Monks Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Favourite site

Nothing has changed since I last wrote a review two years ago. It is still our favourite site. The views are fantastic, the facility area clean and the grass short. The pitches are generous and well spaced out. The owner, Mrs Stainthorpe, is there when you want her and helpful but not intrusive and this is a working farm so not for anyone who doesn't want to hear sheep and cows and the occasional tractor, but for us this means there is always something to watch. There is a walk directly down the footpath adjoining the site in the footsteps of the monks from Whitby who laid slabs to walk from the abbey to here to tend their sheep or you can join the footpath in Ruswarp to walk into Whitby along the heritage railway line and then get a bus back. There is an excellent butcher in Ruswarp and as others have said the ice cream parlour and the Wilson Arms are good value. I don't understand the review critical of access as we manage perfectly well to get our 7.5 metres caravan in and out and I would suggest the pictures of the site show it as it is.

Longtimecaravanner

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2024 21:57

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely views to Whitby Abbey

Nice welcome on arrival, able to pick a pitch. Nice spacious pitches. Few minutes away from lovely ice cream parlour. We were in MH and took our cycles out everyday. Quite hilly and really glad we had electric bikes. There is footpath on Monks Way direct from site into Whitby but beware it’s hilly coming back. Beautiful countryside all around. We cycled to Grosmont and did a lovely circular walk by River Esk. Another day we cycled to the Abbey, left the bikes and got the bus to Robin Hoods Bay and walked back on the coast. Really nice. We also used the Cinder Trail ( an old railway track) to go to Ravenscar, although be aware the surface is a bit rough at times.

Tony and Helene

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2024 08:32

7 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful Site

As regular attendees of the Whitby Gothic weekend (which we have attended for many years) we used to have a regular CL site, which we had used for about 10 years, but for various reasons is no more. We had tried a couple of other sites but were not really comfortable with them. After looking around we came a cross Monks Farm and decided to make booking, what a great decision. The approach roads are perfectly accessible with plenty of width (no chance of meeting another vehicle head-on, as we have experienced in the past). On first approach the sign indicting the site entrance is easy to miss (OK I missed it and had to reverse!) but once you know where it is it is not an issue. We were surprised to read the review about access being difficult for ‘large motorhomes’ over 7 metres as our single axle Bailey Pageant Burgundy is 7.1 metres in length and when coupled to the Renault Trafic van, has an overall outfit length of just over 12 metres. I had no problem turning into the driveway or into the field. The hard standings are proper hard standings with a very well compacted base and a thin gravel covering giving complete support and very reassuring for those of us without 4-wheel drive. The grass is also well manicured. The view of Whitby is superb (depending on the weather) and it is lovely to watch the sheep. I also enjoyed watching the farmers manoeuvring the tele handlers and other equipment. The water pressure is very good so filling containers is not a laborious job and the waste facilities are excellent. We didn’t get to the pub but the Beacon Farm café is out of this world. We went in for a late breakfast, ( well nearer to 12.00 actually). I had a Bacon and Brie toasted sandwich, with salad and chips… what a plateful and the ice cream is superb, I didn’t eat again until 9.00pm. Surprisingly though their milkshake failed to impress me. If I was to make any criticism it is that the electric hook-up is on 10amp breakers rather than 16amps, which I found out very quickly when it tripped. However, I flicked the heater to 1kw from 2kw and had no further problems, so we actually found that we could easily manage on a lower power setting; they do say that every day is a school day. We’ll see how we cope later in the year when we return for the autumn gothic outing and whether we need to use any gas. As all caravanners know, the biggest problem with 6kg gas bottles now is finding someone that has any to sell! This site will now almost certainly be our ‘go to ‘ site for a short break, but will definitely get visited every spring and autumn for our pilgrimage to Whitby. Please remember that this is a working farm, it is not noisy but diesel farm vehicles are not silent, although movements were infrequent and sheep do not always respect your bedtime. However we absolutely loved it and can’t wait to be back.

PolishinPaul

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/05/2023 22:29

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Difficult Entrance for Motorhome over 7 metres

Site smaller than the photographs suggest. Entry and departure very tight for larger Motorhomes and long caravan outfits. Wilson Arms has excellent food and is dog friendly. Quiet and peaceful site giving good access to local attractions however no local shop. Lady owner was not at all friendly welcoming or helpful.

ScreenName3F9D156B11

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 24/04/2023 10:13

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Site and Welcoming Owners

Stayed on this site in early July 2022 and loved it. Sneaton Village is in a cul de sac so traffic is very light. The views overlooking Whitby and the Abbey are wonderful. Site is well kept and tidy and being a working farm the sheep in adjacent fields adds to the entertainment. The nearby pub The Wilson Arms does meals to die for and excellent Sunday Lunches. Nearby Ice Cream Parlour farm also a great visit. Wonderful Whitby is within easy driving distance, and can be also reached from footpath adjoining the site. Dog walk also close by. Hopefully we can stay on this site again in 2023.

StokerPO

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/03/2023 14:30

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely peaceful stay

Lovely little site with easy access to Whitby and all surrounding area. Site itself is very clean and tidy and has water etc.You don't see the site owner and it's a bit hit and miss when you email. But all in all very good. Will be going again in the summer..

ScreenNameD2CD3C9FCE

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/12/2022 16:22

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site and convenient for walking and touring

We stayed here from 11-27th July 2022. Lots of lovely sheep in next field. Easy access to site. Follow instructions not SatNav. Lovely hardstanding pitches. Water and all the other amenities are very easy to access. Lots of walks. The Monks Trod straight from farm to Ruswarp and Whitby. We liked Whitby especially the Abbey. Fish and Chops are very good at the Fisherman’s Wife. Although all fish and chips are quite expensive in Whitby but they have a takeaway area that you can also eat in and overlooks the beach as well as their restaurant. We used our bus pass to travel to Scarborough and visited the castle there. Well worth a visit. We drove the couple of miles into Whitby and parked just outside the lovely Pannetts Park free or a road nearby. We tend to walk quite a lot and loved the Cinder Track over the beautiful Larpool Viaduct and walked from Whitby to Robin Hoods Bay and got the bus back which run quite frequently. We visited Pickering, a lovely Market Town and Goatham. Didn’t have time for a ride on the steam train though. The Wilson Arms does excellent food especially Sunday lunch and they are huge portions. The Beacon Farm ice cream shop and cafe is another must with eating areas inside and out. We loved our time here. Farmer and family very busy as expected but had the occasional friendly chat. Recommended.

Beulah

Reviewed on 27/07/2022 15:47

27 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely site

We stayed for 4 nights…..this is a lovely site…we were in the pitch immediately on the right as you go through the gate. The views of the sea are stunning. It was lovely to see the lambs…especially the 2 that needed feeding twice a day. 5e view from the churchyard is stunning, although there is a large tree blocking the view if you sit on the bench! We did the Monks walk to Whitby….a lovely walk but a bit precarious in places through the woods with a steep drop so take care…..we came back another way but obviously as it’s all downhill to get there……. The site was very easy to find and easy to use and we would definitely come again. Whitby is a great place to visit, Beware…..the sat nav tries to take you via tiny VERY hilly lanes! Go via Ruswarp.

Caravanner2024

Caravanner

Reviewed on 08/07/2022 13:24

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location and quiet

Easy access. 5 hardstanding pitches and 2 grass but only 5 ever in use. Grass was short. 10 amp electric.. There are only 2 electricity bollards so if you want to use the grass pitches you would need an extension for your electricity. There are no toilet or shower facilities on this site.  We didn't see the owner at all throughout the week but cash to be left in an envelope with your details in a container by the bins, water etc.

JA500

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/06/2022 13:11

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great Vuew

If you can get the end pitch the view over Whitby Abbey is fantastic but all the other pitches have sea views. The owner was always available when we needed her but not intrusive. The grass is kept short and the facility area clean. As others have said the Monks Trod walk next to the site is lovely and there are wonderful views of the harbour and abbey from the churchyard just a few yards up the road. Most of my pocket money was spent at Beacon ice cream parlour only 50 yards away. Utter peace and quiet and a lovely site where we would have liked to stay longer but unfortunately was fully booked, as was the Wilson Arms for Sunday lunch.

Longtimecaravanner

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/06/2022 12:23

44 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer