Fishers Field

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site in a beautiful area

We were here for a week late April, weather was cold, but mostly dry. Never even saw the owners, but that was OK for us, we knew where they were if we needed them. Suffolk is such a beautiful area and the site was quiet & peaceful. We loved Southwold, Aldeburgh, Snape Maltings, Dunwich beach (& cafe!), Sizewell Beach (& cafe!). The pub at the end of the road served very tasty food, freshly cooked and the real ales went down very well. All in all a very relaxing break and I'm sure we'll be back at some point...thanks.

cazel

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/05/2024 15:32

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Suffolk Serenity

This site is an absolute gem set in rural Suffolk. When we arrived Neil was in his garden and he came to welcome us. He offered us two pitches and when we asked if it was possible to pitch along the garden fence adjacent to the toilet/shower block he could not have been more helpful, running an extension lead and 13amp adaptors from his shed to our pitch. Care is needed when entering the site through the 5-bar gate (especially if you have an 8ft wide caravan) but once on site there is ample room between pitches. The site is level, free draining and surrounded by hedgerows which attract birds. Water hook up woukd make it perfect but it wasn’t difficult to keep the barrels filled from our pitch. The toilet/shower wet room facilities are excellent for a CL, with adjacent grey and blackwater disposal and recycling bins. From the site there is access to several local walks and dog owners on site made use of them. At night, with clear dark skies the stars above lit up the sky giving us great views of the constellations and Milky Way. It was good to be on a site where the other campers did not have their outfits lit up like Blackpool Tower! Theberton is a perfect location to reach Southwold, Aldburgh and of cord RSPB Minsmere where spent two days. We did not eat at the local pub, The Lion, but did eat at The Bell, Middleton, which was very good and on Thursday evening we were entertained by local musicians. The medieval church in Theberton is also worth visiting, a short walk from the site. Leiston is two miles away with a selection of shops and takeaways should you need them and an Esso service station on Saxmundham Road selling the cheapest fuel locally. Sizewell B nuclear power station is just a couple of miles away and you can here a low humming but this did not impact on the peace and tranquility. Overall, a great place to go and Suffolk is now our “Happy Place”! We are already planning on visiting again next year.

P and C on tour

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/09/2023 11:21

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site in set in beautiful Suffolk countryside

Spent three enjoyable nights at Fishers Field in early May. Site is on the outskirts of Theberton on a quiet country lane so very peaceful. There’s a fairly large field with three hard standings and plenty of space to pitch on the grass. Two wet room style showers are located on one corner of the site each with shower, toilet and basin. The Suffolk coast is only a few miles away and there’s plenty of quiet lanes for cycling and walking. We cycled about six or seven miles up the coast to Dunwhich, a quiet village with a beach and café. There’s also an interesting museum about the cold war located about twelve miles south at the old Bentwaters USAF base which is worth a visit. As usual I’ve made a video of the site which can show it better than I can describe it in words. https://youtu.be/JdR-QU6hG4Y

DavyVan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/05/2023 15:52

40 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent First Trip of 2023

Fishers Field proved to be an excellent choice for our first trip away this year. A lovely big field with firm grass and 3 hard standings ( we had one of them, nearest to the amenities block, which was very well thought out and convenient). Neil welcomed us on arrival and was a pleasant host. We were extremely lucky with the weather, with rain mainly in the evenings! As we are keen walkers, there are plenty of footpaths close by. We did 3 lovely walks around Eastbridge, Sizewell (seeing some of the preparatory wildlife reserve works) Minsmere Sluice and back to the wonderful Eels Foot; Leiston (circular) and Dunwich Heath, ranging from 8 to 9 miles each. The Lion Inn, just 300 yards back down Church Road is a wonderful local, village pub, with great beers, superb food and a friendly, welcoming atmosphere. We ate there on 2 nights and the Steak & Ale Pie, Fishcakes and the Fish and Chips were great value for money. As it is just 2 hours from home, we will certainly be back!

ChrisK56

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/03/2023 15:38

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site

This is a wonderful site with excellent facilities. It is very quiet and secluded with plenty of space. The toilet block has wet rooms and are the best we have experiences on a site this size. The location is great. There are a lot of footpaths and excellent walking straight from the door. It is also a very good area for cycling with lots of very quiet back roads. The local pub, the Lion, is first class offering a range of great beers and really good food. We will be returning.

ScreenNameE626FC2AF7

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/06/2022 16:15

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect for me and the mutts

Early Nov 2020 visit cut short by the lockdown. Only me and a motorhome there, no awnings so seemed very spacious. Hard standing, clean facilities tho block could do with an extractor or vent. Great walks from site or a couple of minutes in the car. Also large area on site to exercise the dogs. All in all a great stay.

Dooley dog

Reviewed on 24/07/2021 07:43

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A bit cramped!

Stayed mid June. A lovely site, easy access and great facilities in a beautiful area. However there were six outfits on site which made it feel crowded, we heard others comment on this. The wet room was good but one suggestion - a wall mounted or floor standing toilet roll holder would make a difference rather than loo roll sitting on damp areas! The area is fabulous and lots to see and with beautiful scenery and villages. Good shopping facilities within a short drive or cycle ride. Main criticism was the spacing, we pick CL's because they only allow five outfits and a decent amount of space between is important to us.

IainandJaneC

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 11:51

4 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Pleasant CL

This was our first visit to this site. Had good email contact before arrival & the directions were easy to follow & site easy to find. The field was surrounded by wild flowers which was lovely & the walk out the back was very pleasant. Plenty of hand sanitizer by the facilities & the wet rooms were good. However I was disappointed to see the rubbish disposal was left to overflow & seeing how hot the weather was for the second half of the week was not a good idea at all. Also there were 6 vans on site for one of the nights which apparently is not unusual. The site is ideally situated for local attractions & walkable to the local pub. We did not see the owner the whole time we were there.

Fishycaravanner

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/07/2021 13:37

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good CL

Another visit to this CL with excellent facilities. Positioned with easy access, plenty of space (but would suggest pitch markers due to position of EHUs). Local pub, Theberton Lion, has new cook since our last visit and produces excellent menus, highly recommended! Ideal site for local places of interest, Provisions from Co-op and good little shops in Leiston. Recommend Thorpeness, Aldburgh (the fish and chips) Dunwich (free parking and fish and chips) Saxmundon (Tesco and Waitrose) and Halesworth (shops). Good value site for £18 per night with well kept toilet/shower facilities. Thanks Neil and Gwendoline

JollyHolly

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/06/2021 11:02

3 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely CL Site

We have just visited this CL site, with adequate room for 5 vans. The toilets/wetrooms are spotless with plenty of sanitizer. Covid rules displayed on site. We had a pleasant stay here and walked to the nearby pub for a drink. There were some nice places to visit, not too far, and large enough car park space to park our Motorhome. We didn't meet Mr Dougal on our stay, but this seems to be the case on some CL sites. Site fees to be put into box, but I will say, It would be nice to receive confirmation of payment at some stage. Mr & Mrs. Wilkins

pwllmawr1

Reviewed on 19/06/2021 17:50

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer