Monks Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic quiet site with stunning views

Lovely quiet site with stunning views. Only stayed one night. We were greeted by Gordon who was washing the mud off his trailer, and he kindly let us use his hosepipe to get the majority of the mud off our motorhome. The pitches are all hardstanding although our pitch sloped down slightly so we used levelers. It was quite muddy/soggy on the grass but the hardstanding was fine. There are two water taps and a nice clean chemmy disposable point and easily accessed electrics. The pub in the village has a great friendly atmosphere, great beer and tasty food.....we had the fish and the scampy and a huge portion of "proper" chips....delicious!...we will definitely come back in the summer....the thought of sitting out admiring the view with a glass of wine is just too tempting!

Morton17

Reviewed on 28/01/2018 17:08

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic site

We ( 2 caravans) stayed here for three nights and it was not long enough. We will definitely stay a week next time. What a lovely peaceful site with magnificent views over Whitby. The friendly owners could not do enough for us. When we arrived after a few days of torrential rain the site was quite wet and the owner advised us to put the van on the grass and use the hardstanding for the awning which worked much better. This site has only been going for 12 weeks but I'm sure it will be a site that will be so popular in the future, you will have to book well in advance. It will definitely be where we will stay whenever we are in this area in the future.

bb1442

Reviewed on 21/09/2017 19:49

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peace and quiet with a beautiful view

Super site, spacious pitches, beautiful views down to the sea and Whitby abbey, ice cream parlour 5 minutes walk away and a good pub handy too. Only a short car ride to a number of lovely beaches and steam trains run through the valley about a mile away. We hope to be back at the earliest opportunity!

Resthasrrow

Reviewed on 14/08/2017 21:17

8 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic views

Fantastic views from site. We walked down to Rawslip on Monks Way, definitely wear sturdy shoes, it took us about half an hour. There are two small shops in Rawslip and the Bridge Inn did a good meal before hiking back up to the site. The steam train goes right passed the beer garden!!! I believe you can catch the steam train from here. We used Whitby park and ride, P2 gets you straight to the bus station for £2.50 return. The Abbey has to be visited but would suggest getting a guide as there is little information in the grounds. Fish and chips.... fish was lovely as it should as caught that day and got a huge pot of tartare sauce at Ranchers. Not overawed by chips. Ice cream from Beacon Farm was delicious.... 3 scoops was plenty. Didn't try the Wilson Arms as ran out of time.

MacBert

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/08/2017 19:04

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb new CL

What a fantastic CL! Not sure what else we can add to the other reviews but can confirm that this CL is truly a real gem and the owners Judith and Gordon are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Picture postcard views, good hard standing pitches with grass for awning, lots of walks from site and really nicely positioned for discovering the numerous attractions and coastal towns of the region. We stayed for 8 days and could easily have done 2 weeks. The cream teas and home made ice creams at Beacon Farm next door are scrumptious. We had a meal at the local pub, Wilson Arms and it was delicious, good home cooked food, especially when washed down with a couple of pints of the local Whitby brewery Blonde Ale! Definitely going back.

Sportster

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/08/2017 21:37

1 review

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic!

Great CL with spacious pitches and lovely views towards the sea and Whitby. There is a footpath from the site into Whitby through countryside, with only a small section on a quiet road, which is a lovely walk and takes about 45 minutes there and about an hour back (as the last mile or so is up hill). This meant that for 3 of our 5 days there we didn't need to drive and our dog got some fabulous walks. Pitches are all hard-standing and reasonably level - we managed without levellers. Quiet site with the only activity being occasional nearby farm vehicles.

Lorna J

Reviewed on 01/08/2017 10:16

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Clean, spacious and attractive site

Plenty of space around each pitch with great views out over whitby and out to sea. Standard drinking water, electric, waste and chemical disposal. Right next door to a lovely tea room, icecream parlour with soft play and great value/quality breakfasts. Next door again to that is a classic country pub with good food/drink options. Short drive to whitby or Scarborough. Definitely returning to this site. Ticks all of our boxes and more. A great base for day trips and less than 2 minute walk to breakfast, evening meal options should you desire.

fearn1

Reviewed on 28/07/2017 13:35

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just what we want!

An excellent new CL! Fantastic views north across sloping terrain to Whitby and the North sea, including an almost iconic panorama of the abbey itself! Easy access to the site which is all reasonably level hardstanding. The owners were friendly, welcoming, helpful and responsive and the facilities they provide are all you would want from a CL. Friendly pub within walking distance providing good looking food. We didn't eat, but plenty were, including 'Paddy from Emmerdale', I was told but was none the wiser! Walks and cycle rides available directly from the site, plus the opportunity to drive further afield for many more. Some motorhome parking in Whitby, but a Park-and-Ride is also available.

Jan & Paddy

Reviewed on 24/07/2017 12:10

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A real hidden gem

Fantastic CL site, very friendly family run working farm, very quiet. All pitches are hardstanding, with loads of space, fantastic views across to Whitby and the Abbey. Whitby is 60 min walk along countryside footpaths or a 10 min by car. Great access to North Yorkshire coast and moors. We spent a week here. And have all ready rebooked.

Trevor and sandra

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/07/2017 10:08

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer