Les Portes d'Alsace

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

A four day stop over

we stop for four nights at this site on our way to Switzerland, we was offered a pitch but was not suitable for our caravan as the pitch was to small, but they said have a look around and let them know which pitch we had, some of the pitchers had been well warn and uneven in places the site seemed to be quit and relaxing there is a riding school at the back of the site also a main school near the site as well, The main shower and toilet block was clean and tidy also it had a second toilet block at the bottom of the site lovely toilet block and wash bowl areas, But the shower floors had not been clean for some time, As their was deep grim in the floor tiles in the shower area, This let it down that's why we Given it a three rating, we had report this to the site office they did not seem surprised they said that they will be clean tomorrow, reception is not always open at times and you have to find some one, I would say this is a typical France site saevrme is a nice town café in the main square its around 20mins walk from the site also you can go to Strasbourg on the Trian if you wise our by car its around 30km from the site, would we come back possible not.
Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Spectacular Saverne

When first arrived were allocated a small pitch but staff happy to re-site us on a pitch of our choosing. Most pitches are of a good size and plenty of water points nearby which was handy as it was hot, hot, hot. Site reasonably quiet and peaceful. Nice walk behind site in fields and a 20 minute walk into Saverne - a very pretty town, Took train to Strasbourg, well worth the visit.

Reviewed on

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Typically French

We've read some moan'y comments on this site, and simply cannot understand why! It is a brilliant typical French Municipal Site, and very well managed by great staff. Whilst it's on the edge of a built-up area, it is really very quiet and peaceful indeed, and Saverne is a place not to disappoint also!
Motorhomer from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A charming little site

Just returned from a long holiday and Portes d'Alsace was one of the sites we visited. We can't believe some of the less than positive remarks we have seen. We thought this was a charming little site. The staff were friendly - even when disturbed in the middle of cooking lunch - and quite happy for us to change pitches from the one we were allocated. We had plenty of room with a lovely view over to the riding school next door and it was good to be back in France and able to pitch our outfit as we wanted rather than the enforced regimentation encountered in Belgium and Germany. The site is quiet but there's plenty for children, including some organised activities. There is a takeaway van that visits three times a week and bread can be ordered the night before. The sanitary block is clean and the swimming pool, though small, a welcome extra. It is a three star site so don't expect 24 hour entertainment and lots of extra facilities. Best of all, the site is beautifully located. Yes, it's in the middle of a housing estate (though very upmarket!) but it's not more than a 5 minute drive into the lovely little town of Saverne and there are good shops here (Super U and Lidl) as well as a huge Leclerc's in the other direction towards Marmoutier - another little town well worth visiting. In fact, the whole area is delightful and we will definitely come back to this region and stay at this site again.

Caravanner from Durham

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Not as bad as we thought

Like other reviewers we had booked this site for a one night stop over because the location was perfect for our journey to Switzerland. We approached the site with some trepidation having read the reviews, but were glad that the site was not that bad. Yes we had a little problem with reception because we parked in the wrong place on arrival but a little bit of "retraining" and better signage would solve that. The site is a typical French municipal campsite and the facilities are clean and adequate. We would have been happy to stay more than one night if that was in our plans. The lack of toilet seats is annoying, but not all that rare on some French campsites.

Reviewed on

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Needed more time

Having read many of the reviews we decided only to allocate a one night as a stop over at this site - a big mistake. The area seemed to have lots to offer with gorgeous countryside that we wanted to explore. The town of Saverne appeared delightful and the new SuperU supermarket, only 2 minutes drive away from the site, was really well stocked with a fuel station just up the road. The only down side we could comment upon was the lack of seats on the loos but the toilet block itself was clean with powerful showers. We will definitely be returning to this site with more time to spare.

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A great week - much better than the reviews suggested

We visited with some trepidation, having booked before reading the reviews. We need not have worried, the site is beautiful. Well maintained, large pitches shaded by some of the loveliest trees I've ever seen on a site. Ok it's only a three star site and you should expect the facilities to match. There is no bar or restaurant - and no sign that there ever has been - I assume this is a breakdown in communication in the Caravan Club brochure. We found the staff to be friendly polite and helpful. The facilities were clean, well maintained and functional, the pitches large and reasonably level. The site is adjacent to an equestrian centre and we were able to watch horses and their associated schooling from our caravan window which was delightful. Saverne itself is a lovely town, just a 25 minute stroll away and if you don't fancy walking there are loads of free parking spaces. If you want to visit Strasbourg, it's only a 25 minute train journey away which cost us just €23 return for two. I felt it was necessary to give a review which would more accurately reflect our experiences, I personally would not hesitate to visit this site again and find it difficult to understand some of the previous comments. There were lots of Brits on site when we were there and not one had any seriously negative comments. We must remember that there are certain regulations and practices with which we may not be familiar or necessarily agree with - lunchtime closures, not wearing shorts in the swimming pool and being perhaps a little more particular when it comes to recycling - but we are guests in another country and we really should find out about these before we visit.
Caravanner from Bedfordshire

Reviewed on

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Would Not Recommend

Arrived to find barriers closed and note on door to ring mobile, lady who answered did not speak very good English. Access to Pitches very tight and close together, something we are not used to. Ok for a one night stop if you were desperate. Showers and toilet facilities were ok. Would not go back to this site.

Response from the Caravan Club:

Thank you for leaving your feedback on our website.  We are disappointed to hear that things did not go to plan on site, to follow is the site’s response to your review. 

Response from Les Portes d’Alsace:

Dear Customer, 

We are sorry that you had experienced it like that.  Between noon and 2pm the reception is closed because it is our lunch break. That is why there is a note on the door with a phone number for customers who come between the hours that the reception is closed. There is one employee at the reception who can only speak a little English, but there are also two workers who can speak English. At that moment the only employee who was available on the phone was the one who speaks a little English. We are sorry for that. If there is something wrong, we are always prepared to help you. If you came to the reception to tell us that you were not happy with your pitch, we would have let you choose another.

We hope that you understand this and we hope despite this, you still had a good holiday. Sorry again

Yours sincerely,

Camping les Portes d'alsace
Best regards,

Anaïs

Reviewed on

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

small site advertised incorrectly

Arrived on site to find barrier closed for lunch which is not indicated in club book so had to wait In the heat, allocated small gravel pitch with water tap outside our bedroom window, very close to surrounding vans and motor homes, pool not open until 4pm in heat of high 30! then they don't allow men to wear shorts in pool. No on site bar or restaurant on site as stated, very poor shop. Toilet block only had a few toilets open and no showers open at all, Reception not interested in any complaints made. nice bread ordered in advance and local walk to village work a trip. only stayed one night and wont be going back, caravan club informed of our disappointment

Response from the Caravan Club:

Thank you for your feedback regarding this site and for taking the time to write a review online.  We are sorry that this site did not meet with your expectations. We do try our best to advertise all of our sites correctly, however facilities on site can change and we are not always informed of these changes by the sites.  We have contacted the site with your comments and have received the following response.

Response from Les Portes D’Alsace:

We are sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

The reception closes at lunch time. Our pitches are all 100m2 and we have a few gravel pitches and mainly grass pitches. We ask customers before giving them a pitch and never refused any changes to an unhappy customer.

The pool doesn't close during the day, it is opened from 10am to 7pm.

The reception staff are always helpful and always do their best to fix any problems customers may have while staying with us. 

Reviewed on

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Avoid This Site!

We stayed here on the way down to, and back from, Austria. The roads to the site were being dug-up so access was very difficult through rough streets in a built-up area. Once at the site we found the reception staff rude on both occasions and very unhelpful. Tried to get us onto a pitch that was too small when larger ones were free. Toilet block very dark, unclean and very run-down. Had our rubbish bag searched for glass items (when out-sorting was not requested), and were shouted at when a single glass bottle was found! The Caravan Club should not list a site as rough as this as it reflects badly on them. DO NOT BOOK THIS SITE. We would rather sleep in a lay-by than suffer sites as bad as this one. Will not go back under any circumstances.

Response from The Caravan Club:

Thank you for your review, we are very disappointed to hear that you encountered so many problems on site.  We have raised these issues with the site and have received the following response.

Response from Les Portes D’Alsace:

We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us.

There were some works done in the streets last year in Savern but they are over now. 

We always try to accommodate our customers and change their pitches if they are not comfortable with the one we gave them.

Toilets block are cleaned-up three times a day: in the morning, in the afternoon and in the evening.

About the glass, we have signs in three languages explaining that glass should be sorted.

Best Regards,

Anaïs

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer