Lady Margaret's Park Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

The Way Forward

The new toilet block is the way forward with its dividing door segregating half the block for cleaning while the remaining open section has all the ammenities in each section. The build quality is good but a few snagging items will need to be addressed. (ie: Door stops have feel off or been removed and the partitioning is flimsy, time will tell) While queuing to go through the quick check in barrier 2 units decided to over take us all and soon came to halt by the wardens - some folk are unbelievable ! Is the 13.00 arrival time being implemented ? At 11.00 a unit drove down the lane as we left.......hmmm. Bank holiday was over. Lovely site in a beautiful area.

MH Carado

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/04/2024 18:55

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Refurb job

The refurbishment has provided facilities that are second to none with the added benefit that they are configured so that complete closure for cleaning is not required, long a bug bear of site users. Location is excellent for Chirk Castle, the canal aqueduct and tunnel, some great walks along the towpath and in the Park. Chirk itself is a small town but all the essentials are there in terms of shops and eateries, 10 minutes walk to the centre. The Club can’t resist driving everyone to conformity, TWO pegs per pitch which are just a unit’s width apart, ensuring everyone is positioned the same, taking regimentation to another level! Nevertheless, this site has to be near to the gold standard as any.

Mikeyj

Campervanner from Flintshire

Reviewed on 28/02/2024 22:46

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Probably the best site we have ever stayed on

The best site we have stayed on so far, even beating Hawes in the Yorkshire Dales, which was our favourite until staying here. The facilities are exceptional and are kept lovely and clean by the wardens. The site itself is set amongst the trees and has an abundance of wildlife. It is situated right next to Chirk Castle and its grounds and also close to the train station, bus stop, and the Shropshire canal. There is so much to do in the area, cycling, walking etc. We caught the bus into Llangollen and the trains go to Wrexham, Shrewsbury, Chester. There is a pasty and mash van that visits the site on a Thursday and a fish and chip van on a Friday, which we can recommend. We will definitely be visiting again in the future. 10/10.

taffandjulie

Reviewed on 27/02/2024 11:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Relax and enjoy

This is a lovely site, it has the smooth automatic check, no need for a password to get in and out. The facilities have been upgraded so no closed times as they can close off half. Loads of walks direct from the site so no need to use the car. Just lovely. Oh and the occasional whiff of chocolate. The wardens were lovely, we went in to let them know which pitch were on but did not have the rush and hustle of checking in with a queue and sorting out payment etc, so we had time to chat. again just lovely.

Cooper29

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/02/2024 17:29

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Weekend Stay

We have been going to this site for years now and have always enjoyed our stay. The site is in an great location, especially if you like walking. The castle is within walking distance, the canal is around 10 mins walk and Chirk centre itself is around 15-20 mins. The new facilities onsite are a vast improvement and are spotless. We do feel however that the new motorhome service point could have been better thought out. It is right on the end of a pitch which may have been squeezed in and there is no waiting area. A proper slip road may have been better. Also the draining grids could have been made longer as we found that not all of our water outlets ran into the drains, some ran all the way down the road. Although we have to move on with the times, we personally do not like the new fast check in facility. Yes it is quick and convenient but the personal touch of going into the office and chatting with the staff about the local area etc whilst checking in has been lost.

James58

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/12/2023 10:26

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Wonderfully Situated Site with Great Staff and Facilities

Stayed 3 nights as 'newby caravaners' having swapped our motorhome for a 2-berth van a few weeks ago. This was our first outing in our new outfit and we chose Chirk as not too far from home but somewhere we really enjoyed staying at in our motorhome in August this year (in rather warmer weather!). The site staff could not have been more helpful in helping us set up on site and hitch up again on departure. They are a truly great bunch! The washrooms are now the best we have come across on any club site and the underfloor heating was particularly welcome as it got down to -5C outside during our stay. The only thing we could not get to work were the electric charge points for our plug-in hybrid, but the club are now investigating the cause and hopefully they will get to the bottom of this very soon. The walk up to the Castle is delightful and there are lots of alternative paths around. At the end of the walk, the Castle and its tearooms are well worth the effort. When we were there they had just opened their Christmas walk-through which sees the historic main rooms tastefully and beautifully decked out. Alternatively, it is only a short walk into Chirk itself with some excellent small shops, food outlets and hostelries. A lovely little town. All-in-all, a great stay, and we will be back!

Cheshire stargazer

Reviewed on 07/12/2023 17:23

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Site and Location

This is a good site, clean, modern in a good location with plenty nearby to do and explore. Free wifi wasn't working on our visit which was a bit irritating

SteveMAshcroft

Reviewed on 04/12/2023 06:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Absolutely perfect

First stay back with a main club Site in 12 months and so glad we did it. From the great easy check in which means the screen at the bollard shows your car number plate and in you go to find a pitch. You then receive a text message where you simply reply with pitch number and you are booked in. We loved it so much here we extended our stay twice we didn’t want to go home. It’s a ten minute walk into Chirk where there are numerous shops supplying fruit, veg, a butchers, bakery, pub and cafes which are very dog friendly. I braved the fantastic viaduct walk and up to Chirk Castle (National Trust) . Loads of lovely walks for dogs including a dog walk on Site. Internet signal isn’t bad I was able to use Netflix in the evening, I am on Three network but there is also a free club Wi-Fi suitable for emails etc. and a premium Wi-Fi you pay for. When we needed any help from wardens they were all very friendly & helpful. Lastly, I don’t use Site facilities but my husband does & wow he said they were lovely so I had a look and they are superb. We will be back as soon as we can, booking for Spring, perfect area to explore, thank you Wardens

Susie W

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 08/11/2023 03:39

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best site ever

What a most wonderful site, excellent modern clean shower block. We loved the fast check in, it was so easy, no waiting around. Beautiful location. Excellent position to explore North Wales. Staff at site excellent and very helpful. Site spotlessly clean, set in a lovely location with an excellent dog walk in some lovely woods. Loved seeing the rabbits they were so cute. Visit Llangollen lovely little town. Eat at The Cornmill excellent food and service be sure to book a table in advance. Visit Ladies of Llangollen’s house Plas Newyn ( think that was the name) so wonderful to see and excellent tea room. The site was in a fabulous location to discover North Wales, first time we have been here and we will most certainly be back.

ScreenNameF3387A1483

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/10/2023 13:02

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely setting with walks from site

Impressed with fast check in which has been installed since we last stayed, we arrived at 5pm and knew how to park between posts, just had to enter which pitch we’d chosen and that was it. We had visitors when office was closed one night. and as done fast check in hadn’t fully understood and read instructions on the link we were sent about getting barrier fob from reception when open. Visitors car park is through barriers. Two wardens had just parked by their van when our visitors arrived and I asked how we got through barrier at night and the lady was quite abrupt saying we’re off shift sorry. Not answering our question. I appreciate they may not have been working at that time but just a friendly reassurance as to where our visitors could park their car without inconvenience other campers was all we were asking and not to cause an obstruction to anyone. A little bit of friendly courtesy and customer support was lacking and made the site not as welcoming for future visits. The facilities were spotlessly clean as always and the local walks are second to none.

ScreenName2749C8F6A7

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/10/2023 19:35

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer