Bayardo Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely working farm site

We stayed here in mid August and caught the grain harvest in full swing. Owners very happy to explain things so we now know a bit more about how our food is generated! A great base for cycling, we'll be back, a delightful area. Also great for walking but we didn't do much of that as we were tired out by the cycling!

Helen123

Reviewed on 21/08/2021 09:23

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing site

I have never met such lovely people, the owners of this site are so friendly. It’s so quiet there isn’t a sound. You don’t need to get the car out there are so many walks from site and the forest is beautiful. Wi fi was excellent and we got good tv reception. But I recommend you switch off your tv and phone and just enjoy the peace and quiet. We cannot wait to go back our dogs had the best time. Tom your chicken eggs are amazing!!

monoman

Reviewed on 05/08/2021 14:25

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Really nice site

We arrived for a couple of nights stay in August 2020. The site access is fine, down a single track lane for the last couple of hundred yards but had no problems at all getting our van in. The site slopes slightly but this is easily managed with blocks. Really peaceful site, with loads of space. A noticeboard on the site provides really useful information on local shops etc. We were fortunate enough to have some clear nights and true to the description, the night sky was spectacular! Had a great few days.

Jaz9725

Caravanner

Reviewed on 10/09/2020 16:03

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Hidden Gem

Fantastic peaceful site, very friendly owners, great walks, can't wait to go back and explore.

andwend

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/08/2019 22:14

18 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

As good as I remember

We use CL's all the time and get around the network. It has been 5 years since we have been the Bayardo Farm, but everything is familiar. The site is what I'd call basic with electric, but the lawn is cut and is well maintained. We have been on 4 pitches over the years and are yet to get a TV reception, but with the surroundings that's probably a bonus. The Bull's have now put in WiFi and all though it dropped out twice in the 9 days we were there, simply going and asking for it being reset was made very easy. This rectified the problem and we were able to watch the only programme we wanted on iPlayer instead. There are many options for walking from the site, and West Woods are a must. We go late Easter for the bluebells, but maybe more guaranteed last week in April or Mayday week-end. This year their earliness the were probably caught the best at Easter. Other options are exploring the Downs, Avebury monuments and Marlborough is a lovely little town. We saw lots of different wildlife during our visit of the area, so just keep your eyes and ears open. The only disappointment (for the Bulls), was the lack of visitors the week before Easter. We are finding this more with CL's, maybe they are just going pout of fashion. We prefer is quiet so not a problem our side. This is a great value option, try it for yourselves. This is simply one of my favorite locations.

idristdragon

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/04/2019 13:05

40 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very relaxing and friendly site, perfect for dogs and walkers.

Just spent 5 days at this lovely site which will be added to our list of favourites. Access was easy with spacious pitches and plenty of room to manoeuvre with enough space to pitch whichever way you prefer, the field slopes slightly so you might need levelling blocks but this was not a problem for us. The owners were very friendly and welcoming and quite relaxed about how you pitched, we have 5 dogs and they were happy for us to put a windbreak fence around our caravan. The site is perfect for dogs, no livestock on the farm and miles of wonderful, off lead walking directly from the site. Opposite the site is West Wood with lots of paths and trails to explore, if you walk through the woods to the other side there is are 2 pubs to choose from. Walking in the other direction across the farm eventually brings you onto the Marlborough Downs, great paths and lovely views, you can walk to Pewsey which is on the Kennet and Avon Canal or to Wootton Rivers a pretty village with a very nice pub the Royal Oak. Marlborough and Devizes are both really nice towns to visit without having to travel too far. We were on pitch 2 and did manage to get a TV signal, occasional slight interference but nothing to spoil our viewing. There is no phone signal however and at the time of our visit no Wifi either, although the owners assured us they would be providing WiFi in the near future and if they do then will will definitely return.

pawsforthought

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/08/2018 13:05

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A classic CL in an archaeological haven.

A classic CL … located on a working arable farm, this hassle-free large grass site has south facing views across fields. A levelling block needed if pitching sideways. Double gated wide entrance. While the access road is narrow in parts, there are passing places. Water and waste disposal located at bottom of the gently sloping field. Eggs available. No probs with electrics. Be aware that TV and mobile phone signals are non existent or poor throughout the area. Plenty to do from this CL with walks from the site, (incl. close encounters with badgers, owls and hares), narrowboat trips on Kennet and Avon canal, Savernake Forest trails, Ridgeway Walk and lots of history and archaeology. Good museum in Devizes. Walk 'the Avenue' into Avebury to see the Ring and NT Manor House, and from Silbury to the West Kennet Long Barrow. Small market in Marlborough. Tom was a helpful host and knowledgeable on local archaeology.

Scarsdale037

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/08/2018 10:23

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site

Just spent two wonderful weeks on this delightful working farm. Scenic and peaceful with excellent walks directly from site. Friendly and helpful owners. Will keep coming back for as long as we can.

jack Sprat

Reviewed on 29/05/2018 10:47

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful, friendly, fantatic

We read the reviews prior to booking. One review complained about the entrance and the owners but for the life of me cannot understand why they would. I recommend ignoring this review as it does not reflect at all the site. The family that own the site are so friendly and helpful. The site is very easy to find with great access. The pitches are spacious with easy access for water etc.... We brought the eggs and they were delicious so much so we brought a dozen home. The homemade jam is delicious too. Very dog friendly with great walking straight from the site which is just fantastic. The 1000 acre wood was stunning as the bluebells were out and we walked for miles. We walked over the fields and bridleways and along the white horse trails with spectacular views. This is an awesome site, don't really want to tell anyone about it as its so fantastic and we want to keep it all to ourselves but just have to leave a review so everyone else can experience what we have. Thank you so much for having us, can't wait to return which we will.

Kimmo

Reviewed on 20/05/2018 15:54

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Gem of a CL Site!

What a lovely cl site! Easy to find with good access. Had the choice of which pitch to set-up on. Very long field with very large pitches. The field was mown and extremely well-kept. Our dog was made more than welcome and there are two dog walks right where the site is and many more in the near vacinity. It is adjacent to a 1,000acre Forestry Commision woods. The area is very peaceful and you have no doubt that you are away from built-up areas. We had no trouble getting a satellite tv signal either. The gentleman that greeted us was very helpful and friendly, Tom, as was the lady who owns Bayardo Farm, Shirley. LOVE this little gem of a site. Value for money - without a doubt. Will definitely be back! A BIG THUMBS-UP FROM US! 😁👍🏼

Catherine2565

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/05/2018 13:57

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer