Holly Oak Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site. A hidden gem.

This site is just how you imagine a CL to be. Easy access from the road which leads into large field with fruit trees. Bring a long enough lead and you can park where you like. Several EHU points and the waste and fresh water area in the corner. Vera the owner is lovely and likes a good chat. Only ¾ mile from the beautiful unspoilt town of Thaxted. Lots of lovely villages within easy driving distance but don't go to Finchingfield on Sundays as it's full of motorcycles and limited parking. Plenty of walks from the site too. Some road noise and as it's on the flight path for Stansted expect noise from aircraft coming into land. However we soon ignored that. Thoroughly recommend this site and we'll definitely be returning.

Skiphunter

Caravanner from Lincolnshire

Reviewed on 08/09/2021 14:28

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Restful

The other reports said it all, a nice quiet site, we even heard owls at night, If you take 2 power leads you can pitch where you like. Even had a few apples and plums from trees on site. Easy access to the local villages and amenities. Thaxted has a choice of 4 pubs serving food.

micky1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/08/2020 06:39

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Well kept lovely site.

Beautiful well kept site, short grass (looks like someones lawn at the entrance to the field)! Lots of trees and birds and the odd deer! Everything kept neat and tidy including the recycling centre and rubbish bins. Lots of space for the grandchildren to run around. Aeroplanes were absolutely no problem at all. Will definitely be back.

Stock Village

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/04/2019 14:59

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect

Mrs Sorrell is a lovely helpful lady. Lovely site peaceful with lots of lovely walks. Really enjoyed our stay and will be back.

Natatam

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/11/2018 15:56

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Spot On!

The recent reviews say it all really. We stayed for five nights recently as an end of season break. Yes, there were aircraft coming in for Stansted but they were interesting to watch and made no noise worth mentioning, so not a problem for us. The CL and its surroundings are kept in very good condition and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay - full credit to Mrs Sorrell. Easy access to public footpaths and good for those who like to walk their dog in the countryside. Thaxted is about 20 minutes' walk using the road and it is well worth visiting. The church is remarkable for a large village in a rural setting.

Paulles

Caravanner from Suffolk

Reviewed on 03/11/2017 17:10

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Only an overnighter

We only booked the day before but Mrs Sorrell was very helpful and friendly. We popped in to Thaxted on the way to the site and can recommend a stroll through the little town with its ancient guild hall, windmill, quaint alms houses and Dick Turpins Cottage. We had a very reasonable meal in the Swan pub, opposite the church. There is also the added bonus of a free car park, with a dedicated area for motorhomes/caravans - thank you Thaxted Parish Council! Wished we had more time at Holly Oak Farm, it was peaceful and in a lovely location. There looked to be plenty of footpaths for a great walk. We certainly hope to go back next year, for a little longer.

eviebobs

Reviewed on 27/10/2017 18:55

9 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant little site

Just got back from a very relaxing weekend away at this lovely rural CL. Access is fairly straight forward, with wide openings and lots of room to come and go, finding your way shouldn't prove difficult either. The site looks to have once been an orchard, consisting of mown grass, a few fruit trees while being bounded on all sides by hedging. Pitching is very generous, there are three well space posts with two outlets each, allowing for a great deal of personal space, and if like us you carry a couple of leads you can generally pitch anywhere you like. The very friendly owner told us to do just that, and to not worry about arrival or departure times, mainly because it wasn't at all busy, but it still made for a relaxing break, especially when it came to packing away time. The usual facilities are provided with an additional recycling point, which is always welcome these days. Set in one of the boundary hedges is a pedestrian gate, which leads to a network of footpaths around the area, from where we enjoyed some great walks amongst the North Essex countryside. Nearby Thaxted is a pretty little village, boasting a couple of decent pubs, some shops, a chippy and a petrol station. Some people have mentioned the aircraft noise, but as most people say it really isn't a problem, unless you are trying to be picky that is. All in all a site to be recommended, if you have dogs, children or are just wanting to get away from it all, you couldn't do much better than choose to stay here.

pkw4647

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 23/08/2017 19:21

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

We stayed here for 1 night to break our journey homeward. Lovely and quiet site with direct access to footpaths to take you into the village. Lovely church and windmill. Take note of the directions to the site as our sat nav took us off route on a small lane. Very good value. 

sueandstevec

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/09/2015 21:16

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site

Visit regularly throughout the year. I've never suffered from any noise problems and have always had a very warm welcome. Great dog walks and scenery - views over Thaxted from nearby footpaths. The site isn't directly under the flightpath and I've never been disrupted by aircraft noise. There is more noise in the town itself where the aircraft do overfly directly. Always a lovely peaceful and friendly stay and this is one of my favourite local sites. 

garpster

Motorhomer from Essex

Reviewed on 15/03/2015 18:44

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

So good, I stayed longer!

I stayed here in July, when i was on my way to Constable county, but never got there.  I had the site to myself and the weather was superb!  I was struck down with a tummy bug, but as the site was so relaxing, tranquil and beautiful, I decided to stay to get over the bug.  I'm glad I did, as it gave me more time to enjoy the location and nearby village.  

flumpetting

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/11/2014 14:01

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer