Priestfield Grange Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

June 23

Stayed here in my motorhome for two nights, lovely peaceful well kempt location as per previous reviews. Easy access and great location to visit Hardwick Hall, Chatsworth from. Only downside is no shower. £20 per night with ehu cash or cheque. Would stay here again.

ScreenNameD93FF4F0D3

Reviewed on 24/06/2023 13:11

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful Rural Site

Just returned from 3 nights at Priestfield Grange Farm site. Beautiful area, with plenty of rural walks from the site through wildflower meadows with fabulous views which lead down to Linacre Reservoir. In the evening we sat outside and watched Foxes and their 3 Cubs in the paddock. With Chatsworth, Bakewell and Chesterfield near by there are plenty of places to visit. We have a Motorhome and there is a bus stop outside the gate. Unfortunately we were here on the 3 hottest days ever, with the temperature reaching 40° and it was too hot to go anywhere. We do plan to visit again when we can do more than chill out on site....though it was a great to just relax in peace and quiet for a while.

Mowermaid

Reviewed on 20/07/2022 19:39

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Not good for motorhomes!

Yes, it is a fairly peaceful site, although a couple of times during our fives days there, we had dog obedience/agility on the next field, so quite a lot of barking! It also appears as if there are some people living on the site in caravans, which seems to be against the rules. The first time I went to empty my waste and fill my on board water tank, I parked on the track leading to the farm, the s/c cottages and the fields beyond so, in order not to cause a blockage, I pulled slightly round the corner, meaning that my tank did not drain as the motorhome was on a slope because the waste disposal area could never be described as 'drive over' as the handbook says! It is a shallow trough at the side of the access track to the cottages, so a hose is definitely needed. If you want to fill your water tank from that same location, it involves walking, rather dangerously, over a rough and overgrown area behind the rubbish bins, after doing it once, I didn't fancy doing it again and risking breaking my ankle! I drove slowly onto the grass near the tap the next time, but when I was almost finished, the owner came out and was very rude to me and told me not to park on the grass and that I had to park on the access road, causing an obstruction to anyone in the cottages! I was not prepared to cause any obstruction, so we left the next day and will never return to this site. If you have a caravan, the site is good, but absolutely not suitable for motorhomes.

As an aside, the information room was devoid of any information and the toilet had no paper or towel, so not very useful either.

leveller14

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 31/10/2021 15:16

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A1 CL near Chatsworth

As the heading says, this C.L. is situated not far from Chatsworth, about 4 miles but in a perfectly peaceful surroundings. The arrival is described from Chesterfield. If coming from Baslow then turn left by the Robin Hood Pub, about a mile after the A621 Sheffield roundabout onto the B6050 and follow this road for about 3 miles .Pass the Fox and Grouse Pub and lookout for a C&CC CS on the right as the C.L. is almost opposite this. The entrance to the C.L. is wide and easy for any outfit. Quite a few of the pitches are sloping some more than others and the H/S is small stones and shale. We did have a problem with picking up some tar off the hardcore in very hot weather so beware. Didn't put an awning up or have a TV on but wifi and phone signals were good. Recycling is provided for and the Elsan point is adequate. We did have the electricity trip once without any reason for it to do so but it didn't happen again. There are walks from the CL down to 3 local reservoirs that drop down the back of the village and very nice it is too. Closest shop is the Co-Op about 5 minute drive away and other supermarkets in Chesterfield. Ease of access to the splendid walking area couldn't be better with a plethora of great walks to be had. Also Hardwick Hall is 30 minute drive away, Chatsworth on your doorstep, together with its Fram shop, and Renishaw Hall close by as well. The local bus service can be flagged down from outside the site and seems to run hourly. The owner does have 2 S/C cottages for hire as well. There is a bit of car movement as some people keep horses on fields and the owner does have 3 extra pitches just at the back of the CL. None of the pitches have trees overhead but are protected to some degree by them. A nice tidy CL at what is now considered a reasonable price of £14 per night (£1 extra for awning).

Wherenext

Caravanner

Reviewed on 17/06/2021 20:53

93 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Chesterfield's hidden gem

This was a gem of a site, tucked away in Old Brampton, easy access to the site and clear entrance up a short curved drive. Pitches are only wide enough for caravan and awning, but parking the car was not a problem on the grass. Loads of space between each of the pitches. Mr Green welcomed us most warmly, he has such a lovely attitude to everything. Nothing too much trouble. He gave us directions to walk towards the nearby reservoirs, over his fields and down to a very pleasant walk around the reservoirs and through the forest, an absolute joy for us and our dogs. During the high winds , 40-50mph we were a bit worried about our awning, but as the site is surrounded by mature hedges and trees, we were protected and the awning was fine. This is a must to return to what ever the weather.

Cooper29

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2020 21:04

13 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A Lovely Quiet Peaceful Site In A Great Location

A lovely quiet and peaceful site with easy access, located on the edge of the Peak District and only 10 minutes from Chesterfield and 15 minutes from Chatsworth. On our arrival we were greeted with a warm welcome from the owner. The pitches are of hard standing and are very well spaced apart with plenty of room. The site has a very useful toilet block with separate Male and female facilities. This is clean and bright and even has a small heater to take the chill off. We would certainly highly recommend this site. It has all the facilities that you would expect from a good C/L and at £13 a night offers great value.

Dave and Rosie

Campervanner

Reviewed on 15/11/2019 13:12

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

A really useful and pleasant site near Chatsworth House

This is our second visit to Priestfield Farm CL. We chose it because it would allow us a full day at the nearby Chatsworth House. Facilities are good and hook-ups are easy. The site is a bit sloping for Motorhomes, but access is easy from the road, with a wide entrance. The surrounding landscape of the Derbyshire Dales is quite stunning. We would certainly stay there again.

GandGW

Reviewed on 25/06/2019 11:21

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Priestfield Grange, New Year Visit

Not perfect, but out of the 200+ CLs that we've used over the years we've not yet found our perfect one, and although it's well over 100mls from home, this is the site we keep returning to. It has 5 H/S pitches with EHU, and although the pitches aren't the largest and do slope a little they are more than adequate for a car and Caravan or a Motorhome. Those wanting to erect an awning would have to put it on the grass, but the pitches are well spread out, so there's plenty of room. The site is nice and quiet being located a couple of miles from the A619 Chesterfield/Baslow road, on a lane that is a bus route, and has a wide entrance. An hourly bus sevices goes to Chesterfield one way and Bakewell the other and can be flagged down from the entrance. There is both a ladies and gents toilet, information cabin, the usual recycling facilities and TV, phone and WiFi reception are good. For those with dogs there are acres of fields where you can walk, free of both cattle and sheep, and there's a footpath that leads directly down to the 3 Linacre Reservoirs with their hard tracks. There are a number of other footpaths and bridleways close by and many places of interest within a short drive....Chatsworth and Haddon Hall to the west, Bolsover Castle and Harwick Hall to the east. For those that like longer walkers or bike rides the N/T's Longshaw Estate, and the gritstone ridges of Curbur, Frogget, Burbage and Stanage lie to the north west. We've found the owners, Jeff & Pat, to be both friendly and helpful. We will certainly continue to use this site year on year.

nelliethehooker

Caravanner

Reviewed on 11/01/2019 21:52

163 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Good stop-over or longer stay

Booked this CL at short notice to break our journey, stayed 3 nights in October. The facilities are good and access ideal, and the fees modest. The only thing slightly negative is that the hardstandings are a tad small, barely enough room for car and caravan, an awning would have to go on the lawned grass and there is a sign 'keep off the grass'! There are some lovely walks direct from the site and the 170 bus from Bakewell to Chesterfield stops right outside offering an hourly service in both directions (half frequency on Sundays). The directions in the handbook are from Chesterfield and OK if coming from the east. However, access is actually better from Baslow, turn left off the A619 at the Robin Hood Inn (after about 1 mile) and continue for approx. 4 miles. The site is on the left about 500 yards after the pub, opposite a C&CC certificated site.

MalH47

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/10/2018 12:09

38 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Just perfect

Just spent a lovely long weekend here.. we have nothing negative to say. Access is very easy. As well as the 5 van site there is 2 more pitches in another area you could choose from. All hard standing. When you arrive you just pitch on any hard standing that’s available, pay any time before you leave, the owners are very approachable and never bother you which is perfect for me, ( some CL owners pester you all day long ) we had no problem with electric, water or noise. We will certainly be coming again before the years out.. Thank you for allowing us to stay on your farm.

littlemeJack

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/08/2018 21:38

15 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer