North Ledaig Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Love this place.

We have been here many times and it is still our favourite site despite very unseasonal weather in May. Waking up to the view of the loch is unbeatable. We will be back.

meeander

Reviewed on 02/07/2022 17:04

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Location

We stayed at this site due to the fact that we needed to be in Oban early in the morning to catch the Ferry to Mull. It is in a wonderful location right on the side of the Loch with great views towards Mull. On arrival at the site we were a little concernd as the entrance does look a little run dowm and could realy do with some money spending on it, in fact in looked like a closed down service station. Checking in was fime and we were made very welcome and given instructions for pitching. These were that the Warden in a car would be with us shortly and would direct us to our pitch. We waited in the Motorhome for over 20 minutes for him to come. The reason for this was that there were several waiting in front of us and behind. If this site is going to continue to pitch people in this way it needs a radical change to speed things up. The area where we were waiting also needs tidying up, there were several old cars parked around most with flat tyes and looked as though they were only fit for scrap. The Late Arrival Area had 2 boats on trialers parked in there which also looked as though they had been there for some time and there were various bit and pieces parked aroun the area. It just needs a good clear up, get rid of the rubbish and give everything a new coat of paint. Our stay was great and it proved the perfct site to access Oban, the facilities were clean and we had no compalints. We would certainly return again if we were in the area.

Dolphins

Motorhomer from Avon

Reviewed on 19/06/2022 09:29

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

The scenery just about saves it!

What a shame. When was the last time the C&M Club audited this site? Arriving to disgruntled staff who have forgotten what customers are, and a carpark that is akin to a vehicle scrap yard, we wondered what had we done. Couple that with instructions from the warden on how to get into the mains cabinet to reset your electricity supply and the 4 hour journey to get here, and we had just about had enough. BUT, putting on a brave face we learned that: The facilities are ok. The local transport runs like clockwork. The ferry services out of Oban are quite simply perfect. Oban itself is a nice place to stroll around. The local car hire outlet are friendly and helpful. A walk on the beach at dawn and dusk, looking out over the bay to Mull will give you the value for money you were looking for. In short, get past the entrance the first time, and never look back.

ScreenNameBA3139A7C8

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/04/2022 14:27

2 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great stay in late October

I stayed for 3 nights in the 3rd week of October. Managed to get a great pitch in the club exclusive area with great views out to sea and by the beach. I imagine in season I would need to book well in advance to get this pitch but actually I only booked a week before going. I like their approach to pitch siting: it seems based on the earlier you book the more likely you will get a perfect sea view pitch. But, it has to be said, most of the pitches will have a sea view because of the way the site is on a slope allowing good views. Great and efficient welcome. Good shop. Clean and warm shower/toilet facilities. Bus to oban right outside the main entrance. All in all, a good stay Thanks to all the staff at North Ledaig.

CMA67

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/10/2021 14:57

1 review

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Very disappointing!

This site is NOT up to the caravan club standards. Either side of the site entrance looks like a boat yard and scrap yard. Rude and abrupt receptionists, no C & M Club welcome!! Followed a warden in his site vehicle to our pitch. Had requested a sea view. Looking on to workers vans and trees with a glimpse of the sea. Called at office and politely asked if we could possibly be moved to area 1 or 2 on the front. No way I was informed, should have booked a year ago if I wanted a front pitch!! Yet on our first night there were 3 free pitches on the front and the second night 7 free pitches. Water in showers was luke warm and no way of turning the temperature up, not good. We were sited on area 3 at the top next to reception/shop and toilet block. Staff were accommodated in caravans/motorhomes/camper vans in this area which meant they were constantly back and forwards to their vans situated in front of us. POLLUTION! Every arrival has to follow a site vehicle to be taken to their allocated pitch. This means from midday there is a constant stream of arrivals following the site drivers being taken to their pitch. Polluting the air! Why aren't they using cyles?? Healthier for them too! Those lucky to have a front pitch in area 1 or 2 do have a wonderful view. Will not be returning. Hope the Club will address these problems.

MMandP

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/10/2021 17:26

17 reviews

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Like being abroad !

Absolutely stunning location with beautiful views of the sea. Even if you are on the second or third row the sea is a stone throw away. If you’re lucky enough to be at the front, often there is a path straight from your van onto the beach. The site is well organised with wardens nearby to offer assistance and show you to pitch. Only downside is the 10amp electric!

ScreenNameC91D015DC2

Campervanner

Reviewed on 26/09/2021 00:05

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

We have recently spent two nights here and we were lucky enough to be allocated a pitch right next to the beach. We were at the furthest extreme of the site, this suited us as we don’t use the facilities and it was a lovely quiet plot. The views are outstanding and there is easy access to the beach. On arrival the friendly and informative warden shows you to your pitch and answers any queries you may have. Considering it is such a big site, it is very peaceful and we would certainly recommend it.

2CV

Reviewed on 09/09/2021 22:34

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful place to stay

Spent 6 nights here with husband ( paddle boarder) son ( kayaker) and 2 dogs (paddlers). Asked for a front pitch and was delighted to get one. Was rather windy at times but worth it for the views. Despite the site being full it didn't appear to be overcrowded and there was plenty of room for all. Spent a while wandering around the site and it appeared hat the views were great from just about everywhere. Staff and wardens were very friendly and helpful. Toilet and washing facilities were adequate and never full. Great place to swim,paddle board, kayak. Wonderful views of Mull and surrounding areas. Note a comment about only caravans in front rows, think this may well be to do with length of pitches. Definitely recommend this site and will definitely return.

A and T Lynn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/08/2021 07:33

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A site with an amazing view!

We stayed here for a week - that was the best decision ever. Yes we were there during a heatwave and the best weather since 1976 but it's a great place to visit. Our boys (12 & 10) absolutely loved fishing and swimming in the sea/loch, so did our black Labrador. We usually holiday in France in the summer however we spent days on the beach here at all times of day - it felt like being abroad. Great for watersports and cycling. We were 3 rows back from the front but still had amazing views - including some of the best sunsets we've ever seen. The shop is extremely well stocked and reasonably priced - our boys said that Val is a legend. The only negative would be the distance to the toilet blocks - really there aren't enough of them for what would be expected on a Caravan Club site. However, it didn't spoil our holiday, we put the toilet in the car to drive to empty it. Would definitely return - but would be expecting a heatwave again!

Owainharris

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2021 20:54

12 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

Been here several times over the last 25 years and have always been impressed with the views, location and facilities. So much to do straight from the site, particularly if you have cycles. Views are stunning and facilities clean and well looked after. Our only gripe was that we booked via their own site Web page nearly 8 months previously. Having just experienced two parental bereavement, one through Covid, this was the start of a restorative holiday and so we asked for the airfield end (yes, it is quiet there). We weren't expecting front pitches as they book a year in advance. We were disappointingly placed near the toilet block. The geography of the site means quite a few people drive to the toilet block, so we had passing traffic from early to late. We asked for a change on arrival but that wasn't possible. The moral of the story, if you book direct and fill in their 'any requests' box, they will pay little attention to it and won't be that interested if you're disappointed. Beyond that, a site we would recommend.

diand

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 09:10

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer