 20:08

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site in the wilds

A great site in the wilds. Lots of walks in the hills, direct from the site. Very good information available in the "garden shed" on walks and local attractions. Easy access to Torridon and Loch Ewe by car, but lots of single track roads if you go that way! Not for Winnebago drivers. The staff were wonderful. They were even looking after the dog of an elderly gentleman who fell ill. The recovery firm will take the motorhome but not the dog! Downsides of the site were the wifi only being "hot spot", but it was pretty fast, and the lack of shower curtains which made keeping one's clothes dry in the cubicle an interesting challenge, shall we say. And, yes, it did rain quite a lot, and, yes, there were some midges but it is Wester Ross. We hope to return there before too long (as does the dog).

TMCMA

Reviewed on 03/10/2021 21:17

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Memorable journeys

5 night stay in September and found the site to be a fantastic base for exploring, stunning scenery and wild road trips due to many single track roads, journey to Applecross a must if for nothing else but the thrill of the road trip, awesome and memorable. Gairloch, Torridon and Loch Maree all worth a visit Everything you need is within easy reach of the site lovely dog walks through the nature reserve fair choice of places to eat whether you want a snack or a full meal. Peaceful and tranquil site wardens welcoming but unobtrusive liked the checking in system only downside was the midges in the evening and poor TV reception but the whole experience far outweighed the negatives definitely recommend a visit.

Lorraine Williams

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 23:53

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent location, great walking

We enjoyed this site, well located on the NC500 trail, the Torridon hills and Applecross. Clean with excellent facilities and the first time we have seen a drying room! Great idea, particularly for those that are camping in tents. The reception was shut between 1-5pm but was not an issue at all, as there are clear instructions on the door e.g. drop in your membership card and please come back after 5pm - easy peasy! We didn't get to the Beinn Eighe visitor centre as we only had one night, but had heard it was good. The cafe in the petrol station next door did an excellent breakfast and the fuel prices were reasonable. Around the corner was the Gorse Bush Cafe where we had a great beef Sunday dinner, but all the food looked fantastic. We ventured to the Bistro Bo & Muc at The Torridon and had an amazing meal there and a lovely walk around their kitchen garden. All in all, if you are in this neck of the woods, then this site is a really good option. Next time I would not choose a pitch the hugged the tree line, as this is the only place that there were midges. Pitches more central, away from the trees were totally fine.

Tuffs

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 16:47

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

great site

The site itself is lovely with typically clean facilities. Some reviewers commented on the office being closed between 1-5 but to be fair I think the arrival system worked really well - they let you choose your pitch and pop back later to tell them where you are and pay. I can’t see that being a problem and saves queues The location is great for walking cycling and loch swimming The local cafes are really nice and worth a visit the midges did force us to stay in the van in the evening but that’s what you expect in Scotland at this time of year Nice site and very pleasant staff

Colin Campervan

Campervanner

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 10:33

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A lucky space found

Turned up on Saturday the 11th Sep to find out I had booked the following week when I clicked the calendar. The lovely couple running the site managed to find me one last space that had become available due to someone leaving early. Yes, I should of checked my booking. A busy weekend in Western Ross with no other sites near by. I nearly became one of those lay by campers that I'm so critical of. My lessons are check your bookings and bring the midge face covering with you. Lovely well kept site. Thanks for taking the time to fit me in. Look forward to the Rovers beating the Clarets next time they play......

Tony Logan

Reviewed on 17/09/2021 11:06

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A gem in the Highlands

Kinlochewe is a terrific site. I will start with negatives, there is only one, manoeuvring around the site is tight. Now the positives, very friendly, helpful and informative staff. A terrific welcome and really go out of their way to ensure you get the best pitch for you. The site is split into little sub sets so worth looking in google maps before you go to see how it is laid out. Facilities were excellent and very clean. The location is perfect for exploring the area with so much on your doorstep. Next door is a petrol station which has so much more to offer than fuel. Worth sitting there over a coffee and watching the folks come and go. Loch Mariee and Torridon region on your door step. What a back drop to our holiday, sorry we only booked 2 nights could have spent so much more time there. We will return!!!

wmstuart

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/09/2021 11:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful and glorious scenery

We had a lovely 2 night midweek stay here in August. The site was very peaceful perhaps because it was midweek. Yes, it is really just a gravel site but sort of felt ok to us as we had a fab pitch looking at the Torridon mountains. The midges weren't too bad as it was unusually hot with a breeze but as someone else said, if you hate midges, don't go, or expect to be in your van come early evening! Will definitely be back.

CraigMcD

Reviewed on 09/09/2021 17:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic week at Kinlochewe

We have just had the most magical week at Kinlochewe. The location is great with views to die for. Totally peaceful. Wifi is practically non existent (husband didn't manage to get wifi even after paying on the club wifi) and only 5 tv channels but it all adds to the peace. The facilities are very modern, looks like the amenity block has had a recent refurbishment and spotless clean. The borders between the pitch areas are very untidy and need a gardener in there to tidy them up. The ground is solid so take good strong awning/tent pegs, oh and lots of midge spray and a midge net. You won't be disappointed. We are definitely coming back.

sandlsmith

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/08/2021 20:08

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer