Randalls Farm

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect base for New Forest walks

Friendly welcome - relaxed, peaceful site. If, like us, you just like to walk in the forest this is a great place to stay. Generous pitches with easy access but you'll need your ramps. Access is from Randall's Lane, come in from the eastern end by Burley Street Garage. Look for the buildings in the photo above, they'll be on your left opposite a wide area where you can pull in. We'll definitely be back!

ScreenName85D6D54105

Campervanner

Reviewed on 05/07/2021 09:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Perfect stay in the New Forest

Having not long got our first caravan this was the first CL stay that I had arranged having had fond memories of staying on many with my parents in my younger days and it couldn't have been any better! The site looked perfect when I read the description and reviews, booking was easily sorted via email. The site is a short distance up a gravel track (Randalls Lane), don't worry if you miss the first turn, I did, as there is a second by the garage. Upon arrival we were greeted by Andy who took us up to the site and explained the pitches and facilities as well as some info about the local area, walks from the site etc., very helpful. The site is on quite a slope but each pitch is terraced into the slope though we still needed a levelling ramp and some blocks for the legs to get it right. The pitches are partially hard standing with a gravel track leading to them but I could imagine it might be troublesome if it were particularly wet without 4x4. That said we somehow managed to book the hottest week of the year to date so no worries on that front. Luckily the hedge and trees behind the pitches offered some shade later in the day. The site was perfect, so peaceful and scenic. Lovely watching the bats flying about in the evenings and listening to the owls. The kids enjoyed the field as there was plenty of room to play and a bit shady up the far end which was welcome. The walk up the lane at the back of the site leads to a stunning viewpoint to watch the sunset and you can walk (or cycle) all the way into Burley and beyond if you wish. The area was perfect too and we had a good mix of forest activities as well as plenty of time on the beach which was ideal given the weather. Welcoming owners, beautiful site, good mix of stuff to do, will probably be back someday! Thanks for having us.

GrahamFrith

Caravanner

Reviewed on 31/07/2018 11:52

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Nice site, centrally located

Very nice owners, very welcoming. Happy to chat, but equally happy to leave you to get on. Site is very well located within the New Forest for both the forest and the coast. No issues with access to, or exit from site. As others have mentioned, the site is sloping and whilst pitches have been levelled out a bit you will still need levelling blocks. Near the main road from the A31 to Burley, and depending on the wind direction traffic noise can become quite intrusive.  The private road that runs behind most of the pitches was busier than expected from other reviews, but because vehicles crawled along it we didn't find it an issue. The site is well screened from the road, so it is not as if people are staring in at you as they pass. Waste disposal & bins (with recycling) were at the bottom of the hill, and water & separate grey waste about half way down. All easy to use. EHU easy to reach from each pitch. The pitches get the morning sunshine, and start to get shade (and relief from the heat) by later afternoon/early evening. Pleasant field views from all the pitches, with a tree line behind. We ate at the Queens Head in Burley one evening, food was very nice and would recommend a visit. Would recommend this site as a weekend stop off, or for a longer stay.

Membership number was requested when booking. 

Reviewed on 14/07/2018 13:13

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Peaceful Site

Excellent site, friendly and very helpful owners. We stayed for 7 nights and it was very hot all week so the shade from the many trees was very welcome. As mentioned by others, the site is slightly sloping, levelled pitches with easy access to electricity, water and waste disposal. It is a very peaceful setting overlooking paddocks with New Forrest ponies and superb for walking dogs into the Forrest. Great situation, not that far from the coast (1/2 hour) and the many attractions. There are 2 pubs in the nearby village of Burley and it takes about 20 minutes to walk there through the woods. Thoroughly recommend the site and hope we can return again.

Devon123

Reviewed on 22/06/2017 10:24

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Great location

My wife, 13 year old son and I stayed here for a week towards the end if August.  The owners are very friendly and openly offer advice about the local attractions, which are many.  Burley is a lovely place and Burley Street is a lovely walk through the adjacent gravel drive via the forest. Will definitely be coming back to this stunning part of the country.

kevlon

Caravanner from East Yorkshire

Reviewed on 30/08/2016 22:18

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Brilliant stay

We had no difficulty finding the site and was warmly welcomed and shown where all the facilities where situated. We were able to pick our own pitch and took the furthest up the top end of the field which had a beautiful view. No hassle about paying and in fact I had to find the owner just before we left so that I could settle up! What a lovely quiet and peaceful site so if you need to chill out from the stresses of life, this is the ideal place to come. We will be back.

Scrubbish

Reviewed on 15/08/2016 10:20

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Chilled place to go

Wonderful chilled place to go as so peaceful, owner very friendly will go again and pretty central to most places to visit

farmerharmer

Reviewed on 18/07/2016 15:51

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Wonderful

Had a wonderful weekend break here with the kids. Approach is via a gravel path, which was a bit potholed, but nothing too bad, just take it steady (probably due to the bad weather recently!). Site is on quite a slope, but the individual pitches are pretty well levelled off. Enough room for the kids to have a play! The water tap wouldn't turn off properly, but the owner was out about 10 mins after another visitor reported it, and promptly fixed it! All in all, we would definitely visit again.

dennisps

Reviewed on 11/07/2016 10:09

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Fantastic CL

We have just returned from spending a week at this CL. It is very easy to find and the access is more than adequate. The site itself is located on a sloping field, however as stated in the description the pitches are levelled off. It is very well maintained and appears to be cut regularly. The chemical disposal, grey waste disposal, drinking water supply, bins / recycling point are located independently of each other but situated well. There is a small amount of traffic which passes on the gravelly track running behind the CL but this is just local residents who live up at the top end and does not cause any disturbance. The CL is also quite well secure, with a tree and fence line running around the edge of the field. There is also an electric fence separating the fields and around the edge of the CL but don't think it was switched on during our stay. (Kids are still here so must of been off!!!). There is only one entry / exit point to the CL which has an electrically operated gate. There are some good gift shops and a small newsagents / londis in Burley which is stocked with the essentials (bacon was very good from here), there is also a Tesco express, chip shop etc just down the A31 at poulner (stayed here before) for some wider selection. Also a McDonalds at the services where you come off the A31. A 5 minute drive either side of Burley and there are multiple small car parks to park in and go for a walk over the moorland, with lots of tracks which in good weather are suitable for trainers, if weather not so good some walking boots / wellies will be more suited!! All in all it was a very good week, only had bad weather for one of the days we were there and was not bad rest of the time. Typically, the first and last day had the best weather. But that's just how it goes sometimes. The owners are really nice people and are very accommodating, they will introduce themselves and see if everything is to your liking and if need anything just give them a shout. Other than that they very much just leave you alone to come and go as you please. All in all, a highly recommended CL and we would most certainly consider staying here again. We would probably pick one of the pitches further up the field as we were down the bottom end (due to not wanting the kids to disturb other guests) next to the barn which was pleasant, but view a little more restricted.

MacNHolz

Caravanner

Reviewed on 03/06/2016 17:12

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Rural and peaceful

We stayed at this site in the winter to visit relations locally. Ideally sited for us. Excellent view down to the village and open fields with horses. Very helpful owners and accommodating. Security is excellent with an electrically operated 5 barred gate access.  We will definitely be returning.

dugmug

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/01/2016 17:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer