Ayr Craigie Gardens Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site but getting somewhat tired

This is our 3rd visit to this site and it doesn’t disappoint. Great wardens and very clean and tidy site. The shower and toilet facilities need to be upgraded but this does not distract from the attraction of this site. The wardens do an excellent job with what they have to work with so hats off to them. Looking to be back soon and to soak up that sunshine on millionaires row.

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely but a little bit tired

We both like Ayr site a lot , wardens lovely, spotlessly clean our only negative is the toilets etc are now looking very tired. This would not put us off visiting again, and yes the town is very like most towns today, boarded up or closed but…. I will still visit!

McLaren128

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/10/2021 14:30

19 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Well kept site

This site was a stop gap for us as we were travelling around Scotland. The site itself is absolutely beautiful, very well kept and clean throughout. Couldn’t fault it. The staff were friendly and helpful. The facilities were as you would expect of a CAMC site, clean and well looked after, covid safe etc. The only downside was the city of Ayr, but this is most likely my personal opinion, the streets were dirty (dog mess & litter) it is clear there is a degree of poverty in the area, shops were boarded up and closed, again covid is to blame for this I guess. This has absolutely no bearing on the CAMC and this site at all, I just wanted to mention it because I’m being honest. The site is lovely and we would return to the site should we need to, however we would not leave site for sight seeing.

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site

This is a great site with great wardens, Mick and Christine are great and really helpful. So glad they are back again next year, great as they are really friendly. Ayr town centre is run down but then again so is every other town centre, what a shame. A lot to do in Ayrshire so not a problem, get out and enjoy.

NMSmith

Caravanner

Reviewed on 07/10/2021 12:04

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

So Friendly

We had a four night stay in September. We had a great welcome and was reccomended a pitch (the honeymoon suite) which was brilliant as it was so convenient to services with bags of room with seclusion amongst the trees. The Wardens were very helpful and had great customer service skills. We often use this site as it is close to town and we have family in the area, it is just a pity it is not open all year. We will be back

Bazza222

Reviewed on 27/09/2021 16:47

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site.

Lovely clean and peaceful site. Wardens are lovely. Lovely walk into town and the beach. Relaxed atmosphere. Well done to the wardens and thanks.

Ollie and Isla

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/09/2021 19:08

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful setting yet surrounded by buildings

A lovely small site nestled in an oasis of calm. Facility block extremely clean and well kept. Pitches were well kept and generally flat. Ideal location for walking into Ayr. Sadly like so many places the town is a little run down.

rajminder

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 18:16

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

wish all sites were like this

Perfect location, easy to find and probably the friendliest wardens I have met . As a stopping of point for touring West Scotland its ideal.

billyboggins

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/09/2021 13:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Almost Perfect

This was my third visit to Ayr. This is a favourite site of mine, perhaps my most favourite. For me, in a motorhome, my ideal site location is to be close to a town, or at least some civilisation in the form of shops, coffee shops and the like; to have a train station to go further afield – and/or buses too, perhaps; it helps if there is good cycling, preferably flat and it should have places of historic, scenic or other interest to visit. This site has all of those and the crowning glory for me is that the local people are so affable and friendly and will always chat if you are so inclined. And it’s by the sea – always a positive.

I very much like the site itself, albeit that everyone knows it is a little tired. It will benefit from some expenditure, and I gather a very significant amount has been earmarked, but, in the meantime, the site is perfectly acceptable and very far from the impression of a decaying shambles that some reviews may have left the reader with. The club need a new lease long enough to justify the investment proposed and I, at least, earnestly hope they secure it. For me it will be a great misfortune if this place had to close, and a loss to Ayr that needs the visitors it brings.

We all see things differently, but I am bemused, even upset, by some of the misleading comments about the site’s location and about the town of Ayr. The site is located by Ayrshire College and the University of the West of Scotland. If anything, this helps to make the surroundings more pleasant. It is not odd. The site is close to a large housing estate, but this is beyond the site – you don’t have to sully your outfit by driving through it – and it impinges not one jot on the site itself. I happily cycled through it more than once. I saw no issues; I wasn’t mugged, there are no tenements, I saw no fights or drunks or people exchanging drugs. I don’t say that never happens, like in any other town, city or estate, but this kind of stereotyping is so unfortunate. I promise potential visitors it should not put you off. It is not an issue, not even remotely.

As for Ayr itself: yes, it needs some investment. Parts are rundown, like many other seaside towns all over the UK. Money is short, the burden on taxpayers and rate payers is already great. If you’re used to affluent rural England or well-to-do towns in prosperous regions, Ayr might be a bit of a culture shock; but it is not a ruin. It has many of the quality High Street shops that other towns have lost. It has some lovely parts to explore. Beauty is in the eye of the beholder. Moreover, as a base, for visiting elsewhere, whether by bicycle or car or public transport it has lots and lots to offer. And the local people are an absolute delight.

Mick and Christine’s welcome was warm and efficient. Mick is very much the life and soul, and I was glad to get to know him. Together, indeed all four wardens, I am sure, although I did not meet the other couple, made this visit almost perfect.

Graydjames

Motorhomer from Leicestershire

Reviewed on 22/09/2021 10:17

41 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

1985 called and it wants its showers back

Lovely, well maintained and friendly site in a bit of an odd location. You can walk to the station in 10 minutes and be in Glasgow an hour later (11.30 return), walk to the beach or town in 15 minutes. Ayr isnt especially tourist focussed. The site is in an urban location close to the car park for the college campus. Great for a stopover, but the longer term charms of Ayr are elusive. Showers are prehistoric and temperamental.

MartinandRosie

Campervanner

Reviewed on 15/09/2021 20:52

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer