Maragowan Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

PLEASANT / QUIET

Upon arrival staff explained everything we needed to know about the site , we were then instructed to pick a pitch , before doing so staff member advised us which ones to avoid due to some being water logged due to heavy rain , we chose a pitch close to facilities . The site and facilities were clean and i would say the floor in the facilities could do with a good steam clean , other than that it is ok . There is plenty to do near the site and we went to the Capercaillie Restraunt for Lunch which we can highly recommend as the food was amazing and the staff were very polite . This is a great site for relaxing or if you are into hill walking or cycling or even general site seeing , Perth , Sterling , Aberfeldy , Pitlochry are all within short drive away and there are plenty Lochs nearby . We will recommend and return to this site .

ScreenName1558C64DBD

Caravanner

Reviewed on 13/10/2021 11:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great location and site

This is probably one of my top 5 sites on the network. Great location and beautiful area to explore, on this visit we walked up Sròn a'Chlachain and Creag Buidhe and kayaked from the campsite to Loch Tay which is stunning. Unfortunately there is toxic green algae on the loch this year and this is signposted in reception. There are quite a few shops, cafes and restaurants a short walk from the campsite. We had a good time at the capercaillie. The toilet block was dated but functional. All pitches looked on par size wise and were level, with the more convetted ones along the river. The site was half full when we arrived and we were able to pick our pitch. The wardens were friendly and helpful, and checkin was quick and painless, with no fuss.

Leah16

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/10/2021 19:46

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Toilets/showers need refurbishment

Good location Warden not helpfully in giving advice on local walks/ cycle routes Toilets and showers in urgent need of refurbishment Toilets/showers being closed 10am till12noon!!!

ScreenNameCBBB907FC0

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/10/2021 16:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Graet location, tired showers

Great location. Substandard amenity block A narrow site tucked in between the river Lochay and the road from Killin to the lovely village of Kenmore. The road is not busy but can be a little noisy through the day. Near silent at night. The pitches at the far, narrow end of the site can be a little dark and you might need a TV aerial booster. The showers are hot with decent pressure but very much from the 80s. Is that a cast concrete floor in there? Great location for walkers (Tarmachan ridge, Ben Lawers and many other walks) and those wishing to explore the secrets of KiIllin - and there are a few. We watched wild beavers at dusk, a short walk away.

MartinandRosie

Campervanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2021 17:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site, well maintained and clean

This was our first visit to this site and it didn’t disappoint. We asked for a view next to the river and got one. The site is lovely and clean but the toilet block could do with an upgrade, although personally I found everything acceptable A walk to the loch is about 30 minutes on an easy, hard surface lane and the walk into nearby Killin is about 20 minutes. The nearest pub we could use were also in Killin opposite the falls. Wardens were friendly and we had a very pleasant stay.

Gary West

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/09/2021 19:03

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

lovely site

this was our first visit to the site and what a lovely site it is made even better by the great staff running it, we had an issue with our Motorhome just before we arrived on site which needed the attendance of the RAC to check it over and the staff kept there eye out for them coming and pointed him in our direction they were also very friendly and helpful with advice of things to see and do and local walks etc. and although the facilities were kept very clean and tidy they are Dated and could do with upgrading we would recommend the capercaillie inn in Killin for food in a very Friendly atmosphere

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location. Substandard amenity block

A narrow site tucked in between the river Tay and the road from Killin to the lovely villiage of Kenmore. The road is not busy but can be a litlle noisy through the day. Near silent at night. The pitches at the far, narrow end of the site can be a little dark and you might need a TV aeirial booster. The showers are hot with decent pressure but very much fron the 80s. Is that a cast concrete floor in there? Great location for walkers (Tarmachan ridge, Ben Lawers and many other walks) and those wishing to explore the secrets of KIllin - and there are a few. We watched wild beavers at dusk, a short walk away.

MartinandRosie

Campervanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2021 19:09

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Toilet block in desperate need of refurbishment

Lovely campsite in a beautiful area. We had a pitch next to the river. Some slight road noise but not to intrusive, as others have stated, toilet block, whilst clean was dated and in need of refurbishment. After 17 years in the club I thought I had got to grips with all the rules… ( no.. ! ) I made the mistake of putting my freestanding awning on the back of my pitch just on the grass so I could watch the river, 😢 it didn’t take the warden long to point out in a very stern type of attitude my mistake…. SORRY I must try better next time.. 😉 we will return again hopefully after a refurb…

kimmys15

Reviewed on 11/09/2021 17:33

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

lovely place being let down by club management

First visit for us we arrived ten minutes early and it was backlogged not much arrivals parking, once the wardens started check in it was done rapidly and we was made quite welcome. we chose a riverside pitch and was very pleased on first impressions the site looks very well kept. i spoke to one of the wardens while we was setting up our van and he organized a free fishing permit for me. The site is close to a road which you do hear but its not very busy. now then as for the shower block sorry but you cant polish a t@@@ it needs refurbing yesterday end of. we had a day walking up ben ghlas and ben lawers only about three mile from site, you can walk into town were there is a coop that is a bit of a tardis with most things you could need, a few pubs and bars and a couple of restaurants. if you take first left from the site you pick up a traffic free path to the falls of dochart and loch tay, we enjoyed our stay and will return at some point hopefully after a refurb

stegal

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/09/2021 17:38

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Needs to have toilet block refurbished

Beautiful part of the world. Nice site location by the river - watch out for the midges. Quite a long walk by the busy road to town. The toilet block is very much in need of refurbishment.

ColJacq

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/09/2021 14:27

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer