Bayardo Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Disappointing.

We were very excited and looking forward to our stay on this very highly reviewed site. We found it with no difficulty, but were slightly perturbed on entry by the foot long grass. However, reassured by the affirmations that this was well drained ground which never floods, we drove through the gateway into the field - only to get stuck immediately in very heavy mud. Clearly this happens frequently - the very lovely owner dragged us and our unit out (however his hearing aid meant he didn’t hear my husband say he was ready and dragged our automatic before he had the opportunity to put it out of park). We decided to stay only one night. I wish we hadn’t. The EHU was completely inadequate. We had to run the fridge, water heating and heater on gas. Even this shorted out several times meaning my husband had to trek across the field numerous times. If you like wild camping in the middle of nowhere with a very narrow road to negotiate en route towards civilisation then this is for you. At £12 a night, frankly I expected better. We’ve stayed on secluded CLs up and down the country and have paid less for far more. The owners are lovely but perhaps they now need assistance maintaining the site. We won’t return.

Response from the Club:

Many thanks for leaving a review. The CL owners have been in touch as they work really hard to maintain the site and were sorry that you did not enjoy your stay. The entrance to the site is 18 foot wide with double gates leading onto a country road. The electricity is 10 amps or more depending on the pitch you use. Unfortunately there was a fault on the electric point on your pitch which has now been fixed and they sincerely apologise. If they had been aware you were having issues this would have been investigated during your stay and they would have allocated you another pitch. You may need a 4 x 4 with good tyre tread if you want a grass pitch in the winter. We are pleased that you found the CL owners helpful and friendly, they work really hard to ensure people have the best possible time on their site. We hope this addresses your concerns and thank you again for leaving a review.

 

Furryfen

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/11/2017 17:48

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Shhhh, don't tell anyone.

Please don't tell many folks about this gem of a place. I don't want too many members overbooking this fabulous location. Let's keep it to ourselves, but this location is very quiet, has its resident two hares running around the field, so drive with care. The owners couldn't be more fab u lus, in my opinion. Love em. Close to Marlborough, and right on the doorstep of some wonderful walking country. I defy anyone, not to fall in love with this place

TeardropJeff

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/07/2017 19:32

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

wonderful welcome and site

This site is a real gem in the heart of Wiltshire, we had a great week here the family were very welcoming and informative about the local area. Very quiet and peaceful, there is no mobile signal but that is more of a benefit once you get used to it - just the place to relax and enjoy the surroundings. Its a great location for visiting the attractions in the area. The Caen locks on the Kennet and Avon canal were well worth a visit.

kgreen271056

Reviewed on 20/09/2016 22:44

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful rural site

We always have a wonderful welcome from the four generations of this lovely farming family! This site is close enough to Marlborough for all that it offers but gives access to superb dog walking, either on the Marlborough Downs or the adjacent woods. The views over the Pewsey Vale must be some of the best in the country. This weekend, as usual, we have seen hares and deer. The site is well-kept, quiet and peaceful. We cannot rate it highly enough and it is always a pleasure to be here! 

FirstClass

Reviewed on 25/07/2016 11:11

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wow

Wow, excellent peace and quiet. Fantastic, and the real gem here is the fabulous Mrs Bull, who cannot be more wonderful.

TeardropJeff

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/07/2016 15:53

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect Escape

From the moment I called Mrs Bull I had a great feeling about this place & I wasn't disappointed. I asked if we could arrive late as we had a long trip with the ever troublesome M6 & M5. Mrs Bull was far more accommodating than most & advised me it was no problem. Even in the dark I had no problems locating the mains hook up and leveling the van. In the morning our children (2 & 5 years old) were delighted to have a whole field in which to run about and explore. The peace was only broken by the chorus of birdsong and there is no traffic noise. Yes TV reception is difficult as is mobile phone coverage but why would that bother most? As a child caravanning with my parents in the 60s, 70s & 80s we didn't have these luxuries and to us this weekend it made no impact on our enjoyment. The electric supply never tripped (we had a hairdryer, heating, lighting & kettle all operating at one time. In the afternoon sunshine my wife, our children and I sat enjoying the view over the fields. Waste disposal is easy with a relatively light manhole cover and easy drainage. Plenty of bins too. Easy access from the A345 and a wide gate were also nice. I am a Wiltshire lad and often visit my relatives in the area and when I said to my children we'll return to this site soon they cheered with excitement. Full marks to Mrs Bull & her daughter for a lovely welcome too.

CCMG

Reviewed on 20/06/2016 17:30

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

No services

there is absolutely no TVs reception and no mobile phone reception. The electric is limited supply,and keeps tripping. Caravans in storage on the site not caravan club members were brought onto site,for their owners and given satellite dishes .Caravan Club members were not loaned them. When I mentioned to the site owners that the site description did not mention no TV or phone signal they became defensive . Would not recommend this site

 

Message from The Club

Thank you for your review. We’re glad to hear that you enjoyed your time in the area. We regret to hear, however, that you did not feel the quality of the site as up to standard. We would welcome you to contact us directly if you wish to discuss your experience in further detail. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to experience the high standard of service we have become known for.

Sincerely,

Bayardo Farm

DavR

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/06/2016 15:29

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Into a quieter, gentler time.

On arrival it is a good idea to go to the farmhouse and meet Mr/Mrs Bull. These are two very hospitable and helpful people - nothing was too much trouble, even when I tripped the electric circuit twice. (Entirely my fault!) Depending on your point-of-view, this site benefits from quite limited TV and mobile phone reception. Vodafone does get a signal, but not to data capability. This is a place to catch-up on reading or a TV series you have on DVD or some real peace and quiet. It's possible to experience a quieter, gentler time and really get away from it all.   Part of the site has a bit of a slope so this should be allowed-for. Nearer the gate end it is quite flat. Nearby there are quite a number of ancient archeological sites that are definitely worth a visit. Avebury Ring is the best known, but if not a member of the National Trust it can be quite expensive. Marlborough is a charming Market town where no visit is complete without a visit to The Polly Tea Rooms - another visit to a quieter, gentler time!! If you're trying to get-away-from-it-all, but not too far away, this site is hard to beat. As for Mr & Mrs Bull - it's worth staying here just to meet these two delightful people!

DavidNKidd

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/04/2016 19:28

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Autumn Colours

This large all grass CL is easily access, being about 1/2ml off the Marlborough/Pewsey road and about 3 mls away from Marlborough. It is situated adjacent to the farmhouse and slopes in two directions so levelling blocks are essential. There is a hard byway leading from the site along the edge of West Wood which is ideal for walking ones dog(s). There are also walks along the field edges behind the site. The woods, which were ablaze with colour last week, have numerous paths and bridleways, and with the byway, is ideal for the off-road cyclists. Marlborough has a Tesco supermarket, as well as many independent shops. The one drawback, for some, is that phone reception is poor and there's no TV reception at all, which of course adds to the peacefulness of the site. We will certainly use this site in the future because of it's proximity to many places of interest. 

Comment from The Club

hi Nelliethehooker

thanks for your feedback regarding Bayardo Farm.  The CL owners have been in touch as they want to address your concerns as they make every effort to ensure people have the best possible time at their site.  Mr Bull has advised me that the satellite signal is excellent and you need a mini dish and a receiving box.  Several other reviews further down this page also mention this.  Regarding the mobile phone the signal does vary according to which provider you are with.  I hope this helps to address and answer your concerns  thanks again for leaving a review

nelliethehooker

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/10/2015 22:05

163 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A friendly and relaxing CL.

We found the Bayardo Farm site a well established, traditional Cl as near to the original concept as you get; a rural, tranquil site with a very warm welcome. The field is 1 acre so there is plenty of room for 5 vans/ motorhomes and an over provision of electric points means that no bunching occurs. The grass is kept short and whole site is very well maintained to a high standard. Our two border collies were welcome and a woodland track adjacent to the farm provides a handy dog walk. We were very taken by the tranquillity of the site and were impressed by the variety of wild animals and birds, the hares were our favourite. There are beautiful walks to be had direct from the CL with many more a short drive away. Within easy reach are Salisbury, Stonehenge, Avebury, Lacock, Silbury Hill and other interesting places. The tariff for Bayardo is very reasonable and fair. With no additional fees for awnings, dogs etc. Would we recommend this site? Absolutely. We hope to see you there. :0)

KarenandSteve

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/06/2015 12:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer