Kivells

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Idyllic setting, wonderful CL

Sue and I have stayed at many CLs during our caravanning/motorhoming life but few, if any, have come close to this one. Surrounded by wooded hills and farm fields, the CL is a beautifully mown space with specimen trees and bags of space for even the largest outfit (we spotting one caravan with an awning each side, a spreading sitting-out area and still space for the tow-car - and no impingement on neighbouring pitches). There's a field for dog walking with direct access, a games room with table tennis table and a shower and toilet room which is scrupulously clean and would be a credit to any home. Add friendly owners, and what more could you wish for? The access road is typically Cornish (ie narrow) but we coped just fine our 7,25m motorhome, which we used every day on our journeys out and about, only having to do a bit of neat reversing once! We loved this place.

mikemoss

Reviewed on 22/09/2020 18:50

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Thank you

After reading the positive reviews we did have high expectations but we needn’t have worried as they where spot on. The location was excellent and Pete and Melanie couldn’t have been more helpful. It was a brand new caravan and I’d been away from caravanning for a few years so I was a little worried about the roads near the site, but Pete couldn’t have been more helpful and was even waiting for me at my time of departure to help and give advice. We will be back for sure and thank you again for making us so welcome and for all the help. We could see how hard you’ve both worked to make your site so special, it was immaculate, so thank you again and we look forward to seeing you next year!

MarkandWendyRogers

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/08/2019 22:56

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another wonderful break

Always a good holiday here, cant beat it. Met up with regulars which was nice. Pete and Mel lovely folk who are so welcoming. Pete keeps the site well mown and tidy. Our 3 week stay left us wanting more, so peaceful. Lovely field for the dogs to use at side of the site. Please note, no need to use your pitch as a dog toilet. ( seen that happen here and elsewhere) not ideal for others following on. Some lovely places to visit from here, lots of eating stops, shopping good in Wadebridge or further afield in Bodmin.Also a launderette in Wadebridge which is handy for longer stays.

captainslogg

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/07/2019 21:42

7 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Equal top of my CL list

July 19 - 10 days. Huge site , well separated pitches, superbly manicured lawns, very friendly owner, good toilet/shower and other facilities. Goes equal top with my CL's in the last ten years so a great site. Even a gimpy cock pheasant wandering around as well as bunnies and other wild life. Excellent village pub and superb food about 3/4rs mile away, (Mastertons PH), a nice walk. All the coastal bays about 3 miles to the north and some excellent farm lunch shops. Everything can be reached within 4 miles cycling, including Camel trail, Wadebridge and northern beaches but beware the roads are largely single track and lots of ups and downs, so be fit or have an electric bike. The 1.2 mile access to the site after the leaving the main road is a bit scary as few places to pass any other traffic. Polzeath and Port Isaac are musts to visit, certainly cyclable.. No doubt we will be back at some time. Brian and Jenny

Basildonvan

Reviewed on 25/07/2019 10:01

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful seting

Only fair I leave a review on this site which I was hoping to be kept a secret. Too late I fear. What a fantastic, beautiful and quiet tranquil spot. I've been going here for a few years now and its still as beautiful as ever and my favorite site in 40 years of caravanning. Beautiful lawned area with huge pitches separated by trees and shrubs and very sunny, just perfect. On site facilities should you need them include shower and toilet block, games room with table tennis and wi-fi. There is a lovely pub a mile down the road in chapel amble which serves great beer and food. Just remember to book first if your eating. A great location for exploring this part of the Cornish coast ( Padstow, Rock ,Trebarwith, Port Isaac, Tintagel )and all the shopping you may need at nearby Wadebridge. The owners Mel and Peter are very friendly and welcoming and couldn't be more helpful. Thanks to them for another lovely stay, see you next year.

axemanjan

Reviewed on 07/07/2019 16:42

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Cornwall retreat

We have just had a 3 night stay at Kivells and didn't want to leave. Peter and Melanie are such wonderful people, most welcoming, also Peter's Mother. The grounds are amazing and such a pristine lawn, everybody's dream. The site is located down a country lane with many passing places, but please be vigilant. The local birds are a treat to hear and black rabbits wonder around the site. We took our dog who was made very welcome. We picked this site as we had been given Doc Martin walking experience tickets to visit Port Isaac, very worth a trip if you can. We have no negative points at all over our short stay and look forward to returning soon. Once again thank you for a fabulous stay.

norman pas

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/05/2019 17:05

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Large field with plenty of room

There was some confusion about our booking when we arrived (and others apparently) but this was soon sorted. We loved the large field with numerous trees and shrubs for privacy. All facilities were clean and tidy and there was a lovely field to walk the dog. Plenty to do in the area, we walked and cycled a lot and thoroughly enjoyed our stay except for.....On site one couple had two dogs who were running free and believe it or not one was in season!! this not only spoilt our stay but others also commented on the lack of respect for other people with dogs. We spoke to the offending people who just replied "we will try and keep them under control" but no change, my husband actually heard him on the 'phone laughing about the chaos it was causing. Other dogs in the neighbourhood were also paying the site a visit re the dog being in season. Not Pete and Mel's fault but just a couple of bad mannered people who didn't give a damn for other people.

Outdoor Lady

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 07/09/2018 13:08

12 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice place to stay, dogs welcome

I only stayed for two nights but was very happy with here. It's quiet with all the facilities I needed. My only point was that when I arrived I wasn't sure where to report to to ask where to pitch. Otherwise a nice stay. Walked to St. Kew where there's a lovely old pub.

paddyrat

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/08/2018 07:59

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

So peaceful

Just had 3 weeks here at Pete and Mels, gorgeous weather, if anything too hot at times. This is such a quiet site with ample facilities, it is after all a CL not the Ritz. Pete, Mel and Joan lovely folk, and nice to meet them again. Enjoyed our stay so much we are going again in September. The approach down the lane can be a little hairy at times when you meet someone doing a great rate of knots. But hey ho, these are Cornish lanes. Once there you are rewarded with peace and quiet, also well mown grass area. Each pitch slightly screened by shrubbery and trees and a good size. As a couple we are more than happy with what's on offer at Kivells.

captainslogg

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/07/2018 14:29

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Could do better

Though the surroundings are lovely and peaceful, this site could do with an upgrade in care and attention. There were 6 caravans on for 12 of the 14 nights we were there. No toilet rolls for several days and no hand towels for over a week. The Internet was more off than on the whole time. There have been complaints about the Internet going back to 2016 - still not working well. Hard to get hold of owners to complain.

AKH

Reviewed on 12/07/2018 19:48

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer