Ayr Craigie Gardens Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

First visit to Ayr

First time visiting Ayr. Site very easy to find, well situated on the outskirts of the town. Just a 15 min walk along the river bank to the town centre. Site itself is well maintained. Facilities are very good. I was made aware of the refurbishment of the male toilets and showers were in the pipeline. Ideal for all types of visitors. An enjoyable stay.

ClubMember0375D77C0A

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/10/2023 10:38

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Everything you need

We have just visited the site for a short stay this weekend. After reading some of the previous reviews I was a little worried about. However, I need not have been. The site itself is set in the most beautiful grounds, where I can only imagine what beauty it holds in the spring summer months. Peaceful, tranquil and just what we require. The facilities are old, yes there is no doubt about that, however they are clean and warm, and more than adequate for us caravanners and Motorhomers. And let’s all remember, that they large majority of us have our own facilities.. which is why we pay so much for our outfits! The staff were friendly and knowledgeable about the area, We are really looking forward to our next visit next season!

4GSPs and a Jack

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/10/2023 11:26

8 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Appalling deterioration

Been a regular at Craigie for over 25 years but no more. The facilities are appalling and nobody seems to care. Intermittent lighting fault in the toilets for the whole 14 days - solution advised to carry a torch. Electrician allegedly called but no sight. Men’s hand dryer out for more than 5 days. Significant issues with toilet pressure in gents showers. Washing machine out of order for a few days. Dangerous to walk around at night because of inadequate lighting and pot holes. The entrance to the site has tacky signage and is less appealing than an open prison. The whole organisation now seems to be run for the benefit of wardens and not members. However the full price for a sub standard site continues to be charged. Feels like the club have lost interest in this site which is a great pity. Time an agreement on the lease was reached one way or another.

Weird

Reviewed on 04/10/2023 15:38

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site, pity about the toilet block.

I have been a regular visitor to Craigie Gardens in Ayr for many years, however last weekend was an eye-opener, mainly due to the shower/toilet block, there are 4 showers and only one had a functioning shower, the rest had very poor pressure and it was a hit or miss if you got any warm water, no chance of hot water. It is bad enough that the shower curtains were taken away during Covid, but when a shower room is so small a curtain is essential to prevent footwear getting wet. The hand dryer in the gents was out of order for the full 5days of our stay, having to use toilet tissue or our trousers to dry hands when only using the toilet. The fold down seat in the showers are missing in several of the women's shower block making getting dried and getting dressed a huge problem, mostly the women were having to leave their shower cubicle and go to one of the washbasin cubicles to get dressed, plus the water from the shower heads is not much better than the gents. The site is great with easy access to the town of Ayr, but come on Caravan and Motorhome Club do something about the amenities please.

sandy55

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/09/2023 14:40

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Family Holiday Location

Having just spent eleven nights here with two adults, two children and a dog we would highly recommend this site for a family get away. Wardens were really friendly and knowledgable, and the grounds were well maintained. It is a good sized site and the kids really enjoyed how close to the river and town we were. Ayr itself has all the normal range of shops and cafes, and the beach is fantastic.

Bruce Beagle

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 24/08/2023 14:45

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great club site

Great location, walk down the river walk to town and the beach, up the river for peace and quiet. M&S in town and Morrisons beside the station for food. Really friendly staff. Facilities kept really clean Loads of local information available on print. Nice and quiet, great club atmosphere with plenty of chat at dish wash area and as we walked around. Very good for dogs as walks are seconds away. Will definitely be back

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Nice wee site, access is tight with big units

The site has definitely got rid of its travellers and this was a must for us (or we wouldn’t have stayed). As a result of the reviews they got from these people they were very quiet. Very close to town and some lovely walks along the river. Visited local pubs for meals and loved this. Will go again but now I always check if the club has issues with travellers as that’s a deal breaker

MrandMrsV1966

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2023 08:47

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Very, Very Disappointed

Third year in a row at this site! More than disappointed at the "arrival welcome", because we arrived 20 minutes before one o'clock! The "No-Mo May" policy seemed to now include June as the grass was "badly" over grown! Facilities are kept clean but overdue upgrade! Will not be back for a 4th year on the trot.

ScreenNameFAE015303E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/06/2023 12:32

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely quiet site

We visited the site for a 2 night stop off as we travelled further north. We had been a little concerned after reading 2 very recent reviews but found the site delightful. Very quiet, beautifully kept, facilities spotless and staff friendly and welcoming. Some lovely dog walks along the river and an easy stroll into Ayr. Yes, Ayr is tired in places, as are many UK seaside towns, but it was clean and the area around the promenade and beach was lovely. We will definitely return in the future.

BigjjcJohn

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/05/2023 16:33

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed for the 1st time

This is normally our favourite site because of the location as we have 2 dogs and the offsite walks and nearby country parks are perfect. However on this occasion there were 5 caravans who were together and booked for 9 nights who were extremely noisy and foul mouthed with a dog that constantly either barked or roamed and messed on pitches despite the warden telling them to tie it up. The men were obviously using the site as a base while they were working and vehicles with ladders were constantly in and out the site from early morning until late at night. The wardens did their best but as they said their hands were tied. I also reported that one vehicle in particular was driving around the site and slowing up at each occupied pitch which was quite unnerving. The wardens were advising all new arrivals to avoid the area where those 5 caravans were pitched. The toilets and showers were also fouled on one occasion which I’ve never seen before and I felt sorry for the wardens having to clean it up. We still managed to enjoy ourselves but felt uneasy leaving anything in the awning when off site. We will be back but will be checking that that group will not be there.

egrant23

Caravanner from Perthshire

Reviewed on 11/05/2023 13:28

23 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer