York Beechwood Grange Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nicely kept site, great location for trips into York, great facilities and family friendly, would return!

We picked this site for an Easter break with the kids, we wanted somewhere that we could easily get in to York for a day trip for the railway museum & castle museum etc and didn't much fancy the other club site in York itself as some of the access roads looked like they may be a bit "fun" with a caravan in tow - access to this site on the other hand straight off the A64 is really easy. We also wanted a site with a half decent playground for the kids to play and this site certainly ticked the boxes there too - they had a wonderful time, made some new friends immediately and had lots of fun. The facilities block is of excellent standard - modern, clean, plenty of toilets and showers for the size of the site, we never had to wait, except for when the blocks were closed for cleaning - at that point, all that's available is the disabled & family bathrooms. The showers were powerful, lovely and hot, no silly timer push-buttons just proper controls, and plenty of space to change and hang up clothes. We had a lovely friendly welcome from the wardens, who gave our kids activity packs etc and made them feel special too. At night there was a little bit of road noise from the nearby A64, but nothing at all major, not loud enough to be a problem, and mostly covered by wind & rain in typical British Easter weather fashion anyway! The location isn't great if you fancy walks directly off the site - a more countryside located park would probably be better for that - but as we were planning to use it as a base for day trips out in the car that was no problem at all for us. For our daytrip to York itself, it was an easy five minute drive to the park and ride at Monk's Cross where there was plenty of parking, and the "All York Family" bus ticket for all four of us including parking for £5.50 was good value, a clean electric powered double-decker bus dropped us right into York near The Shambles. Monks Cross has a decent variety of shops too. We went to the Pizza Hut there for dinner when we got back from York, but after seeing the prices and being expected to order ourselves by scanning a QR code on the table with our phone etc we changed our minds and walked out - it's not a fine dining restaurant for sure but for the prices being charged we'd expect to actually be served. All in all the site was very nicely kept and we'd be more than happy to return.

bigpresh

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 07/04/2024 11:55

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nice site, lovely staff, close to York but very little to do nearby

Firstly the people running the site were lovely, and super, super helpful to us as recently joined members. The site is well laid out, excellent and very clean facilities, all easily accessed from our pitch. There is a park and ride about 45 minutes walk away (Monks Cross), but it doesn’t take motorhomes (maybe campers are fine). However it’s also not so far to Grimston Bar park and Ride and they DO have space for motorhomes - we used this site and took the bus into York. I believe there is also a bus from near the site that goes into York. The site is also generally peaceful. However… If you have a caravan and can drive out, that’s fine. Motorhomes are more limited. We like to eat near the site and go for walks or cycling. The nearest pub is the Toby Inn (food was cheap but very poor, walked back in the dark, the road leading to the site has no lighting), and there is another pub in Stockton on the Forest (Fox Inn - Sunday lunch was delicious!). We didn’t find any nice walks that start from the site. Wherever you go you have to walk alongside busy roads, often with no footpath (the route to Fox Inn is a good example, 2.5 miles mainly on the grass banks beside the road, and from there we took a 3.5 mile walk around the local footpaths, but it was not very interesting. Then we had to walk back alongside the road to the camp site. Once again, if you have a car you can drive to where the nicer walks start from. So in summary, a great place for caravans and/or if you want to drive out to do things. If you want to sit in your ‘van in a nice peaceful place, also fine. If you want to leave your vehicle in situ and walk or cycle the area locally, or eat in some nice pubs with good food a short walk away, not so good for this. I would definitely stay again, though more so to access York via park and ride, or on the way to somewhere else.

ClubMember8238BB7DD0

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 22/03/2024 18:12

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wrong week maybe

I did not like this site. The ladies toilets were shut down on the Sunday There are only 2 toilet blocks on site so a unisex facility was hastily created. Men women and kids sharing facilities is undignified and i believe alternative mobile facilities should have been provided. For what was non emergency work. We pay top fees for club site and deserve better I complained to a member of staff who seemed to get irritated with me. I left a day early. I complained to the club when i got home who did not really care either. Other issues Bus stops are 15 mins walk away to York, 25mins walk away to Leeds / Scarborough Bus takes 25 mins to York, 90 mins to Leeds Impossible to safely walk to the retail park as the busy major road has no footways I will not be returning

PegasoPaul

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/01/2024 21:23

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A peaceful place

What a lovely site with a brilliant atmosphere. Well maintained and spacious, run by a team of very friendly wardens. Easy access from the A64 and for trips out. To visit York, the nearby Monks Cross Park and Ride, is £1.30 with a bus pass. However it does mean driving to the car park. Shops at Monks Cross to provide for your needs and treats The site shop provides necessities and more. Local bus stops to York 15 and 25 minutes walk away, ok in the summer but not so good in the winter. To my mind the only downside to the site if it’s York you are interested in. However there are local villages and towns to visit with the NY Moors and Wolds to discover, whilst the coast is not far away for a bracing day out.

cromercrab

Reviewed on 29/11/2023 09:20

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Amazing site

This site is amazing for so many reasons!! Park and ride into York 10 minutes away, absolutely amazing showers - hot and clean at all times, dog area is the biggest we’ve been to and in the summer the parts they leave long look beautiful and give our fur babies lots to investigate instead of just chasing the ball!! The night time sounds of owls hooting is just precious when your snuggling down to sleep in the van. Very little light pollution to look at the stars at night oh what a sight that is on a clear night !! The wardens are so happy and friendly and nothing is too much trouble !! My hubby broke the locker door lock as we were leaving and they rushed to help us armed with duck tape to get us on our way !! We have been twice now and will not hesitate to come back!! Oh and the carvery is within walking distance if your up for an evening jaunt - probably about 15 minutes walk but 5 mins in the car and you must book or prepare to be disappointed as we were the first time we went lol - lesson learnt and booked the following evening xx Definitely worth a visit if you’re going to York or even the coast like Scarborough for the day xx

ClubMember18D115042B

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/11/2023 22:12

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Three night Autumn break

With a caravan we thought this site would be easier to get to as the one in centre of York looked liked some tight roads for access. Good decision as two minutes off the main A64 and no problems on the smaller roads for the bigger rigs. As it was just a long weekend visit (3 nights) we had non awning pitch 60. On arrival there was a small pond in the corner as there had been intense rain for several days before, but as testament to the draining of the pitch it had cleared the next morning and the main part of the pitch was ok anyway. Ideally placed for a two minute drive to the Monks Cross Park & Ride, which is an excellent service running every 15 minutes or less over a long period of the day and even though we used it on Friday, a work day at commuter time, no problem getting a seat. Same on Saturday at tourist time. £3.60 each for parking and return bus, which were all clean and 15 minutes journey to end of The Shambles. Site clean, tidy and staff friendly as expected from the club. A point on the Wi-Fi that a lot appear to depend on, is we used the free version just to check e-mail and a bit of light surfing for places to visit in York and the performance was adequate. We even streamed one programme on iPlayer as we watched all our downloads with no problem. Phone signal on Sky was 4 bars. We are booking again for March for the other half's birthday weekend as we love York and the site for us is perfect access. .

Al n Bev

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/11/2023 16:39

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Please read if you own a dog.

As stated by lots of other members this campsite is conveniently located for visiting York via the park and ride facility situated just over a mile away at Monks Cross. Since our last visit a new rule has been introduced by the club in that Mr and Mrs Knowles who own the land that the access road is situated on have banned dogs from being walked along it.By doing this pets are essentially trapped on site unless they are taken to the end of the drive in a vehicle. Apparently this was due to a dog being allowed to chase after and injure a horse in one of the fields adjacent to the driveway in 2022. Throughout our stay I didn’t see one single horse in any of the fields at the side of the driveway which are boarded by ranch fences with very large gaps. The installation of some form of chicken wire could alleviate this problem and allow pedestrians who own pets to leave the site without having to use a vehicle. It would be nice if the club and the Knowles family could come to an agreement to resolve this situation as there is no other way to leave the site on foot. We were only made aware of this new rule when challenged by a member of staff as we tried to walk off site with our dog on our first day and was informed that this rule is on the club’s website. Upon looking details of it were found, albeit I feel that this should be more prominent for other pet owners to see.

ClubMember8795477CDA

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/11/2023 07:12

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Perfect for York

Ideally situated for visiting York. For those that walk there is a route available in the info room. Up behind the Toby, Follow the path onto Millenium Way and then via Bad Bargain Lane to York. Also a five minute drive to Monks Cross. ASDA, Sainsbury's, Loads more shops on there. Also Park and ride. £1.40 to York from what is in effect a free car park. All of the wonders of York there for you. You can travel into (out of York) on the 840/843 bus (stops on Stockton Lane behind The Toby and turn right, or via the CAS bus (Castle Howard to York) which stops on the main road just before reaching The Toby. The Toby itself is worth a visit for a buffet breakfast or a daytime carvery. The site itself is always very well maintained by conscientious and friendly staff. The facilities are spotless and there is a small shop in reception. Those that use this site regularly appreciate it for what it is. Those that don't should give it a try.

EamonnD

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 20/09/2023 14:41

20 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

What can I say the Wardens are very helpful, our van broke down. When I phoned to say we were on our way in the back of a breakdown lorry they did everything they could to help us. The site is well kept with a new toilet block. Children’s play ground. Pub about 15 minute walk up the road.

Garyjudy161

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 16/09/2023 14:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

One of the best sites

We have stayed a few times now. Site is spotless as are the facilities. Plenty of room for all types of outfit. Staff always friendly and helpful. York P&Rs are brilliant to explore and get to the Train Museum. One of the best CAMC sites. We will be back.

CLMcC

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 09/08/2023 19:33

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer