Lorne Hill Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Little Gem

We have stayed here before and apart from it being a very wet easter we liked the site then. This visit reminded us how peaceful and quiet it was. The owner has made it bigger and some pitches are sheltered by mature trees. Footpaths are in abundance and the site is located in the Wessex aonb. The village of East Garston has many Chocolate box cottages and a crystal clear stream which my labrador thought great. We really enjoyed our 4 nights here.

CMDC

Caravanner from West Glamorgan

Reviewed on 12/07/2016 11:39

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Tranquil location

Strangely there was no welcome.  We arrived Friday lunch time and there was no one home. The site is compact, so there were no issues with finding the water, waste etc...we later discovered the owners were on holiday and paid a family friend late Saturday!! The plots are nicely separated by trees/hedges, so there was plenty of privacy for us and two other vans.  Would have been nice if the grass had been cut, as this was understandably wet each morning. The sire is ideally located for many walks on or around the Ridge Way.  We only heard the Racehorses go past once..but it was the weekend.  For £10.00, it was good value

Mark465

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/09/2015 21:18

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

SSH. Keep this one to yourself...

Best CL visited to date. Wonderful position. Lots of local walks. Well maintained. Leave your TV and tablet behind and enjoy the peace and tranquillity.

xeaglex

Caravanner from Wiltshire

Reviewed on 12/07/2015 19:14

21 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A little gem!

We stayed at Lorne Hill Farm mainly because it's very handy for the M4 - but what a gem we found. Glorious countryside with racing stables close by so lots of horses out for training rides. It was really peaceful with lots of birdsong and there's a smart pub in the village if you're not in the mood for cooking. Pitches are in little bays separated by trees so even though it's relatively small you wouldn't feel crowded by neighbours. If you need a stop-off close to the M4 this one is well worth a visit.

MartinOrd 1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 02/06/2015 12:46

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

We stayed here over Easter in order to visit the racing yards in Lambourn. A beautiful, quiet site in one of the prettiest of villages. Unfortunately the weather could have been better, but this was more than made up for by the site. Plenty of other things to do in the vicinity, we went to a couple of NT houses, Newbury, and other local towns. Just walking around East Garston we met so many friendly people and loved seeing the horses go by every morning. Would recommend this site highly.

pipandjoe

Reviewed on 21/04/2015 07:23

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Simply Charming

Everything that has previously been said about this fabulous CL, we agree with. The only issue we had there simply is zero mobile phone or internet access. You can access the internet outside the owners farm house, or a drive up the hill. For those who want to escape from these, it's ideal. You need satellite for TV. We were fortunate to be there during the sheep shearing season, and spent a wonderful Sunday afternoon watching this, and talking to the Aussie and local shearers.

Reviewed on 16/08/2014 19:52

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Absolutely charming

What a lovely haven between Wales and Kent.  Had a very peaceful nights stay and the views are beautiful. Unfortunately, weather prevented our return  on the way home but Joanne was most understanding.  We look forward to returning.

neversaydie

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/08/2014 20:26

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fine views allaround

A popular CL in a great location This site is immaculate well kept great recycling area / toilet emptying. Lower part of site is flat last 2 pitches nr entrance are slightly slopping. Owners are very helpful. You will need to book well in advance as it is very popular Good walking area with footpaths that circle the site with fine views down on to it. Tried to go back but left booking too late .....so book early for this popular gem

dinglefoot

Caravanner from Hampshire

Reviewed on 17/09/2013 19:07

39 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Reluctant Review!

Really don't want to share this site as would hate it to become too popular so it is always fully booked. What a little gem it really is, if you want peace and tranquility coupled with stunning rolling hillside, magnificent Red Kites flying overhead and amazing walks on your doorstep then this is the site for you. Access good but careful through picturesque village, site small and secluded with all the expected amenities. If you can't survive without a TV this is not the site for you, for us it was total escapism and no TV signal was a bonus. We loved it so much we have booked a week at the end of the month.

Stuhils

Caravanner from Isle of Wight

Reviewed on 08/09/2013 15:24

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Delighful

What a lovely warm welcome we recieved at Lorne Farm. The sheep were being sheared, and we were welcomed to watch on arrival. The site was beautifully clean (albeit small), and had a delighful veiw of the landscape. The grass was short and cut regularly. The little lane through the village needs care, but well worth it. After leaving a "Not too clean and friendly site in Wales, Lorne Farm was a "Breath of Fresh Air" literally! Many thanks Mrs Rabbitts.

trevb48

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/06/2013 08:58

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer