Belchenblick

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Pleasant site

Very nice location with easy walk into the nice small town of Staufen some pitches close to railway line but you seem to get used to it. Very nice welcome upon arrival. Municipal swimming pool adjacent which is free to use when staying on site. Also Kronos Card offers free train travel around Black Forest. no access to site from 1230 until 1500.

Davidl

from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 08/10/2023 11:29

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

It grows on you

We can’t quite work this site out, on first arriving we thought where have we come! Then after 3 or so days we weren’t in a hurry to leave. The best approach is to chill out and ask, ask about any other pitches if you’re not happy, and what’s available, because there’s a lot of offer here, but depending on who checks you in you could get ‘I don’t have a booking for you’ through to a 10 minute induction to the site. The downside first, depend on the pitch, locating the hook-up could be a head scratcher. As for fresh water to fill your tank, that you need to ask for as it’s really not straightforward. Motorhome service point likewise. On the positive side, the people are SO helpful, they’re just disorganised. The water is hot in the showers and wash rooms, they should give you a card for free access to municipal pool which is a big highlight, and a free public transport travel card. Staufen a shortish walk (15 mins) or cycle ride away is beautiful, the Landmann outdoor wine bar a real treat, a walk to the old chateau a worthwhile trek and a cycle ride along the rail line gives you first access to the Black Forest. In summary go back in time and have fun but don’t take it too seriously, there are customers here returning year after year for its quirky charm!

TOM 88

Reviewed on 02/08/2023 06:39

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Updated facilities

Having read the previous reviews regarding the state of the facilities, we were wary about booking this site, but I can report that the showers and toilets have been updated, and are lovely. Each shower cubicle has its own toilet and sink and a good sized shower cubicle, all of good quality and the toilets are just as well appointed and all are kept very clean. The local town of Staufen, which is only .6K away, has now become one of our favourites, not very big, but beautiful and with some lovely shops and cafes. There are local vineyards to visit, and we intend to stop off at a cooperative vineyard to sample, and maybe buy, some of the local produce.

ScreenName1016D9843B

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 12/06/2023 14:11

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Location excellent, campsite not so

Please do not think this is a negative review, it isn't, but the campsite is in dire need of refurbishment. Firstly it is all about the location, and the family owners know it. They can fill the campsite nearly all year around. Staufen the small town, 1k walk away is beautiful, the walk/cycle network on the doorstep is brilliant, the river, the swimming pool on the other side is good and free with campsite booking, rail and tram is free with the campsite booking too. But the facilities are old, and not being repaired. The shower/toilets were very dated, the extractors did not work, some shower doors were only just working, shower heads missing, all was a bit of a shock for such a brilliant location. The site needs to close for a season and get fully modernised. Pitches were very close together, and worn, electric points worked but were old, grey water drainage blocked. We had a good 10 day holiday, our dog is blind, so we could walk for miles with her in her stroller, or easily into town, where we had some gorgeous meals.Quite a bit of road noise, and the electric tram went past every hour, but you get used to it. There is another campsite 3k further on up the valley, with fenced off pitches and a lovely restraunt, maybe next time we will use that. I used to be a campsite warden, and tend to look at things from that perspective, as well as a paying customer. As a warden, I would have been ashamed of the facilities. But, it was all about location. Hopefully the site will get modernised.

steersy

Reviewed on 20/09/2022 08:22

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site in good location

Had a look around site when waiting to check in (reception closed 12.30-15.00) and thought pitches looked a bit small. However, we were assigned to a larger pitch at the reception end that was very spacious. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient, told us about site, gave us free public transport tickets, maps of the area, free swimming pool entry and free WiFi codes. Several staff could speak very good English. We were shown to our pitch by a member of staff who then checked we knew where the electrical point was and we had all we needed. Some of the sanitary blocks seemed a bit dated, and some of the showers were hidden away, but all were very clean and well serviced. One washing machine and one dryer available, €3 each with token from reception. Nice location next to a small river, with lots of biking and hiking paths nearby. Small electric train runs past site, but doesn’t disturb. Staufen, a pretty little town, is about 1km. Nice flat cycle ride to Freiburg, about 20kms, mainly on cycle paths or minor roads and all well signposted. Overall, a nice site that I would recommend.

Dodun

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/07/2022 17:51

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

great location

Have been here before - on this occasion pitch was smaller and not in as good condition as previously. Otherwise no complaints - love Staufen and great walks into the Munstertal valley. Free train travel in the area also a great bonus. Also free access to the large outdoor public pool adjacent to the site.

Ecosse205

Campervanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2022 11:24

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful site, Free travel an extra bonus.

A nice peaceful site just a ten minute walk along the river to Staufen or the train station. We made use of the free transport by going to Freilburg and Basel. Just across the road is the outdoor swimming pool, it's a shame that the bar and restaurant was not operational but we managed to cope.

MalcH

Motorhomer from Hampshire

Reviewed on 30/07/2019 11:18

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Brilliant Belchenblick

A little wary having read some reviews but such a super site. Reception very helpful and spoke English though beware closed for siesta - same with shops in town). Very hot when we were there so pitch dry and dusty but adequate for our camper and tent and situated under trees. Facilities great, toilet blocks clean and tidy, Indoor pool which seemed little used (except by us!) as free use of outdoor pool situated across the road from site. Bikes and karts available to use for kids of all ages. We made good use of Konus travelling to Frieberg, Basel, Titisee and Munstertal (for walking around Forest - though beware of ticks, picked 4 off the dog!), Easy walk into Staufen along river and two supermarkets located far side near station.

Coops3

Reviewed on 12/08/2018 22:38

37 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Great site

Just stayed for a week at this lovely site . The location is great with just a 10 min flat walk along the river bank to Staufen which is a really pretty small village with several restaurants and bars. The site has every facility you need and is clean and well managed. The small heated indoor pool is a bonus if the weather is not too good and you are also given a free card for train and travel in the surrounding area of the Black Forest which we used on several occasions and found very easy and efficient. Lake Titisee and The waterfall at Triberg we’re both lovely and we also drove to Baden Baden for a day. There is a small shop that sells basics and three separate toilet blocks so always one nearby. The staff were all friendly and helpful and spoke very good English. The slight noice from the trains and cars did not disturb us in the slightest and I am a light sleeper. The trains are electric so woosh past seamlessly and the cars are few and far between at night. I would definitely recommend this sight and wouldn’t hesitate to go back.

Bowerman

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 08/04/2018 13:53

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent location

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this site. The owner is very welcoming and although the pitches are tight,we found them adequate and allowed us to put out our awning. We were close to the what appeared to be the more modern toilet facilities ; which were both clean and a good standard. The train noise was not intrusive as there are about 2 trains an hour and if you are out enjoying the beautiful countryside you won't hear them anyway! The lunch time closing is very irritating but sadly is very common across Germany.

Herman14

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/08/2017 14:07

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer