Wirral Country Park Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful

Lovely quiet site as it was the end of the season. Very pleasant assistants which made it a pleasure to stay. Facilities are dated but clean. Roads could do with being resurfaced as a lot of pot holes.

dunjo

Reviewed on 21/10/2023 19:52

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Time for an overhaul

Starting with the positives; the location is excellent. Access to Chester, Liverpool, Southport and the Wirral beaches is good and there is plenty of countryside close by. There are many trees on site, which gives it a very country feeling. There are wonderful views from the site over the River Dee and on towards the Welsh mountains in the distance. However access to the beach directly from the site isn't possible due to the steep cliffs. Watching the sun go down can produce beautiful views. Access to the site is good with only short periods through the local towns and only a couple of points close to the site where it's difficult for two vehicles to pass. As mentioned by others, however, this is not the standard I've become accustomed to from CAMC. The roads on site are in pretty poor condition and in wet weather they flood making it necessary to walk on other campers' pitches to avoid getting wet feet. Waste disposal is neat and well maintained, but can be a distance from many pitches. The availability of only one chemical disposal is surely insufficient. Overall, the price is high for the available facilities especially as there are no water points or grey water disposal facilities on the pitches - something which many CLs now offer at half the price.

Freewheeling Smiths

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/10/2023 10:30

6 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great Short Break

Stayed over the summer - 2 adults & a teenager. Lovely peaceful site, with easy access to the beach, Country Park & The Wirral Way. Facilities were clean but as others have said showing their age. Cycled on a rainy day so the cycle wash was great on our return to the site. Pizza from the visiting Pizza van on Friday night was delicious. Would definitely return.

colkath

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/09/2023 10:44

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Third visit

Stayed on this site three times because of having family closeby. Wonderful location with spectular views. The facilies block is functional but is starting to show its age. Spotlessly clean however. Grandchildren loved the play area. Best of all, the Staff ! So helpful and friendly. Always pleased to chat and offer advice. We extended our stay so it can't be that bad can it?

SteveJames

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/09/2023 14:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Overpriced

Tired overpriced site. Facilities clean but outdated. Only two service points on a site this size is a joke, particularly when there is only ONE chemical toilet emptying point. Pitch sizes are good and the area pleasant enough. Would not stay here again, you can get most CLs with better facilities. As a club member I have to ask why the club is spending money on expensive fast check- in facilities at other sites when they could be spending the money on basic maintenance (like onsite roads) and facilities. The club has lost its direction and coupled with an error strewn new website makes me question whether to continue with my membership after this year and I suspect I'm not alone in that.

DavidS

Reviewed on 10/08/2023 14:57

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful base for The Wirral Way

A great place to stay and explore The Wirral, with great walking along The Wirral Way and other public paths. I always find the facilities well looked after, clean and functional. Some pitches have great views of the Dee estury, but they are few in number and get taken early! You'll be lucky to get one. But all the pitches seem spacious and well laid out.

RCME

Caravanner from Gloucestershire

Reviewed on 08/08/2023 17:57

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Needs refurbishment

Been here a couple of times but not recently until this week. Having been to CAMC sites which have been refurbished, this one is now standing out as being in need of refurbishment. The toilet block is old, despite being kept clean. The play area is also very dated. Location is very good for the beach and the Wirral way for walks etc, and there are a couple of pitches with good views. The site staff are okay, not exactly friendly, but just seem to get on with things. CAMC perhaps need to consider lowering their prices on sites which have clearly had no money ploughed into them for many years. Won’t be returning in the near future.

ianandsaraheds

Caravanner from Merseyside

Reviewed on 04/08/2023 11:56

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Facilities are clean but really outdated.

A well situated site but a bit outdated. We were delayed due to a bad motorway accident and despite keeping reception up to date, it was clear that there was minimal assistance with the quote "If you don't arrive by 9pm then you will not be allowed on site" I appreciate that this would be an inconvenience but was outwith our control and a little understanding would not have gone amiss. The site itself is peaceful, the facilities outdated and the shower block in need of refurbishment.

ScreenName5A2A889C7F

Reviewed on 31/07/2023 14:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

An excellent site

Just spent 4 nights on a hardstanding pitch on this site. Site is well kept and in a quiet location with very easy access to the Wirral Way which provides miles of easy and interesting cycling and walking. We received a warm and friendly welcome and our hard standing pitch was spacious, clean and tidy. We found all of the facilities to be well kept and having just spent a week on a commercial site with a higher pitch fee and less facilities we felt it offered great value for money. If you like cycling then this site is ideal as it adjacent to the Wirral Way which offers miles of easy cycling. We only had time to cover some of it on this visit but it is possible to do a complete circuit of the whole of the Wirral by bike which is about 35 miles in total. We enjoyed some chips from the fish and chip van which visits on a Tuesday evening. Our main reason for visiting this site was to visit family in the area and also to cycle but there is so much to do that a repeat visit is definitely on the cards. Thank you to the wardens for keeping the site so well maintained. We would certainly recommend it as a destination.

JCS11

Reviewed on 07/07/2023 12:57

30 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A very relaxing break

Visiting family who live near Liverpool so this was the ideal site. Extremely pleased with our choice. Super friendly and helpful staff on site and always on hand. Excellent facilities. Both site and facilities kept very clean. Very tranquil and beautiful site and perfect pitch sizes. We enjoyed our time there so much we extended our stay and will definitely be back. Great dog walking possibilities on the Wirral Circular Trail and local cafe and pub within walking distance. Fish & Chip and Pizza van on site once a week, heaven. Many thanks to Graham and the rest of the team, see you again soon.

Sandy Steele

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/06/2023 17:48

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer