St Agnes Beacon Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

An absolute gem…shhhh!

The location is fantastic if you like awesome sea views & an open rural location. The approach roads might be challenging for some larger outfits or less confident drivers…. Plan your route with care. The site is a no facilities site which is perfect for us as we prefer to use our own, we only wish the Caravan & Motorhome Club had more of these sites. Modern caravans & motorhomes have great facilities that we pay handsomely for & as the site was full it suggests that there is a demand for such sites. The wardens were very pleasant & well organised. We were phoned on the day of our arrival to warn us that a period of heavy rain had created some challenges in siting outfits. It is a site we will return to.

fromonthehill

Motorhomer from Oxfordshire

Reviewed on 10/07/2021 20:47

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

The cream of Cornwall

First time staying at this lovely site, far better than I expected. The site is sort of tiered and sloping but so worth it for the views. The wardens were always helpful, happy and cheerful. The site was spotless never mind the weather. The only thing I did not like was the access road, but that is me. Our caravan is 8ft wide and I think the lane was 8ft 6” in a couple of places. But we had no problems with anything we met except for a cyclist who thought they owned the whole lane, yes we waited patiently with a caravan in tow! We were booked in for 6 nights but luckily we were able to extend to 14, wow one wonderful sight ina fantastic location with walks around/up/across the beacon with 360 degree views.

Cooper29

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2021 12:37

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

I won't tell you how good it is or I won't be able to go back easily!

Of all the sites we have visited belonging to the club and others, this was by far our best experience with lots to do within walking distance (the town, coastal walks and beaches) and lots of other places within short driving distances too. We thought the CC site at Tintagel was good but this is even better (but we better not tell anyone or there won't be any space when we want to return - which we will definitely do!). The views of the sea and across to St Ives was beautiful and to see the sun disappearing from your outfit or outside when the weather was good, was a bonus! Viv in particular and her husband were exceptional and so helpful that enabled us to make the most of our stay. It was such a pleasure to be assisted with the guidance for the best pitches and things to do. They are really wonderful ambassadors and smiley too! BTW, the site sells Magnum Classics; what more could you want.

Delbert Maltbug

Caravanner from Somerset

Reviewed on 01/07/2021 17:52

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Stayed here recently ...............

to meet up with family who we hadnt seen for 6 months! Wardens are very friendly and helpful. Site grounds were immaculate (Sanitary units closed). We live locally so often visit the Beacon and coastal path for walks but enjoyed an enjoyable walk to the lovely village of St Agnes for a drink and evening meal. We will definitely stay again when we need a relaxing few days and enjoyable walks!! Could become a favourite 5 miles from home!!

Atsen

Reviewed on 05/05/2021 16:21

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good as ever!

We have been visiting this site for over 30 years and it is as good as ever. Virtually unchanged and the same can be said for the views, walks and coast. On this occasion relief wardens were keeping the site in perfect order and initially with a friendly welcome and subsequent smiles. It may not have a toilet block but don't let that put you of visiting.

TonyatWsM

Reviewed on 02/05/2021 20:51

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Views and walks

This is a lovely site in a great location. The pitches all seem pretty level and most have a glimpse if not a full view of the sea and coast. The joy of this site is the access to the coast path and you can walk in both directions from Wheal Coates. Also a short walk up to the Beacon and down across the moor. Chapel Porth is good for the beach and icecream. Also very good parking that I think is free to National Trust members. A drive over waste water point for motorhomes is a real bonus on a site without facilities. The winds were very high during our stay but if you can stand to be without a full view of the sea, there are tucked away areas that offer some shelter. Very welcoming wardens and the fish and chip van served really good and freshly cooked food. Nice ice cream from the wardens shop too.

HunterHale

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 28/04/2021 14:11

38 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fresh Air

Fresh air and lots of it due to strong winds but a lovely spot to stay and enjoy the coast. The site was quiet but the farm next door had some more than usual noisy bovine occupants and some building work being done. Some pitch pegs are not so easy to work out and the pitching can feel quite crowded when things are busy. Beware the strength of the coastal winds that can take awnings down easily as witnessed during this stay, we've lost ours previously. The cafe at beautiful Chapel Porth is worth the walk, spot the Giant Bolster's footprint on the way. 😊

brue

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/04/2021 11:24

72 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Quiet site

You have to be lucky to find a pitch that has the views in the photos, as the majority cannot see the sea, however it was very clean, well maintained with helpful wardens. Walks along the cliffs or up the beacon provide amazing views and St Anges and cove make a good day out. Super friendly ice cream parlour almost outside the gates too.

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Only trip away this year

Just back from a week in St Agnes as our only trip this year, got the weather right for a change , Nothing changes here not even covid can alter the best sea views on the best site in Cornwall,(for us) the wardens Viv and Ray were their usual welcoming, helpful selves going above and beyond normal duties ,all in all a great stay.

Johnagain

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 24/09/2020 09:36

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A nice few days

Early September visit to a nearly full site. Site is nicely maintained, with what facilities there are -water, waste, electricity and MH service point-clean and in good order. Most pitches are sloping and some to such an extent that the large "Quatro" levelling blocks couldn't cope. Approach lanes are narrow in places and arrivals/departures need to heed the permitted times to avoid encountering problems. Well controlled check in from a COVID point of view, with the Club going the extra mile to protect its staff. Although this does seem to be seriously limiting member services, I was surprised to be told to be extra careful on the all grass pitches, as rain was expected and COVID rules dont allow wardens to tow bogged down units out! I was also surprised that having taken its obligation to its staff so seriously the Club accepted a group booking from seven or eight men in two hired motor homes who, from conversation, were clearly from several different households. COVID risks aside, their "drunken" outdoor argument, which followed their return from the pub, ran on until 0100 or there abouts, did little for the peace and tranquillity of the site! The site is excellently located for access to the Coat Path and Chapel Porth beach. With a nice tea room (outdoor service) nearby. The Driftwood Spars Inn, situated by the beach in Trevaunance Cove, served great food in a very safe environment.

Stevesie

Motorhomer from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 11/09/2020 14:59

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer