Hamilton Farm Airfield and CL

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What a gem!

We don’t want to sound like a broken record, but like many other reviews, Hamilton Farm is a hidden gem! Richard and Julie could not be more welcoming, helpful and accommodating. The site is well thought out and cared for, with lovely toilet/shower facilities, gorgeous views and tranquility across the 70 acres. The added bonus was the chance to watch your very own air show, where Richard took his stunt plane up; just super to watch! We even tried the fish foot challenge, as well as the 3 mile walk to see the priory. It really is a ‘must visit’ if you want a stay filled with calm country serenity and we can’t wait to return next year. Thank you Richard and Julie

ScreenName5A6C297B36

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 11:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Amazing site

We went with our caravan and as advised by Richard used the directions from the book and found the place easily. Didn't get there till 8p.m and in the pouring rain Richard was there and greeted us. Tge sites so well kept and so so peaceful. It was our anniversary weekend so we went to Port lympne animal reserve wow that was awesome and only 9 minutes drive away. Highly recommend this campsite. Go, you certainly won't regret it

Lozola

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 18:04

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil and interesting.

What a fabulous site! We stayed at the Hamilton Farm Airfield and CL site for 8 nights and we were sad to leave it! We were welcomed by Richard the owner, who gave us a comprehensive tour of the site and were then given a choice of pitches; all of which were spacious. The meadow we were in was surrounded by lush farmland and wildflowers; attracting birds, butterflies and other wildlife. There is a purpose built nature reserve/ bird hide over looking a pond where it was pleasant to sit out and enjoy the extensive flora and fauna. The well stocked fishing ponds were a tranquil way to pass a couple of hours and learn some tips from the professionals! During our time there we felt privileged to experience the flights of various light aircraft taking off and landing from the airstrip in the field. Richard who is skilled at aerobatics performed some amazingly death defying stunts in his bi-plane too! It was simply breathtaking! In the evenings we were treated to a visit from the ‘barn owl in residence’ who flew by us at close quarters most nights. Wednesday is ‘fish & chip night’, and Richard comes around to take your order then collects them from the local village and delivers to your van. They were superb. All in all a first class site! We will definitely be returning!

ScreenName3BA4BC47B8

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/08/2021 13:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic little site

Just had 3 fantastic weeks at this lovely CL site. What a gem, beautiful location on a private airfield, there are toilets and a shower, washing up facilities as well. Some caravans are around the large fishing pool, where my husband spent many hours 😂 We were pitched in the meadow, with a great view if the planes taxing to the runway, they came past our caravan and we just loved that. Richard the owner of the site is a lovely friendly chap, who stunt flies his plane over our heads, our own private air show! He even collects your fish & chip order on a Wednesday. We have been to many CL sites and this is definitely one of our top five, and will return when ever we can. See if the owl flies for you every evening, a real treat.. Thank you for a fabulous stay.

marauderxl

Reviewed on 25/07/2021 22:55

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A delightful weekend!

Upon arrival I was personally delighted at the smell and cleanliness of the showers/toilets and it only got better from there! The paddock was a lovely spot with open fields and stunning sun-sets! - we were even graced with a beautiful barn owl each night making the rounds for its dinner. Richard the owner was an absolute Gem and made us feel so welcome. My husband soon found a nice spot by one of the lakes and I was very pleased that this kept him occupied whilst I embraced the sun and a good book! The two dogs had a great time too- exploring the surrounding fields and as an added bonus we got to see a number of planes and even a short "stunt show" from Richard the owner. We will definitely be going back!

RobEm

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/07/2021 19:58

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and Friendly

I stayed here in June 2020. I was pleased by the friendly and casual nature of the place. I've often found many sites to be annoyingly restrictive and smack you with rules and stiffness. This site was a breath of fresh air - in every sense of the word. I met Richard the owner, a very relaxed, helpful and friendly chap, who is rightly proud of his site. We often chatted away about everything and anything. His wife is helpful and they have the cutest soft wolf/dog. The other guests were friendly and very relaxed. The highlight must be the fish feet challenge - intrigued? you'll have to come to find out more... A lovely site, beautiful, scenic and relaxing. I'll come again.

Fatsid

Motorhomer from Kent

Reviewed on 04/06/2021 01:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect

Lovely site peaceful, big pitches so lots of room, fishing is excellent, and entertainment, planes taking off and landing hot air balloons and paragliders all in one day, lovely walks with your dog on lead as there are sheep and roaming chickens, but have had a lovely week if you could sort the weather next time as well please!!

GFC Postie

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 30/05/2021 18:34

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Brilliant

Our first time on a CL site and this one was absolutely brilliant. Very friendly people, dogs and chickens! Superb location, very peaceful and aircraft to watch as well. Couldn't have asked for more. Thank you Richard, we will be back!

greenapple182

Caravanner from Kent

Reviewed on 27/05/2021 16:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A wonderful CL site

We had our first visit to Hamilton Farm CL site just after the Easter break in April 2021 It’s been one of the best CL sites we have visited and a wonderful welcome by the owner Richard. If you love fishing they have a number of lakes and being a private airfield you have the occasional small aircraft visit if you a into theses activities which we are. The pitch is yours to set up as you want without it being to regimented. Being adult only it was very quiet and relaxing so much so that we will be going back next year again. Thanks to Richard for your hospitality. Yours CJ and JT

Jolly John 1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/05/2021 09:10

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Can’t wait to go back!

We arrived on Friday and was shown to our pitch by Richard (we were on number 2) which is right opposite the fishing lake and fields. 75 acres of fields and lakes, you are free to roam the whole place including the fields with the sheep, lovely area to walk your dogs. Also free range chickens and roosters so you are asked to keep your dogs on dogs a lead. The chickens aren’t shy either. There is an old WW2 landing strip on site with small airplanes still landing there and We were lucky enough to see a couple land/take off. The showers were closed (covid) but toilets and washing up facilities were open and extremely clean. This is a very laid back adults only site and we can’t wait to return. Thanks Richard

ScreenName8B24111C2E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/05/2021 14:27

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer