Regio

Rated 3 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Nearly Didn’t Book

We wanted to visit Salamanca and were looking for a site open in December but nearly passed this one by due to some harsh reviews. That would have been a shame as we found it more than adequate for our purpose of visiting the city over a couple of days. It’s not five star but nor does it claim to be. A question of managing expectations perhaps? Most of the water was turned off but not unreasonable give the temperature fell to -4. Some of the pitches were very untidy due to branch cutting but there were plenty of others available. Booking in was at the hotel reception where meals are available. That was the only disappointment as the food was poor. The showers are old fashioned but clean and hot water plentiful. There is a bus leaving from reception every hour which for the princely sum of one euro forty delivers you straight into the city centre. Overall an excellent stopping off point for a city visit.

David Dowling

Motorhomer from Highlands

Reviewed on 25/12/2017 08:36

14 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Fine for a couple of days

Reception was friendly and competent. Toilets and showers were clean and well maintained. Pool was of a high standard. There is a reasonably priced bar that does serve food but we did not try it so could not comment. There is a bus stop right outside the front door which will take you directly into Salamanca for 1 Euro 40. The site overall is adequate for a couple of days but no more.

dougiec

Caravanner from Fife

Reviewed on 03/09/2017 20:46

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Probably the worst site we have stayed on anywhere!

Many reviewers have said the same thing. The Caravan Club should remove this site from their affiliated list. Camping Regio advertises that it is open all year round, so they should provide most of the facilities that one would expect in the summer. I can understand that the shop and cafe might be closed in winter, but they still charge the same price for a pitch. The Caravan Club should advise members, when booking, of the lack of facilities at this time of year. The pitches themselves were overgrown and badly kept. Puddles of water and mud everywhere. The washing and toilet facilities, although clean enough, looked like something out of an army camp. No heating, ridiculous toilet roll holders at the entrance to the block. It is nothing to do with people taking the toilet rolls, as was claimed by the manager, it down to poor maintenance, servicing, and management. The only chemical toilet disposal was at the far end of the site, with no working tap, or hose, as there should have been. The worst thing of all about the site was that, although there were water points in various places around the site, NOT ONE OF THEM WAS WORKING! Why? The taps had been removed, and presumably the water supply turned off. The final straw was that the Hotel Regio had functions on both of the nights we were on the site, and unbelievably loud , heavy bass, music was blaring out until 2.30 in the morning! Any of the numerous aires in Spain would have been better to stay on than this site.

lolnig

Reviewed on 10/02/2017 16:24

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

One night stay 10/6/16.

We only stayed 1 night on route from Bilbao to Seville. Towing the caravan it took us 6 hours and we arrived at 19:45. The reception at the hotel was not over friendly and the meal there was not wonderful. We hoped for an early breakfast and then leave, but the coffee machine at the campsite was not working and the cleaners were still in the hotel restaurant and there was no sign of breakfast, so we left. We had no experience of the toilet block.

ray7nick

Reviewed on 19/07/2016 22:54

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Ticked all the boxes.

We stayed for 3 nights in May 2016. The ablution facilities were spacious and clean and the showers hot. We took the bus into Salamanca.The bus stop is conveniently situated right outside the campsite. We also walked down to then nearby shops one afternoon. The food at the restaurant was disappointing. The staff were friendly and helpful. i would definitely stay there again if I was visiting the area.

edshel

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/06/2016 17:08

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Close to Salamanca

Stopped here for two nights to pop into Salmanca - great location. Noting my fellow caravaners comments, the plots are a bit tired (some rough ground etc), 80's style bathrooms (granite / marble, so wearing well) but I would balance this against them being exceptionally clean facilities and plenty of them.  Staff were brilliant and helped with any problem / questions. Bus picks up from in the car park to take you to the centre of Salamanca (1.40E each, 30mins each way), cheap washing machines. On some plots you would need to level your van with ramps. 10A electric ;-). FREE wifi at very good speed! Safe and secure.

PackedUpPascalls

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/04/2016 20:20

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

2nd visit

A very convenient site as a stopover on the way north/south just about 2km off dual carriageway.  A great location to visit Salamanca.  This is the 2nd time we have stayed here this time for 2 nights.  It is true that the actual plots are untidy and the trees and pitch fittings are past their best.  There are new trees being planted in places but it still has an air of despondency.  That said there is absolutely nothing wrong with the showers, etc. even though they are a little old  lots of them and clean with plenty of hot water.  The site can hold about 200 vans and on one night we were the only ones there (early March).  The Hotel receptionists is very friendly and speaks very good English.  There seemed to be a temporary Heliport out the front of the hotel which had about 6 flights during our stay.  Not a site to spend a long time at but neither is it a site to avoid.

Boop

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/03/2016 10:58

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 2 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

The wasteland

This was the worst site we stayed on throughout our 9 day trip. It was tatty and ugly. The site was advertised as dog friendly but dogs were not allowed in the restaurant. The advertised cafe, shop and bar were closed so we could not even buy the basics and the toilet block was like one would expect in a prison. The surrounding neighborhood was decidedly seedy. All in all a thoroughly depressing site. 

Response from the Caravan Club:

 Thank you for taking the time to post this review online.  We have passed on your comments to Regio.  Some of the overseas sites that we work with do close various facilities during low season, as your club we are always happy to advise you on the opening and closing dates of site facilities in advance to avoid disappointment.

 Response from Regio:

 We are really sorry to this hear feedback from the client.

The first thing to note is that the dogs are not permitted inside the Restaurant. This is stated on a sign by the entrance.

The campsite’s supermarket is closed in low season, but you can buy basics such as bread and milk from the café in the hotel. If this is not an option there is a supermarket 1km away from the campsite.  Our facilities are always well-cleaned.

Best regards,

Jesus Martin/Reception Manager

fletchpl

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/10/2015 13:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Not bad Regio

Regio is a handy site for Santander. It’s pretty basic, toilet blocks and washing facilities could do with updating but nice and clean. The site is linked to a hotel and the shared pool is fantastic. If you want decent Wi-Fi then this is your site as it’s near broadband quality all over.

SAllbert

Reviewed on 02/09/2015 09:47

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A Nice well kept site in great location

We arrived at this site with our 3 teenage children, having booked for 3 nights through the Club. The receptionist spoke good english and was very friendly and informative. We were given a site map and told we could pitch anywhere as the site was still fairly quiet.The pitches were large and well marked out and divided by lush trees and granite small blocks with water taps at every 3rd pitch. We had no problems parking our 8m motorhome. The toilet facilities were some of the best we had seen after 7 sites in Spain and Portugal. With many showers and toilets, the toilets even had toilet roll at the entrance and seats which unusual for Spain, France or Portugal. There was a large dishwashing area with hot running water which was a first. The toilet blocks were continuously cleaned throughout the day.The pool area is shared with the attached 4 star hotel and was very impressive. There was a small shop on site and a bar and restaurant, campers could also use the hotel cafe at discounted prices. One of the best things about this site is the location, 3 miles from the stunning city of Salamanca, we cycled along the dutch style cycle path along the river into the city centre, we also used the bus which comes right to the site gates. There is a Lidl and Le Clerc Supermarket within 1 mile of the site, which is useful. We would certainly return if in the area.

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer