The Woods Caravan Park

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We stayed Aug 2015, lovely site, clean tidy and friendly staff.Excellent views but our disabled pitch next to children s play area and therefore very noisy in afternoon with children shouting. There did not seem to be any instructions how to park your outfit and several folks parked vans wrong way taking up two pitches!!!. Overall enjoyable experience worth a visit.

trotski0161

Reviewed on 15/08/2015 13:52

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Views to die for

A mixed site of caravans tents and motorhomes, some long term , which gave it a more rustic feel . Picked our own pitch for our motor home and was lucky to find a quiet more private pitch near the recently upgraded lovely toilet and shower facilities . Great access for walking , cycling etc . The restuarant on site is absolutely fabulous . The service , the food is first class . Our friends came from Dollar to join us for dinner and they were gobsmacked as they had never heard of it and will definately be going again and again . Receptionist seemed slightly stressed ! , mainly from their own dog i think , but not a problem for us .

Reviewed on 11/08/2015 13:56

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful Visit

We have just had a few very relaxing days at this site and didn't let the wet weather put us off, the hills were still beautiful. We got a lovely welcome in reception. There are plenty places of interest nearby - lots of information available if you are not familiar with the area. If it is very wet, the TV boosters are a godsend. The shower blocks are AI with powerful, controllable showers but please, shower designers always put a grab rail to avoid accidents. They were a bit slippery. A hook outside the shower for your towel would also be nice. Worth another visit.

kittiwill

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/07/2015 16:28

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

The Last Site

This was the last site before heading home at the end of our month long tour of the north, and we spent two nights here this time, our second visit of the year. We had travelled by Markinch, Braemar, Grantown on Spey, Brora, Dunnet Bay and Forfar before arriving at this lovely well kept site. With a view of the Ochil Hills and outstanding facilities block, this site maintains a high standard. With our mobility issues, the restaurant at the site entrance is a godsend. An excellent restaurant at reasonable prices, a real treasure. This is a fine site which we will visit often.

lecigale

Motorhomer from Dumfriesshire

Reviewed on 31/07/2015 10:07

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Stayed in the Rain

My husband and I stayed with our two dogs at this site for one night when visiting a relative nearby. The weather had been very wet and the site was quite waterlogged in places.  There were lovely views but some very large motorhomes (which looked like they had not moved in ages), were obstructing the views.  There were also  several log cabin type vans along the bottom pitches and this together with a number of vans who were obviously long-stay (but empty) gave the site a strange ambience.  On arrival, the person on reception was unable to let us know which pitches were available as there did not seem to be any record. There were also log cabins on the site mixed with the caravans.  We felt it would have been preferable to have touring caravans separate as there is a different feel about such a mixed site. We did not use the toilet or shower blocks as it was so wet so used our on board facilities.  Maybe we were just unlucky, but unless we are visiting our relative again, I don't think we will be returning. 

Jacquimary

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2015 20:18

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Smashing site

Arrived in the pooring rain on 26th June for 3 nights. What a site good views from almost every pitch unbelievable so glad we stopped here. Facilities on site are top notch TV in laundry room and in toilet piped music as well. Nice big shower heads in the shower. Children's play area. The restaurant on site priceie but the food was excellent and plenty of it well worth the money and would highly recommend a visit .The wardens and the staff in the restaurant where very friendly and helpful if we get the chance to go back we will certainly stay there again

be59cre

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2015 19:24

35 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant site!

This is an absolutely fantastic site. It is well laid out in sweeping parkland, the pitches are a very good size and well spaced apart. If you are lucky enough to get one of the "front row" pitches, the views of the Ochil Hills are stunning (make sure you pitch nose in to get the most of the views). The toilets are some of the best I have seen in almost 40 years of touring and are well deserving of the "Platinum Award" for Loo of The Year in 2014. The only thing from stopping them being "hotel" class is the lack of granite surfaces on the sink surrounds. For dog owners, there is a walking area on site but if your pooch needs more space to run, then exit the site, cross over the road (busy so be careful), up to the right then sharp left after 100yds and you'll find a great woodland path which leads to the old railway where Fido can run to his/her hearts content. The local towns of Alva (1 mile) and Tillicoultry (2 miles) don't have much to offer other than the basics but Stirling is only 10 miles away and has all you can want plus loads of history as well. All in all, a totally brilliant site and we can't wait to go back for another helping.

Bigbilbs

Caravanner from Selkirkshire

Reviewed on 29/04/2015 22:41

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant!

This is an absolutely fantastic site. It is well laid out in sweeping parkland, the pitches are a very good size and well spaced apart. If you are lucky enough to get one of the "front row" pitches, the views of the Ochil Hills are stunning (make sure you pitch nose in to get the most of the views). The toilets are some of the best I have seen in almost 40 years of touring and are well deserving of the "Platinum Award" for Loo of The Year in 2014. The only thing from stopping them being "hotel" class is the lack of granite surfaces on the sink surrounds. For dog owners, there is a walking area on site but if your pooch needs more space to run, then exit the site, cross over the road (busy so be careful), up to the right then sharp left after 100yds and you'll find a great woodland path which leads to the old railway where Fido can run to his/her hearts content. The local towns of Alva (1 mile) and Tillicoultry (2 miles) don't have much to offer other than the basics but Stirling is only 10 miles away and has all you can want plus loads of history as well. All in all, a totally brilliant site and we can't wait to go back for another helping.

Bigbilbs

Caravanner from Selkirkshire

Reviewed on 29/04/2015 22:39

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing Weekend Away

This was our first visit to The Woods Caravan Park, and we were very pleased with all that the site has to offer. It was peaceful, well kept, accommodating and the toilet and cleaning facilities would put some of the larger hotels to shame. The bays are large and well spaced out meaning you don't feel you are on top of your neighbour. We chose to push our van in nose first to make the most of the views. It was great to be able to have this choice without being frowned at for doing things which are not "the norm".  Our advice would be, for a truly peacful stay, ask to be sited at the top of the park away from the bottom. This is where there are a few workmen staying. We ourselves never heard them once, but it seems this has been an issue for others. Also, the play park is down there. We have a child ourselves, but it's nice not to be surrounded by children all the time. We can't really comment on the restaurant as we did not visit it. We were not sure our family dog would be welcome. Should have asked!!  All in all, a relaxing weekend away made even better by the excellent facilities.  Will be back. 

Ritchie Family

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/03/2015 20:11

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer