The Old Vicarage

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 4 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 3 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Convenient for A1(M) Beware narrow tight access for longer vans.

Great access from the A1(M) I chose to approach from south even though had come from the north. Did my Google Earth check first. The drive to the CL from the road is narrow and single track with one passing spot from what I remember. You are clearly warned before hand that it is not suitable for longer vehicles. I was just within the recommended limit as my caravan is 7.19 m. It was a very tight fit through the gates on a down hill bend and a large tree in front of you to navigate around. Required all of my 38 years of towing skills and my wife on the road keeping a look out. We opted to park on what what described by the owner as hard standing but is actually parking spaces for when there are functions taking place. It was okay and we turned to face the correct way for leaving with the car still connected for an early morning start. The site is very pleasant and I can imagine lovely wedding functions here. The following morning I went for a shower and followed the instructions to let the water flow for a few minutes until it ran hot. It never did. Then I got a shout from another camper asking if I had managed to get hot water as they had tried earlier and couldn't. We could not wait until it was seen to and had to leave. I emailed the owner later to explain about the shower for which I was thanked for informing them. Then a reply to say maintenance had checked the showers and all were okay. Well obviously that was NOT the case when we tried and also the other two gents who had to have a cold shower. I emailed back to say that the shower was one of the reasons we decided to stay at this CL and suggested I be offered a partial refund. After chasing this up I was offered 25% off the £25. ( I do think also that £25 is high for this CL. Our next CL at Folkstone was £15 and with same stated facilities.

Ray55

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/06/2024 15:34

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

wonderful stop off

Stayed at this CL on the way up and then again on the way back on a trip to the North East last week. Very pretty and peaceful little spot (admittedly we weren't there when they had a wedding on which no doubt would have been a bit livelier), good facilities for a CL and the young man, Mark, who dealt with us was extremely helpful even lending a drill to help put our caravan steadies down and up again as my battery had run out and we had neglected to pack the hand one. Our stay was pretty much perfect for what we needed, NB. quite sharp access on and off the site and access coming off the A1 is almost immediately when you reach the exit slip road so be ready for it.

keithm7272

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2023 08:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Chill, relax, unwind !

Loved this site, greeted on arrival my a nice gentleman who directed us to our pitch and pointed out amenities. Very quiet, 2 Moho’s and 2 tents. Lovely walks around the site and stream. Great site will definitely be back.

scruffy1962

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/10/2021 10:31

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 1 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

I arrived thinking I would definitely stay again and left knowing I will never return

The location is convenient, just off the A1, and the noise from traffic is not excessive. The site is attractive, with a pretty stream running through it. I arrived mid-afternoon, rang the doorbell and waited (as the notice suggested arrivals should). I was trying to be helpful as I was due to be a few miles away for a walk. No reply. I had a walk round. No-one was to be found. To cut to the chase... noone came, so I returned at 7ish. A very pleasant young woman told me which (three) pitches were available. One would have blocked access of other arrivals (there were none), one had a tree in the way (yes) and the other meant the wheels were level but there was a big dip between them and the tree overhead dripped rain for part of the night. There seemed to be plenty of alternative spots to use (without overhanging trees and on level ground) but when I asked I was told that that is where the pegs were. In the morning I found nowhere for grey water, no rubbish bin or recycling other than a paper bin. I left with a full tank of grey water. The toilet waste disposal looked as if splash back was inevitable so I didn't use that. This has the potential to be a great site. However, I won't be returning. I did not perceive any interest in the visitor or their comfort.

The Plant Botherer

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/05/2021 19:14

3 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 5 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Our favourite place to escape to

We found this beautiful site not long after it opened to camping. Sue and the team always makes us feel welcome. We find it far more relaxed that other sites we've visited which is just what we want. If you have children or grandchildren they will absolutely love this place! The pretty river is shallow and children love floating down it on their inflatables. The Cave Bar is really quaint and very reasonably priced. They have uncovered a 300 yr old oven in one of the caves and now offer delicious homemade pizzas. Sue and her team are constantly making little improvements to the site which makes each visit even better. I've never seen any health and safety problems as per a previous reviewer. Yes, people have fire pits, no I've never seen anyone setting anything alight with them. Each fire pit and legs and comes with a fireproof mat that sits under it to protect the ground. If you want a site where everyone camps in uniform rows this isn't for you. However, if you want a relaxing break in a beautiful location with welcoming hosts and staff it most definitely is

The Tuts

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 10/08/2020 15:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 3 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 1 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 1 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful setting shame about the site

We spent a bank holiday here with some friends , we had visited the wkend before and looked idyllic, when we returned for the bank holiday we where met with loads of tents camper vans trailer tents. To say it's a 5 van site we weren't expecting this. Electric was tripping all the time due to splitters being installed " fire risk? Fire pits being used with ppl clearly inebriated Fire risk? So we only stopped one night as it was very unsafe how many where crammed in. So to charge £5 per dog and having no electric £15 pn we won't be returning!

ISHA

Reviewed on 27/05/2019 18:33

5 reviews

4 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 5 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 5 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 4 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Little gem

This weekend I found the most idilic cirtiified camp site and only 10 minutes from home, the warm and relaxed greeting from Sue, Sean and all the staff made a refreshing change from some sites I’ve visited. The site had a quaint stream running through it, zip wire, rope swing and numerous toys provided free of charge, I took my two teenage kids and only saw them when they were hungry, so if your looking for a peaceful break in a beautiful location and only three minutes off the A1 this place is definitely for you, we’ve already booked again for August and hopefully another in October, cannot recommend it highly enough and at very satisfactory rates

mecco

Reviewed on 09/07/2018 13:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and tranquility

Rated 2 of 5

Access to local places of interest

Rated 4 of 5

Beauty of surroundings and scenery

Rated 2 of 5

Ease of arrival/welcome

Beautiful location by a stream - shame about quality of the site!

Liked: Picturesque setting by a stream Obviously great fun for younger children Toys and games provided outside Has basic facilities for campers Some electric hook up points Ice cream van came on site One general shop in village within walking distance. We had good weather all weekend. Disliked: Price - expensive compared to similar quality sites. £20 without electric. Entrance very narrow for motorhomes and caravans. NOT as advertised - only came because son and daughter-in-law visited last year and raved about The Cave Bar! Sadly it wasn't open! When we asked we got a number of excuses from only used for weddings/functions to they do not have a licence to sell alcohol. There was a large marquee attached to the bar but it looked like it hadn't been used for ages. Untidy full of random stuff and not at all clean. Not sure where the advertised chill out and TV room were either- we didn't find them. Nearest pub was around the corner but closed and derelict. Site generally untidy. No pitches marked out and uneven field. Very low trees - witnessed two motorhomes hit their roofs on branches. Also if motorhomes went off site their pitches could be taken by someone else before they got back! People also pitched up randomly in front of you or behind you without leaving adequate space. Toilets frequently ran out of toilet roll and soap and were not cleaned all weekend. No mop and bucket provided so campers could clean up after themselves. Hot water proved to be very intermittent in both the shower block and washing up facilities. Rubbish bins inadequate and not emptied for 2 days. Some of the toys lying about looked broken and unsafe. Dogs wandered about unsupervised as did some very young children. Hard to believe this is advertised as a wedding venue - the site does not look like the photographs! Also no regular bus services to get anywhere else.

Reviewed on 30/05/2018 19:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer