The Woods Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

VERY VERY NICE.

Good tidy site ,very nice staff with a very clean toilet block . will go back soon . had a lovely time

iceblue

Caravanner from Cumberland

Reviewed on 26/06/2018 21:30

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A nice laid out site with stunning views

My wife and I travelled to this campsite for 3 nights at the end of January. The reception was friendly and welcoming. The Reception is currently in a Portacabin and a new reception block is being built apparently due to a fire in the old one. We checked in and were invited to select any pitch. The site is very large and we selected a pitch in the lower field with stunning views of the Ochil Hills. The pitches in general were very large, hardstanding and despite the lower field being on a slope all the pitches were level. There were 2 toilet blocks but the one in the lower field was closed for the season. The main toilet block was very well appointed with probably the best showers I have seen. The external dish wash areas in both blocks were closed for the winter leaving only the one laundry sink for dishwashing which was inadequate a site open all year should have a better all weather dishwashing facility. There was plenty service areas and good gravel roads around the site. We have a dog so nearby there is the Devonside way path a disused railway, perfect and safe for walking, also Gartmorn Dam Country park which is well worth a visit. Also for more adventurous walks the Ochil Hills.A short walk along the Devonside Way takes you to Sterling Mills Outlet Village where there are numerous shops a large Costa and cafe bakery. A good well run site with stunning scenery, we will return.

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great winter break.

We have stayed at the Woods several times as it is open all year round and gives easy access to Stirling and Falkirk. Although the weather was freezing there was a warm welcome from the staff who we have always found friendly and helpful and this time was no exception. The facilities are excellent, only one toilet and shower block open in the winter but beautifully appointed and maintained, heated of course with plenty of hot water and easily copes with the number on site at this time of year. The pitches are big and well kept as is the whole site. A positive from the freezing weather allowed the usually impressive views towards the hills to become truly spectacular at sunrise and sunset. Staff are working out of temporary accomodation while a new reception is being built to replace the one destroyed in the fire earlier this year and it is commendable that the site has continued to operate smoothly after what must have been a very disruptive event. Look forward to returning..

vanxa

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/12/2017 19:23

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

PEACEFUL & RELAXING

Just back from a two week stay on this excellent site. Quite and peaceful with really large pitches all with fantastic views. Friendly staff couldn't be more helpful - more than you can say for some sites we've been on! Really good bar/restaurant at site entrance too. This site probably has the best toilet facilities we have ever came across and are spotlessly clean too. Hope to be back again later this year when other sites are all closed.

Van1

Reviewed on 08/10/2017 12:56

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Five week stay but wouldn't return

Beautiful view of hills but towns rear by a bit rough. Good dog walks and very good restaurant by site. Facilities clean. Not a place if your looking for peace and quiet as very busy, we had noisy babies, toddlers, campervan with radios too high and noisy drinkers from some awnings very loud in evenings, also they start quite early with grass cutters, diggers, and trolleys. Forget the one way and 5 miles an hour or at least the staff do, riding round at high speed in wrong directions in buggy s. Didn't find the female staff very friendly or helpful although the chaps were. They had a fire in the reception while we were there, totally out of there control however a distinct lack of information forthcoming as to when electrics would be back on, had to keep going and asking, obviously never heard of posting information on a board, eventually after two days with no electrics and lots of noise from workmen and machinery, electrics back on.

Carol321

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/10/2017 21:50

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Views and site but watch what is plugged in!

Our first time here and great views and good size pitches. Short distance form the Falkirk Wheel which was really good. We would visit again although the electricity is an issue with our fridge alarm constantly going off when its peak demand. If this was sorted and it is on service pitches this would get a higher score.

Freelanders

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 27/09/2017 13:42

28 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very enjoyable stay

We had 3 nights at The Woods on our way back south from Bunree and would highly recommend it. It is a really well kept and quiet site, our pitch had beautiful views of the hills to the north. There is plenty to do in the area, we went to the William Wallace monument, fab views! Also the Bannockburn battle museum is well worth a visit. Stirling is quite close and is a lovely city to wander around with its castle and nice cafe's and shops. We had a meal in the Woodsman Restaurant on our last night and I can honestly say it was really good. The service was very friendly, quick and the food was spot on, not badly priced either. Sadly part of the reception had suffered fire damage the day before but by the time we left they had sorted out a temporary portacabin, generators and you would hardly know there had been a problem, brilliant and professional staff. We would certainly go back on our next northern adventure.

Swifty 123

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 24/09/2017 22:03

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Overnight stay

Stayed here overnight on way up to Grantown on Spey. Nice quiet site, good location. For fellow travellers there is Low amp electricity.

angeb

Reviewed on 05/08/2017 19:43

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice tidy well kept ite

We stayed 7 nights in June and I must say that the reception we received was excellent. The site was very clean, tidy, well maintained. Toilet block, although small for the size of site was (3 toilets, 3 showers) very well kept. Cleaning times for the toilets were very irregular, one morning 10.15 am then 10.30 am then 10.05 am, totally unreliable. There were no regular cleaning times. The showers would have benefitted with a handle to steady yourself as the tray you stood on became very slippy with soap. We were advised that the site was one way and 5 mph, but this was exceeded on numerous occasions, mainly by the site staff. All the time we were there I was unable to use the Wi-Fi as my security systems would not permit me to connect. Never had this problem with the CC wi-fi. Despite this a good stay.

smouzer

Caravanner from Renfrewshire

Reviewed on 23/06/2017 11:50

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site.

Stayed for 4 nights end May. Best site we have stayed on. Toilets excellent always very clean. Visited Falkirk Wheel from site. Restaurant next to site is excellent food, reasonable prices. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay would recommend to any member.

trad jazz

Reviewed on 07/06/2017 14:53

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer