Tredegar House Country Park Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Another good visit to Tredegar House

We have visited Tredegar House CAMC site many times. The upcoming refurbishment of the pitches and toilet block will enhance the site. Its looking a bit sorry for itself at the moment.Some lighting on the approach road would be welcome. As always the wardens are doing a great job and the toilet facilities were clean as were the service points. (You can never account for the unclean and disrespectful habits and lack of consideration of other members!). The location is good with easy access to the motorway network. There is some road noise but that didn't bother us. Always nice to have a wander around Tredegar park and the NT property. 20 minutes walk is the Dragon Fly pub, really nice atmosphere and decent pub grub. Mention the CAMC and you get a 10% discount. We found free parking at Cardiff Bay - The Lock Keepers Cottage Car Park. No height restrictions and the payment machine has been out of order for years. The Cwmcarn Forest Drive is worth a visit. (25mins) - £8 per car or motorhome which includes the car park fee at the visitor centre cafe. Check the website for opening times during winter months. Once the site reopens we will be back!

enyajtrebor

Motorhomer from Somerset

Reviewed on 21/12/2023 16:42

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Wardens

Having stayed at this club site for the last eighteen years ,this year in paticular we found the wardens Simon & Caroline Green and Stu & Ang Dunn most helpful and friendly .They were intrested to listen to where we had been that day and suggested other places to visit ,really helpful when we had a nasty storm in September and remembered us when we we re visited in October . The cleanliness of the facilities was outstanding and the site was well maintained throughout all our visits ,you could not have asked for anything more .I know the wardens have now left this site ,so wherever they next move onto you can be guaranteed of an excellent stay . Thankyou very much Simon,Caroline ,Stu & Ang

Deri Jones

Reviewed on 16/11/2023 11:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful site

Stayed here twice this year. In August and again end of October. Lovely, well kept site. Brilliant for our two dogs, they love the park. Plenty to do locally. Great walks. Ideal for visits to Cardiff and Newport and the South Wales coastline. Will certainly be back in the near future

Shaun Harley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/11/2023 20:00

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Bolt Hole

We have visited this particular site on a number of occasions. Always found the Wardens very helpful and the site very clean We call this park our bolt hole site as we come from Cardiff which is just a few miles down the road however it could be a 100miles down the road as both of us just chill out take lovely walks around the house grounds, call in to the house cafe and enjoy a well earned cup of tea. Hopefully we will be back in the very near future and do what we oth enjoy doing most and thats nothing but relaxing, and this site has that down to a tee. Well worth a visit if you haven't been there before

ClubMember38A020C57C

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/10/2023 15:21

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Angela and Stu

A big thank you to the wardens Angela and Stu as they made a big effort to help us sort a vehicle problem we had which resulted in multiple booking changes. They showed great patience and understanding and gave us the advice we needed without hesitation.

Daisy Doo

Reviewed on 21/09/2023 14:05

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Ang & Stuart

Stayed here in June 23. Convenient site to the M4 and many places of interest. Lovely walks especially for dogs. Surrounded by the beautiful grounds of Tredegar House. The site is small and very well kept, looks lovely. Facilities are very clean and in good working order. Everything is in line with the Club’s standard. What makes this site stand out to others are the wardens. Friendly and very helpful. As Ang and Stuart were the wardens that we were familiar with, I can honestly say that the Club could not have picked better, what a lovely couple who were also great at what they did. I have noticed comments about the gates and I do believe that this problem is at Club level and the National Trust. The area of Newport that the club is in can be a bit dodgy and there are signs to warn people of the risk of theft. On saying this, other than the practical points of getting in and out after 5pm, I do think the two organisations should get together and sort out better lighting and easier access ensuring the safety of a lone person, especially the ladies when it is dark. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and our puppies loved the fuss, the walks and the treats at reception. Thank you so much.

Aled849

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2023 10:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Ideal dog walking site

Stayed here for two nights because I was attending a meeting in Caerdydd. Wish it had been a holiday-related stay and I'd been able to bring my dogs with me because they would have loved it. Lots of parkland to walk in and I found an enclosed area where people could let their dogs run free; the locals drove there to make use of it. Site staff were very welcoming, pleasant and helpful. The only drawback for me was having to use a taxi to get home and thus I had a long walk from the locked park gate to the site. I would recommend it to friends who have dogs and who could drive to Caerdydd by car (trying to park the motorhome in town didn't appeal). I have put 1 for "good for families" because there was no box for "not applicable" and I had to put an entry in that field. I was on my own so I have no idea if it was good for families or not.

ACAllen

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/06/2023 17:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely stay at Tredegar house + friendly Wardens!!!

With the recent spell of warm dry weather we decided to book this site last minute as it is only just down the road from us. Having booked on-line at 9qm we were on site at 1pm! Nothing much has changed at this site since we last visited except for the Wardens. Newly appointment to this site this year all the wardens get you with a friendly smile and are happy to have a chat. This is such a contrast to other wardens we have met here. I understood that it was their first season for the club and I must give them praise where it is due and they are a credit to the club. With hindsight we should have perhaps booked a grass pitch as the hardstandings here are old and rock hard! however it did not spoil our visit. Yes there is a lot of road noise from the nearby M4 but again it did not spoil our trip, which then extended! If in doubt, then give it a go!

ColBur

Caravanner from Mid Glamorgan

Reviewed on 29/05/2023 16:06

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A Must to stay.

We stayed at this site twice in last last couple of weeks, the site is kept in an excellent condition and staff are very welcoming.👏👏👏 you have to try it out for yourselves.

ClubMemberCCF73D7B6C

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 19/05/2023 15:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Beautiful site but let's itself down

We enjoyed our 2 night stay at Tredegar House, it was a lovely site and whilst close to the motorway not too noisy. We are National Trust members so we're able to explore both the grounds and the house which was ideal. For us the arrangements after 5pm were very impractical, having to open and lock the gates everytime you wanted to leave and come back in. I'm unsure as to why a gate system couldn't be used similar to the one on the main site. Also the toilet block was closed 10-12 whilst I appreciate it needs cleaning it seemed like an odd time especially with checkout being at 12. It would have made more sense it being 11-1 surely?

ScreenName60CE2FE0D9

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/05/2023 16:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer