Cowdale Hall Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice Small CL

We booked this CL as a 4 night stop, on the way there was road closures so ended up going thro Buxton in really heave rain then i took a wrong turn off the A6 up to the site which I would NOT recommend to any one, on arrival we were met by Andrew who told us where to park , nice new mobile toilet block and showers, very wet ground on the site as it was & had been heavy rain, we did manage to get out a couple of times walking, Andrew & Lucy was very pleasant and helpful, electric was on a meter pitch price included toilet and showers also awning, the only thing was all though the toilet block was kept clean the waste bins were not emptied while we were there.

kiters

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/11/2023 13:53

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A lovely small CL

Stayed for 6 nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Great base for visiting different places in the Peak District. Owners very helpful. The shower block is immaculate and there's no extra charge. The electricity is metered and we spent £28 over the 6 nights. This meant it worked out at £24.50 per night. The owners have plans to increase the the size of the site slightly which will make it even better.

johngillie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/07/2023 21:33

17 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Weeks stay for walking in the area

Really good site, friendly, helpful, good value, great shower, hot as soon as you run it and the toilet kept very clean. We had some friends visit us on site and nothing was an issue for the owners. The guy that runs the site was exceptionally keen to refund us an overpayment as the website mentions £3.00 an awning. He explained this was old information and he made sure we were provided a refund. It is a working farm and the horses and lambs are in the next field, beautiful. About 3 miles away from Buxton, good shops, including Morrisons etc. Would definitely stay again when next in the area.

karen duggan

Reviewed on 03/07/2023 17:49

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Second Time Lucky

Having had to cancel a previously planned visit we spent 2 nights here Lovely location with walks directly from the site and a lovely circular dog walk around the farm Easy walk to Buxton and a not so easy walk to the Monsal Trail ! Great welcome and really helpful getting us onto pitch in the soft ground Lovely shower block and loved our stay here Thanks ZIggy Pilote

ScreenName61FC6B975E

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/05/2023 16:16

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

First Time, Won't be the Last

First CL we've used and won't be the last, we like the idea of small sites. Friendly arrival and shown to our pitch on the grass field. They have finished a couple of hard standings and have a couple left to do for the wetter months. Lovely new toilet and shower block with plenty of hot water. All pitches have electric if required via a pre-paid card, put how much you want on it and then get what you haven't used back on the morning of your departure. We had an hour stroll into Buxton through the viaduct with a cuppa on the way. A great place to base yourself for a few days or use as a stopover. Will be back later in the year

PlugSteph

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/04/2023 21:50

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peak Stop

2 nights here, lovely welcome, working farm so take your wellies, quirky Shower block but warm & hot water so all Good Hook up pay as you go which make you more aware of your usage so no problem there

HazJerRob

Reviewed on 02/03/2023 13:19

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

We stayed for one night in September. The site is one field with 5 pitches. Lovely welcome and friendly owners. Great peaceful location. Nice walk into Buxton across the fields. Shower, toilet, sink x2 (ladies & gents). Spotlessly clean & included in price. Good walk for the dog on site. Would definitely stay again.

us2outandabout

Campervanner

Reviewed on 11/09/2022 20:19

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

"EXACTLY WHAT IT SAYS ON THE TIN"

Our first, but definitely not the last, visit to this very nice CL that proved to be exactly what we hoped for given the description. We had a great pitch in the corner of the field, giving us un-interrupted views over the farm land and the surrounding country side. Described as a working farm we expected and got to see a variety of animals, including horses, ponies, sheep and chicken's running free (don't forget to pre order your eggs if you are visiting. Delicious!!) and I even got to see a deer whilst walking on one of the public footpaths which go right from the farm entrance. Whilst there was a fair bit of work activity going on daily, most of which was maintenance and improvement of the farm complex, it didn't have any negative impact on our peace and relaxation. The shower and toilet facilities were excellent, better than I have seen on many more bigger and more expensive sites, with plenty of hot water. Andrew. Lucy and Sandy (Andrew's mum), who own and run the site are welcoming and very helpful with a good local knowledge of the area. We had a great time and will be back. Thank you.

CBDG

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/07/2022 14:43

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice but

We had a nice welcome from the owner. The entrance is very scruffy, and as you drive on you wonder what you’ve let yourself in for. The surrounding scenery is beautiful and you can walk around the perimeter of the farm with your dog. The toilets and showers were immaculate, with plenty of hot water in the shower. The actual site is tiny, with four vans on we were all next to each other! The reality of the site is nothing like the photo. For this reason we would not return, as we like a lot more space.

QFour

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/06/2022 07:54

31 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Back to nature just outside Buxton

The Managers/Owners were more than welcoming and if you like a busy working farm this site is first class. Shetland ponies to Thoroughbreds, sheep, cows, cat, dogs, resident owl, chicken, with 5am rooster, but really this site is great. The facilities are adequate and clean.

maurcepeters

Reviewed on 27/10/2021 13:44

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer