Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Perfect Location & Great Staff BUT......

We use the dog walk or take our dog off site - why do so many other members think its ok to walk their dog around the site & on the grass next to other peoples pitches - Not only a problem here, but Wardens do need to start dealing with those who can't understand basic rules. Our 2nd visit here & just as beautiful as last time mostly so peaceful, shame the equestrian centre's machinery was operating late on the evening & at 7 am in the morning to spoil the peace. Still a great spot for an over night on route from Scotland.

Reviewed on

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Tinwheeler replied on 14/10/2019 15:39

Posted on 14/10/2019 15:39

Did you discuss the issue with the wardens? It would be interesting to hear their response.

It's difficult to know whether people walking with their dogs are heading to/from the dog walk/main entrance or walking around the site. Incidentally, the latter is not an issue unless it’s done with the sole intent  of toileting the dog.

moulesy replied on 14/10/2019 15:54

Posted on 14/10/2019 15:54

We've stayed twice at Troutbeck Head, both times at the bottom of the site next to the outdoor activity centre. To get to the dog walk one must walk around/through the site (obviously, sticking to the site roads! wink). 

I'm not sure how it's possible to discern whether folks are doing like us or just walking their dog "round the site"? undecided

Whittakerr replied on 14/10/2019 16:09

Posted on 14/10/2019 16:09

You are well aware that this issue has been done to death on this forum with many posters stating what the wardens response when the matter has been raised with them. Are you really interested in hearing what another wardens response is, I know im not. (It will be along the lines of we have to catch them in the act before we can take action etc.)

As for if people are taking their dog to the designated dog walk, off site or just walking around the site, if the dog is on the correct length lead I don’t think anyone could care less. Its when the dog toilets on the site but away from the dog walk area i.e. on or near pitches that raises justified objections from people. Dogs can and should be trained correctly to prevent this.

EasyT replied on 14/10/2019 16:25

Posted on 14/10/2019 15:54 by moulesy

We've stayed twice at Troutbeck Head, both times at the bottom of the site next to the outdoor activity centre. To get to the dog walk one must walk around/through the site (obviously, sticking to the site roads! wink). 

I'm not sure how it's possible to discern whether folks are doing like us or just walking their dog "round the site"? undecided

Posted on 14/10/2019 16:25

I'm not sure how it's possible to discern whether folks are doing like us or just walking their dog "round the site"? 

By their third time around it does get suspicious