The Estate Patterdale

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great site for early risers

A great little CL in beautiful woodland, fantastic pitches and well organised recycling facilities, water, waste etc. Our three night stay was however less than perfect due to the early 7am, 8am, 9am and every hour thereafter chiming from the estates clock tower each morning, we work hard throughout the week and do look forward to staying in bed later when we're away. Other than that we enjoyed our stay in the beautiful Lake District.

ScreenName90E690038E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/10/2023 21:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

One of our Favourites

Reading the previous review, the rocks and boulders mark the individual sites and the main drive in. Our motorhome is only 6.47m so we have not had a problem. The site is at the south end of Ullswater with the steamer pier just 15 minutes walk. Aira Force waterfalls is a one hour walk on footpaths (apart from a tiny bit of road) or accessible by bus or steamer. Buses also go to Penrith and Windermere. Glenridding is a 10-15 minute walk and has cafes and small shops including a very good outdoor shop. There is a walk, from the site, along the Grizedale Beck and can be continued to Lamys Tarn and down into Gleridding (if you don't fancy the full Helvellyn!)

HaydnandGail

Reviewed on 14/04/2023 12:18

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful site BUT

A beautiful site nestled in a scenic corner of Ullswater. Peaceful and tranquil but beware. The site is very small and compact. Not too much room for caravans, and in my case motorhomes. I had to manoeuvre onto the pitch which, although when looking at it looks ok, is very tight for a 7.6m motorhome. The reason it’s very tight, is that there are a lot of rocks and boulders being used as, well I don’t what they are used as. Yes, I drove over one and ripped a panel off and smashed a fibreglass panel. It was my fault, I should have been more careful but are the boulders necessary, I don’t think so. A great shame. A stunning site that I’d be more than happy to visit again, I just think the rocks and boulders are pointless. I’m dreading the cost of the repairs.

Comment from the Club

We are so pleased you found this CL Site beautiful but are really sorry to read you damaged your motorhome. The Site Manager has been in touch to advise these are glacial boulders, left in the area some thousands of years ago. They have never been raised as an issue before and no other incidents of this type have occurred as far as they are aware so we are really sorry you experienced this during your stay. 

Reviewed on 09/08/2022 20:52

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A beautiful location

A favourite site of ours. We had a fairly level pitch with plenty of sunlight and our own picnic table. Deadly quiet at night but during the day there is more noise than I remember from my last visit. The nearby hall now offers residential adventure schools which can involve excited children. The gardener also enjoyed riding his petrol mower around the grounds for what seemed like an extraordinary long time. We spent most of our time walking in the area and enjoyed good food at Helvellyn Kitchen, very good full breakfasts and dog friendly. The waterfall wood walk was closed due to unsafe trees which was disappointing as it’s so pretty, hopefully this will be remedied soon. If I could change one thing on site it would be a water tap and both ends of the site as moving a motorhome to the only tap is a pain and blocks the gate. The free WiFi is ok if a little slow and tv signal is weak.

JCH26

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/06/2022 14:59

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Private Lake Access, Woodland Walk and Picnic Bench & Free Wifi

On arrival we missed the turning, despite being sent pictures of it. We couldn’t see the CAMC sign and as it said it was a dead end we didn’t dare chance driving in and getting stuck. We pulled over in Patterdale and realised our mistake. Luckily we were able to turn and go back. The site was pretty and peaceful and we were soon set up on pitch 3, next to the stream and a great view of the Fell. We had lunch outside using the picnic table. We then had a stroll across to the private lake access before walking through Glenridding and along the Ullswater Way, stopping often at the benches to admire the wonderful views. On the evening we strolled into Patterdale and found another walk by the stream. The following morning we had breakfast by the lake, using the picnic table provided. We then explored the beautiful Waterfall Wood, which is only accessible to the Estate guests. When not walking we enjoyed the great wifi. Our only disappointment was we only stayed 1 night and looking at the availability it will be difficult to book again but we are determined to return.

2ndTimeTourers

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/04/2022 23:25

24 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect

Just returned home after 3 nights at this perfect site. As a base for bagging some Wainwrights it doesn’t come much better than this. I reckon you could do a different walk every day for a couple of weeks without having to move your van. Our idea of heaven. Spotless facilities and wifi that enabled me to stream football on my phone (wife had fallen asleep by then, Helvellyn had finished her off 😂) All in all an excellent site in an amazing location. We will definitely be back, we do have another 209 Wainwrights to bag after all.

Cuzz23

Campervanner

Reviewed on 02/05/2021 10:23

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Patterdale Hall cl: almost perfect

Just got back from a 3 night stay and have had a wonderful time. The perfect base for exploring the fells and mountains straight from the site on foot, so no need to find parking. Our car didn't move until it was time to go home! Really pleasant and helpful manager, who we chatted to when we walked over to the site office to pay. No phone signal (bliss) but free wifi so not completely cut off. TV aerials provided but we didn't bother as too much to do! Really good organised recycling facilities and water point etc. Situated just off the A592 so some road noise through the day (although if you choose a pitch beside beck you probably won't notice road) but completely quiet at night-apart from the resident owls! There is a brilliant on site dog walk along the beck so great for early morning and late night walks. The local shop in Patterdale stocks virtually everything from walking gear to wine and bread: they also do delicious baguettes. Just to clarify an issue raised in the1* star review: the "extra 6th pitch" is actually a "volunteer" pitch, which is provided free of charge for volunteers who help out at the Patterdale Hall charity (gardening, painting and other maintenance jobs). It is cordoned off from the other pitches in its own area and it didn't bother us at all that someone was using it. We were told about it when we booked and it's also mentioned on their website. I appreciate some members won't be happy that there appears to be a breach of the 5 van rule, but as I said it's not something they hide.....The same reviewer gave this cl 1 star for "access to local places of interest"and "beauty of surroundings and scenery", so maybe they were being a bit unfair? Patterdale is amongst the most beautiful spots in the Lake District and as I said we never needed to use our car at all. Anyway for those who love hiking and walking etc it doesn't get much better than this. We will definitely return.

thebells

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/11/2019 18:05

12 reviews

5 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great CL

Great CL in a beautiful setting amongst large mature trees. Excellent location for visiting the area and within easy walking distance 10 mins either way to Patterdale and Glenridding. WiFi is very good and came in handy as we didn’t have any phone signal (O2). The tv connectors are not really compatible with the connectors that most members have on the leads, however the site have leads that they can let you use if you have any problems. We used one of their leads and it worked perfectly. We will definitely be returning to this CL.

Ian Wright

Reviewed on 06/11/2019 22:17

4 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Still In Our Top Ten

The location of this CL is spot on if you love the outdoors. Pitch up, dump the car and just walk the fells. We had superb weather for our stay which is always a bonus in the Lakes. Level hard standing pitches, free Wi-Fi, enhanced TV points, full recycling. At £20 per night some might consider it to be at the top end (given there is no shower/toilet) however, the location is worth it on its own. Bus stop outside the CL - Penrith and Windermere (and all points in between). Short walk to the Ullswater steamers for additional transport options. Thanks for another great stay.

JennysJaunts

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/09/2019 19:53

131 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Lovely Patterdale

We stayed at this site for 4 nights at the end of July/Beginning of August. We were both expecting to have access to the Lake directly from the CL, however please be aware that you do need to cross a road and walk through the Estate's Lodge site for this, and although initially disappointed with this it did not have any impact of the enjoyment of our holiday. We pitched next to the beck on a good sixed and reasonably level hard standing. There is a TV point and free wifi also, the wifi being very handy in this area where phone signal is hit and miss. There was some confusion with the launderette with the CAMC information stating that it is free for CL users, but with signage on site asking for a donation if you are using it from the CL, this is a minor thing but could do with clearing up (there was separate signage asking lodge users to donate if they were doing more than one wash per week). We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back next year.

Tigers77

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/08/2019 14:53

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer