Kahana

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

ABSOLUTELY SUPERB SITE

We stayed 2 nights. On arrival we met by one of the people who run the site who was very friendly and helpful. The site is very spacious, very clean and well kept. The pitches are massive with 16 amp hook ups. The water supply and chemical toilet disposal were well situated and well kept. Everything was just perfect and we will definitely return as soon as possible. Would recommend this site most highly. I should also mention the pub The Village Maid just ten minutes walk from the site into village of Bradfield. Lovely old pub with a great friendly atmosphere from the landlord and staff. Good real ales and the pub food was outstanding. We ate there bothe nights. would recommend you try it.

williamfjf

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/07/2016 18:35

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect in many ways

When reviewing CL's I try to be constructive and point out things that are not quite right or could be better. Well, I'll be damned if I can find anything bad to say about this CL. The grassed area (well mown whenever we've stayed) is large and easily fits 5 outfits (never seen more) with plenty of room between them. All have EHU. They all face a paddock where a few horses may be kept and the front of your outfit is facing east. There is a high hedge behind you and some trees border the 2 sides. The owners live on, in the house behind the fence. You'll find them friendly but not intrusive. The elsan point and bins are just behind the hedge and are very good. The road outside is quiet and the site is usually peaceful. Can't comment about TV reception as we don't use one but WiFi was OK (bring your own!).  There is a pub about 100 yards away but we prefer the other one in Bradfield further into the village (turn left out of the entrance and left again opposite the Strangers pub). Can't remember name of it but about 10 minute walk.  Manningtree is a short cycle or car ride away as is Dedham and Constable country. There is an RSPB reserve nearby (excellent in Spring). Plus this CL is handy for the Harwich ferry. We've stayed here en route quite a few times and it's only a 15 minute drive to the ferry. Also good for a longer stay with plenty to do and see. A thumbs up, in fact both thumbs up.

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/11/2015 20:12

78 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely well kept site

Great, clean well kept site, peaceful location. Strangers Home Public House just at top of the road, where food and drink could be purchased (although it did get very busy in there). When we visited, the grass was short and plenty of space for us and the other CL visitors.

Wefsmum

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/07/2015 13:52

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our kind of cl

We have just spent four nights here to dip our toes into Essex. We were delighted with everything about this lovely cl. We had a very warm welcome and felt 'at home' immediately. We cycled to the nature reserve, where we were delighted and surprised to see a nightingale. We also cycled to Flatford, an excellent visit. Manningtree is a lovely small town and our exploration of the nearby coastal areas was equally pleasing. A very good, clean and friendly site with large, mown grass pitches. Well worth a visit.

Eddies

Reviewed on 17/06/2015 16:16

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very nice CL

Just what you hope for in a CL - large grass pitches, peace & quiet, with local interest. Only 4 miles from Flatford Mill - a dog friendly National Trust area with well-marked, different length walks. Access to the Essex way from the site - if the farmer hasn't planted over it! The Strangers Home PH is 100 yards up the road - under new management this month, so will wait and see, but was offering all day breakfasts and Sunday lunch for £7.50. 

Polobonnie

Reviewed on 23/03/2015 20:52

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

What more could we ask for in a CL

It was in November 2008 when we were first given a very warm welcome at Kahana by the owners. The site consists of very spacious and well kept grass pitches. The site overlooks horse paddocks, is screened from the road by trees and separated from the owners garden by a high hedge. For those who enjoy a walk a footpath runs from just across the road all the way to the waters edge and back to the village. Alternatively, three miles away is the RSPB reserve with waymarked paths. For those less energetic a stroll round the outside of the paddocks makes an excellent dog walk at the end of the day. The local area offers lots to see and do and we strongly recommend the local village guide book however, we find the site so peaceful we are more likely to be found in a chair with a book. We have found the site fee more attractive than other sites in the area. We have used this site for weekend breaks to fortnight holidays and to date we have spent 108 nights on the site. Our only fear is now that you all know of the site will we be able to get booked in?

Milliemolly

Caravanner from Essex

Reviewed on 07/07/2014 19:59

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful and very attractive site

We stayed only one night as a stopover for the Harwich ferry. The site is spacious and attractive and we immediately felt comfortable here. There was little / no contact with the owners and had to search for them to pay, but all was straightforward and we would definitely use again if in the area.

ElizabethR

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 25/08/2013 11:06

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

September 2012

This is a pleasant site located in a quaint Essex village of Bradfield where all the plots are well sheltered on all sides by a superb selection of trees and mature shrubs. You over look the horse paddock which can be walked all the way round to give your pet a good early morning or late night exercise. There are many places of interest being not far from the historic port of Harwich and the local RSPB reserve at Wrabness. Site owners very friendly and accommodating. Ideal site to get away from it all.

oldsalt45s

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/11/2012 12:41

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer