Hamilton Farm Airfield and CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Worth the wait

This CL is often hard to book because it’s so popular, and it’s not hard to see why! We took the plunge and booked 11 months in advance because all weekend dates we’d tried last year were already booked up so we couldn’t get in. This site is what all CL should aspire to. Basic but clean and well maintained facilities, and the pitches are great. Level and sectioned with screening bushes / quite newly planted trees. Welcoming hosts and respectful fellow campers. It was simply great! Arrival for us was fine. Richard came along as I was looking a bit confused about where to go. I shouldn’t have been though as there is a board in the ‘office/info’ room with a map of pitches that detailed which we were on (great idea!). We were given lots of into about the site itself and the local area, and made to feel very welcome. There was an event on in an adjacent field for the weekend so we were able to watch a glider competition (mini gliders, I’m not sure what you’d call them but they were remote controlled). When that had finished we were treated to a fab bi-plane acrobatic display. This has been, by far the BEST CL we’ve been to and we would not hesitate to recommend it. If you can get a spot here, book it!!!!

bankofmumndad

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/07/2022 13:17

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely place!

My wife and I broke our CL duck with Hamilton Farm. Wow! The bar has been set very high. A friendly greeting, good facilities and a lovely spot with easy access to places of interest. A free aerobatic display on several occasions was the icing on the cake.

ScreenName52FBC1B7B9

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/07/2022 19:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquillity Base

We have just spent 12 nights at this beautiful CL. It's the first time in 22years of caravanning that we felt we didn't want to leave. The large pitches offer rural relaxation with wonderful views. The site abounds with lovely walks and an abundance of wildlife. Fantastic for fans of fishing or flying. Fish & Chips delivered to your pitch weekly too!! Richard and his wife are the perfect hosts.

geoffreson

Reviewed on 24/06/2022 11:50

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

A really nice CL with a good reception from Richard who made sure we knew where everything was including the small room with useful information for caravaneers (including walks in the local area). Richard even provides a service of delivering fish and chips once a week, although we didn’t take him up on that offer. Bathroom facilities were nice with separate toilet and shower available for both males and females, always clean and tidy. The difference with this site is the attention to detail from the little signs around the site that have been chosen with care to fit in with the site eg the toilet signs with an ‘airfield theme’ to the pond in the corner with chairs where you can sit a night with a glass of wine. The only negative for us was the number of outfits on site over the (bank holiday) weekend, across the two fields. Having more than 5 outfits meant the site lost the ‘vibe’ of a CL and slight wait for the bathroom.

Parky2

Reviewed on 29/05/2022 09:34

15 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect First Stay

Hamilton Farm CL, our first ever C & MH C stay and what a perfect start to our campervan career! Beautifully peaceful, spotless pitch and facilities , warm welcome and although only one night stay was heavenly. Your pitch details are on the board behind the door as you enter reception. Will definitely return, a big thank you to Richard, Honfleur recommendation was also perfect.

Lady Penelope 35

Campervanner

Reviewed on 11/05/2022 10:09

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tried a lot of the rest - this is the BEST!

I know it's a bit late to write this review - but we have done a fair bit of travelling around the country this year - mainly staying at cl's, and now, having time to reflect, can safely say - Hamilton Farm is the best! If you have an interest in aircraft, like fishing, enjoy walks from site, good size level pitches with hook ups and facilities - this is it! Richard and his wife are the most perfect hosts, welcoming and ensuring you have the perfect stay. Looking forward to our next visit this year.

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a gem!

We don’t want to sound like a broken record, but like many other reviews, Hamilton Farm is a hidden gem! Richard and Julie could not be more welcoming, helpful and accommodating. The site is well thought out and cared for, with lovely toilet/shower facilities, gorgeous views and tranquility across the 70 acres. The added bonus was the chance to watch your very own air show, where Richard took his stunt plane up; just super to watch! We even tried the fish foot challenge, as well as the 3 mile walk to see the priory. It really is a ‘must visit’ if you want a stay filled with calm country serenity and we can’t wait to return next year. Thank you Richard and Julie

ScreenName5A6C297B36

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 11:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing site

We went with our caravan and as advised by Richard used the directions from the book and found the place easily. Didn't get there till 8p.m and in the pouring rain Richard was there and greeted us. Tge sites so well kept and so so peaceful. It was our anniversary weekend so we went to Port lympne animal reserve wow that was awesome and only 9 minutes drive away. Highly recommend this campsite. Go, you certainly won't regret it

curlywurly49

Motorhomer from West Sussex

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 18:04

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil and interesting.

What a fabulous site! We stayed at the Hamilton Farm Airfield and CL site for 8 nights and we were sad to leave it! We were welcomed by Richard the owner, who gave us a comprehensive tour of the site and were then given a choice of pitches; all of which were spacious. The meadow we were in was surrounded by lush farmland and wildflowers; attracting birds, butterflies and other wildlife. There is a purpose built nature reserve/ bird hide over looking a pond where it was pleasant to sit out and enjoy the extensive flora and fauna. The well stocked fishing ponds were a tranquil way to pass a couple of hours and learn some tips from the professionals! During our time there we felt privileged to experience the flights of various light aircraft taking off and landing from the airstrip in the field. Richard who is skilled at aerobatics performed some amazingly death defying stunts in his bi-plane too! It was simply breathtaking! In the evenings we were treated to a visit from the ‘barn owl in residence’ who flew by us at close quarters most nights. Wednesday is ‘fish & chip night’, and Richard comes around to take your order then collects them from the local village and delivers to your van. They were superb. All in all a first class site! We will definitely be returning!

ScreenName3BA4BC47B8

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 13:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic little site

Just had 3 fantastic weeks at this lovely CL site. What a gem, beautiful location on a private airfield, there are toilets and a shower, washing up facilities as well. Some caravans are around the large fishing pool, where my husband spent many hours 😂 We were pitched in the meadow, with a great view if the planes taxing to the runway, they came past our caravan and we just loved that. Richard the owner of the site is a lovely friendly chap, who stunt flies his plane over our heads, our own private air show! He even collects your fish & chip order on a Wednesday. We have been to many CL sites and this is definitely one of our top five, and will return when ever we can. See if the owl flies for you every evening, a real treat.. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

marauderxl

Reviewed on 25/07/2021 22:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer