Monks Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely stay

This is lovely peaceful site with good views down to Whitby. The owners were very helpful. We will definitely return.

Bob and Kerri

Caravanner

Reviewed on 01/10/2018 21:02

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

No complaints here!

Really nice CL site with good level hard standing pitches, recycling, Elsan toilet point and waste water point all at the entrance to the site. We were spoilt with beautiful views out to the sea and Whitby, it has good dog walking area which leads down into Ruswarp. Really nice owners who never bothered us once. There was a Caravan & Camping Club Holiday site on the opposite field that belongs to Monks Farm which is a yearly event in August for 28 days and this never bothered us at all and there was no noise from the site either. Its just a 3 mile drive down into Whitby and within 5 minutes walking distance is the Beacon Farm Tea rooms which serve their own ice cream in many flavours and some nice cakes too and also the local pub the Wilson Arms where they serve excellent food and great beer brewed in Whitby. we went in on the Friday night and it was Folk night so we were luck enough to sit and enjoy the Folk music being performed. We cannot fault this site at all really and would definitely return again. Well done to the owners 10/10 from us!

pennypoop

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/08/2018 16:11

24 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good CL

The site is exactly as shown in the pictures with good hardstandings, though it would be good to have them wider so that the awning could also be on the hardstanding. Excellent views. We have a large twin axle so found the access from the farm lane a bit tight. Coming in was not too bad, the gate is wide but you have to get your OH to watch the tail of the van as you take the turn through the gate, we had about 30cm clearance to the stone wall opposite. Leaving was more difficult, my first attempt brought the offside of the van too close to the other stone wall, so on my second attempt a fellow caravanner helped by watching the front nearside of the car so I could keep well to the left and further from the protruding wall to my right. He said he had been talking with the owner and that there was a plan to move that last bit of the wall back a bit as it does sit further into the lane than the rest of the wall. Excellent waste water and chemical disposal points, and fresh water tap well away on the other side of the gate. Very good water pressure. The EHU bollard we used had 10amp outlets, do not know if the other one is the same. We did not get time to try the local eateries, but did use the excellent P&R service to visit Whitby. Pleasant and friendly owners.

KjellNN

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/07/2018 17:42

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Can’t wait to return

Our second visit to this site and we absolutely love it, hosts are friendly and accommodating and the site just right for us . We had no problems accessing the site although we have a single axle 2 berth just drive carefully . Weather was perfect during our 4 day stay and we had some fabulous walks in the area, nice Pub up the road which is dog friendly, what more can you want.

Jayne 77

Caravanner from Derbyshire

Reviewed on 09/07/2018 18:06

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Relaxing 4 day stay at Monk's farm

Our 4-night stay at Monk's farm started with a warm welcome from the hosts who gave us a choice of pitch and we settled for the best view of the Abbey at Whitby. It was a peaceful stay and the site facilities were as described. Unlike another reviewer, we found plenty of space to get in and out of the entrance in our Bailey Pursuit. We enjoyed the presence of lambs in the field next to the site and it was a pleasure to be able to stay on a working farm. There was plenty of opportunity to walk on country paths which we took advantage of. Our pitch provided adequate privacy and stunning views. Overall a very pleasant stay from which we explored as far as Guisborough. Check out the Curd Tart at the tea shop on Station Square at Ravenscar. It's the best.

SueandAndrew Lake

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/06/2018 18:41

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location

A great site if you like walking which we do, bike riding not for the faint hearted. Site its self fantastic views, the pitches could do with been a little more level would be my only suggestion. Also if you have a large motorhome its a tight squeeze coming through the gate be aware. I would use this site again

Craig666

Reviewed on 22/06/2018 19:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Approach and access was very poor

Due to stay for 4 nights however,left after 15 minutes. The approach of the road was down a very narrow unattractive farm entrance track/lane. The entrance to the CL field was very tight I pull a Bailey Unicorn twin axel which was missing stone walls by less than an inch at times especially when trying to leave 3 people were watching all sides we nearly had to unhook and use my movers it was that bad. Once in the site we were aware it was a working farm but to have sheep in with your vans was not for us as our dogs love sheep and work be barking to get to them all the time.

Laudley

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/06/2018 08:13

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Excellent site

Excellent site. Great views, hard standings, quiet village. Just down the road is a cafe and ice cream parlor and a pub. You can walk into Whitby or use the nearby park and ride. Lots to see and do in the area, not far from Goathland and Grosmont where you can pop on the steam train. All in all a lovely site which we will be using again.

Brocton

Reviewed on 16/06/2018 15:28

11 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Very Good site

We also stayed at a very wet time and appreciated the easy access and hard-standing. Other reviews say it all. Motorhomers who are not walking to Whitby might like to know that parking at the Abbey was easy and there were also motorhomes parked near station.

hymerinneedofacamp

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 14/04/2018 09:34

17 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Another gem

All the other reviews virtually say it all. We stayed recently after it had rained,snowed and threw everything it could. The site was sodden on the grass but the hard standings were great, no puddles as I have experienced in the past. They need widening a bit so you don’t have to walk on the grass to change water or empty the waste and the owner states he now realises this as he has got into his first winter and intends to sort it out when the weather improves. Talking of the owners you could not wish for nicer hosts they are so friendly. The village pub is great for pub style food with massive portions and delicious to boot. The only problem is that members are going to go after all the positive posts and we won’t be able to get on!!!!

Ourmonty

Caravanner

Reviewed on 15/02/2018 00:06

29 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer