Old Mill House

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Jewel of a CL

Really beautiful cl site, Julie "the owner" is so friendly and helpful and works hard to keep the site to such a high standard, cleans the toilet, clean towels and tends the flower beds every evening. Even puts out cushions on the seating provided, and still finds time to chat with all the visitors. A most enjoyable seven days spent there Will definitely be returning. The type of place you like to keep to yourself but deserves the accolades. Joe & Jean Mckane. August 2016.

Joe1741

Reviewed on 30/08/2016 15:29

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Old mill house

This cl is a gem just been for two nights can't fault the cl gardens superb the owner very helpful pub is as the owner states is only a ten minute stroll food looked excellent only down side is the country road quite busy and noisy but loved the site £12 and clean towel every day great 

PeterLowe1955

Motorhomer from Lancashire

Reviewed on 17/05/2016 13:26

14 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just Brilliant - FANTASTIC!!

We have just been to this CL site (October half term 2015) to take our little boy to see the Blackpool lights. This rural site is owned by one of the most friendly and caring owners that we have ever met. Miss L Baker made our stay a really pleasant one where nothing was a problem to her. The pitches are perfect size with a nice clean toilet facility and electric hook up. It is a 15 min drive to the Bispham tram stop which is ideal as you can park in a side street and ride the tram instead of getting stuck in traffic. We had a problem getting stuck in mud as it had rained heavily (car only as caravan was on hard standing). Miss Baker was really helpful and did all she could along with our fellow neighbour to help us leave the site. I hasten to add that it was only our site (number 2) that was affected by this. The CL is brilliant - check it out - brilliant to go and visit Blackpool. I strongly recommend this site.

Beaker1974

Reviewed on 30/10/2015 21:42

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful garden site

This is a real gem of a site. The owner is really friendly and helpful and the pitches are nicely spaced around the trees, which make the site feel much bigger than it is. The pitches are all hardstanding and the toilet is kept well supplied with paper, soap etc., and is very clean. It does help if you have a caravan mover to get into some of the pitches though. This is the second time we have stayed here, and it is a great base for this part of Lancashire and for Blackpool in particular. We had a day out at the zoo, and a day at Illuminasia followed by a tram through the illuminations. The local pub is great for kids as there is a little play area, and they are very friendly there. The food is great and it is very snug. There is also a great little playground in the village. We will definitely be back soon.

SPerks

Reviewed on 28/10/2015 22:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Superb Site??

This was our first booking for a CL site so we were highly delighted at the beautiful and well kept gardens. The site owner was very pleasant and was extremely informative regarding the surrounding area and attractions. The toilet was very clean and included lots of delightful toiletries to use.  Although the weather was terrible, we had a lovely short break and could not have chosen a better site, for us.  The only negative is you need a vehicle to get to the local pub and the village as it is quite a walk from the site. However, you are only minutes away from the M 55.   We would definitely recommend this CL if you are after a quiet secluded place to stay. 

Howie B

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 24/08/2015 21:58

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Best Ever up to Now.

So lovely to find yourself in a beautiful garden setting. Many of the folk there are returning from previous visits to the site and there's that spirit that somehow seems to be lost nowadays. I attribute this to the setting which is so lovely, its like staying in a page off a 'Country Life' mag,but don't worry, you will still enjoy the peace and tranquillity you may need. Julie, gives you a great welcome with all the info etc. Always around basically keeping the site spotless so if you need to speak to her its so easy. There is a W.C available and I've never used on-site facilities but again so clean. We have already re-booked for later in the year because......It's so GOOD.

johnbennett679

Caravanner from Cheshire

Reviewed on 19/06/2015 13:26

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Still a hidden gem.

This CL is still a hidden gem. It is ideally located for visiting the Fylde coast and Blackpool. The owner, Julie, cannot be prasied enough. She is friendly and welcoming whenever we visit. The site is always immaculately turned out and gives the visitor a real sense of calm and aids relaxation. The time and money that owner has spent installing hardstanding and tracks to the pitches has cetrtainly payed off and helps this gem keep open for longer in the year. One of the best CL's the club has available. Can't wait to return.

JKERR

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/05/2015 19:52

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A fantastic weekend and very warm welcome

We have just returned from a fantastic weekend at this lovely CL site.  I cannot praise the owner more highly; her commitment to ensuring all her guests enjoy their time is unsurpassable. From the moment I got a call on my mobile to say I had overshot the entrance when I was crawling past to check the address, to the final act of her saying goodbye and thank you, Julie makes you feel so welcome and is regularly seen cleaning the facilities, and checking everyone is ok.  On our first day she brought us information on local sight seeing/activities and we took advantage of a couple.  We certainly wouldn't if she hadn't raised our attention to them. One was the local cheese factory, a really great place for any age.  The site had a lovely garden feel to it and was showing signs of someone's hard work planting Spring bulbs, in a few weeks they will be glorious.  We will certainly be going back to fully experience the 'garden surroundings' that Julie is creating on the site.  Yes the site is right by the road and cars of course are regularly passing but we did spend most of the daytime out and about so it wasn't a problem for us.  It is a quiet country road so only during Saturday night did we experience a tiny, and I mean tiny bit of traffic noise, the site otherwise was really calming and tranquil.  The local pub - just 5 minutes walk, serves lovely food and is dog friendly.  The location is easy distance to many places and we travelled from there to the 'Trough Of Bowland' a truly beautiful spot and well worth a drive to.  Good walking and picnic areas if you want them and I believe a really nice dog walking area/route has just been finished in the village. Access to other areas is easy in the car and locally there are some lovely villages and open green fields. We will happily return here and intend to.

florenceric

Reviewed on 07/04/2015 16:01

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 3 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice site very welcoming

We have just returned from this site having spent 4 nights there. The site is a little tight if you have a big outfit but won't be a problem for most. Yes there is road noise as the site is right beside the road but you do get used to it and it does get quieter in the evening. It's in a great location to visit Blackpool , cleveleys , fleetwood and other local places. The site owner is very friendly and helpful and is always on hand if you need anything. We will be back next year when we go back up that way.

Dazkim

Caravanner from Nottinghamshire

Reviewed on 02/11/2014 20:07

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Road Noise

Fairly narrow CL so struggled getting our twin axle onto the pitch. Pretty site, but spoilt as its right next to a busy road. No gate or secure fencing, so couldn't take our eyes off our toddler for a second which is a shame as he likes to run around. Also arrived to find a huge pile of dog poo on our pitch which the owner promptly removed, but would have expected better from fellow club  members before us. So all in all, not bad but won't go back purely because of the road.

Comment from The Club:

Many thanks for your review. The CL Owner has fully hardground tracks in the pitches to help ease parking and she has not previously had any reports of difficulty with access so we are sorry to hear that you had difficulty pitching your twin axle. The Mill House is a small site in a picturesque garden and popular with members due to the beautiful surroundings. I hope this helps and thanks again for taking the time to leave a review.

paulfarman1

Reviewed on 30/10/2014 12:52

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer