Tewkesbury Abbey Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely, clean spacious with fantastic bathroom

We stayed for 3 nights in November. The facilities are really lovely, big pitches, wonderful showers and shower block, friendly warden. The site is opposite a big park and very close to the town centre and Abbey. Tewkesbury is a lovely, very historic town within walking distance. There are walks from the town centre. Perfect really. Tewkesbury, including the campsite does flood after periods of sustained rain, we left as the water was rising. We'd definitely go back.

abreton

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/11/2023 18:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Site evacuation

The site was evacuated because of flooding. The wardens handled this very well a few of us had to move caravan late at night but no great hardship we were placed on higher ground on the road. The wardens are not to blame for the weather and did there upmost to keep people happy. We were on pitch 4 and no one thought the water would reach us but it did hey ho. The wardens were up most the night checking people were ok so fair play to them top marks. Would have been nice to of had that late night bbq🙂

camdencaravaners

Reviewed on 21/10/2023 17:16

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely weekend in Tewkesbury

We arrived to a warm welcome at this lovely site. Easy to find and access from the motorway. The site is very clean and tidy and we had a serviced pitch which was very large and well looked after. We were allowed to park our motorhome facing forward to take advantage of the very unexpected sunshine for a weekend in October which was great as was the opportunity to park your van anywhere between the two red pegs. The facilities were lovely and clean and we appreciated them being cleaned in the afternoon rather than the morning. The views of the Abbey are superb. The site staff were unobtrusive but you knew they were there if you needed anything. Considering the site is only a few minutes walk from the Abbey and a park the site is very peaceful and you don't really feel that you are near a town at all. There are lots of walks to enjoy and we enjoyed walking along the rivers to Deerhurst and also The Fleet Arms in Twyning.

BettyS

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/10/2023 11:40

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Site

Lovely site well placed for motorway access. The facilities were excellent with a large clean warm toilet block and plenty of showers and hot water. The site staff we met were very friendly. The access to Tewkesbury is excellent and a visit to the beautiful Abbey is a must. We would recommend this site and will definitely stay here again.

Chaffinch

Reviewed on 12/10/2023 12:02

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Clean, peaceful site

We recently stayed here and were greeted in a friendly manner on arrival. The pitch was fine. The toilet and shower block is lovely - clean and plenty of hot water. Very peaceful for a large campsite and we will certainly return in the future.

GrahamAndSueP

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/10/2023 08:48

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very nice site

We stayed for 3 nights, and found everything to be good. The easy access to the town is a real bonus. Walks along the river are very pleasant. We can recommend "The Abbot's Table" restaurant for an excellent dinner.

Geoffn1

Motorhomer from Cheshire

Reviewed on 22/09/2023 10:40

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A lovely site!

We stayed here for four nights, having been here a number of years ago. The site has been modernised and has a new shower block which is very good. The pitches have also been upgraded and although we stayed on grass, the whole site was very impressive. I would rate it highly and with its close proximity to Tewkesbury, it is a fantastic location. Yes, Tewkesbury is a bit run down, but like a lot of other towns, the high street is struggling. The town itself however, is steeped in history and the walks along the River Severn are stunning and all accessible from the site. The wardens were pleasant and efficient and all the facilities were clean. Well done Caravan Club for the massive improvements to the site!

JuliaGr

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 10:03

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Here again.

Only 2 nights but expected a choice of pitch.allocated pitch not near water/waste.awful layout round good toilet block.not enough direct paths so end up walking round roads just to get to steps or ramp.grass long .expect Club use bio diversity as excuse not to mow.not many lights either.all in all far to expensive for standard of site. Handy for motorway and town.usual empty shops. Bus to Gloucester on time.wetherspoons if you need it.

72 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Long and short – Tewkesbury is beautiful, the site is very clean.

We chose this site for is proximity to Tewkesbury, and were excited to stay. It is a truly gorgeous stroll into the town. However the welcome was not quite as warm as previous sites we have stayed, quite impersonal. On our first morning, an encounter with one member of staff in particular, was extremely unpleasant and completely unnecessary, he was rude, aggressive, and patronising, over a situation that could have been handled quite differently i.e., in a courteous and civil manner. We were completely taken aback by his attitude, as were other guests that overheard the "Conversation". I was left particularly shaken, as was witnessed by one other staff member and other guests on the site. Both myself and my husband work in the public sector, on a day-to-day basis and often have to deal with hostility in our careers, this type of aggression was absolutely uncalled for and not what we were expecting, as paying guests, at a holiday park. Some hospitality training and staff appraisal, might be welcome on this site. We are both left feeling, very disappointed with the effect this encounter had on our entire stay, we were very happy not to see him again, and were glad to leave after 3 nights.

ClubMemberD253F55799

Campervanner

Reviewed on 13/08/2023 18:07

1 review

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent in every way

What a fantastic little site this is. Upon arrival we were met at the gate by the warden who had a great big smile and a huge welcome waiting for us. The weather was unkind but the site is so well geared up that we hardly noticed the rain. The pitches are spacious and extremely cared for as are all of the facilities. Having stayed at various sites up and down the country this year I would put Tewkesbury at the top of my list and congratulate the site staff who made it so. A friendly welcome and caring staff really make all of a difference.

Mark332

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/08/2023 15:23

5 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer