Damage Barton Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site with fabulous walking opportunities

Really enjoyed our stay here recently. Will echo the comments of another recent reviewer who stayed around the same time, don’t waste your money on the WiFi which cost £10 for two days… it was unreliable at best. If it was free I would have had no issues but when paying for the WiFi, you expect more stability and reliability. Moving on from the negative. The site is brilliant large pitches affording some nice views. Site staff were exceptional, from reception by Kayleigh through to the staff who worked on the pitches and the grass cutting. The site shop was well stocked and had some nice nick nacks plus essentials, it had some really nice stuff. The shop had pizzas available which you pre ordered and they were very nice. Also bread, pastries and other bits could be pre ordered for the following day and they were very nice. Shop staff were polite and pleasant too. The site was relatively quiet whilst we were there which was a bonus. There is a small dog walk near the entrance which isn’t enclosed, I think if it was it would be much better. At the bottom of the site was a long dog walk along the bottom and there was a kite flying area. We walked around it as no one was there and saw a couple of dog messes so wished people would have the decency to clean up, there are plenty of dog Pooh bins by the dog walks, there is no excuse not to pick up. Walking from the site is fine, we walked down and to the coastal path, around to Leigh bay and back around. We also walked up to the waterfall which was pleasant walk but didn’t pay the £9 each to enter. We then did another walk down and around to Woolacombe beach which allows dogs on in certain areas.. was a pleasant walk and we treated ourselves to a taxi back. The fish and chip van that came to site was really nice but the poor chap was on his own and seemed quite frantic and a little overwhelmed.. he managed though and we enjoyed the meal. All in all a fantastic site and we will have no hesitation in returning one day.

Trev and Jen

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/05/2024 17:25

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic stay

Excellent site, we had breathtaking views in good weather, outstanding sunsets, very peaceful and quiet. Very polite and accommodating reception staff, hard working site staff who maintain all the facilities and grounds. Wonderful rainfall showers - wet rooms, toilets, laundry, washing up, which are all clean and spacious. A steep site, easy access to coastal paths but be aware the coast paths are very up and down but well worth it for the views. Cannot recommend this site enough, especially if you like walking directly from the site.

pitched up uk

Caravanner

Reviewed on 26/05/2024 17:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good Site in lots of ways

Lovely site. Good position. Good walks direct from the site. V Good facilities. My only gripe is I paid £10 for 48 hrs WiFi that was pretty useless

Campervanpete

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/05/2024 16:14

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

CAMC Member - Stayed May 2023

Only just leaving a review but we stayed in May 2023 and this was our second time staying at this site after such a lovely stay in 2022. We are coming back in August 2023! It is simply brilliant. The staff are welcoming and friendly. The site and pitches are very well kept. There is a large recreation field where you can play racket and ball games. The designated dog walk field at the top of the site is OK, but the one at the bottom is far better. The shower and toilet facilities are excellent. Very clean. Every pitch has a sea view which is lovely. The shop is well stocked. Food vans often arrive at the site on an evening. It would benefit from a childs playground with equipment, ie swings, slides etc. Not being able to leave your dog in your caravan can be awkward, especially as some places we wanted to visit during the day dont allow dogs. Unfortunately this is the reason we are not bringing the dog with us in August. It is a shame as most CAMC sites allow you to leave them providing they are comfortable, well behaved and dont cause a nuissance while you are gone. I understand this can be hard to police though. Overall we highly recommend this site.

Reviewed on 03/08/2023 21:30

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Definitely lives up to the hyoe

What a gem! Fantastic views, amazing sunsets and immaculately maintained. Great welcome and the pitches are great - can be windy though but as you’d expect given its location. Easy access to footpaths. All facilities are in great condition and always really clean. Probably the best showers at any site I’ve stayed with waterfall and adjustable heads, loads of hot water and no push buttons! Thank you to all the site staff who clearly take pride in their work.

Poppy Poptop

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/04/2023 22:00

17 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Too windy for awnings!!!

A lovely clean site with beautiful sea views, the wardens are extremely friendly and helpful. The Ship Aground in Mortehoe served up a very nice meal, we also pre-ordered a pizza from the site shop which was extremely tasty and I would certainly recommend. Woolacombe beach is just beautiful and about a 20 minute drive away is the fabulous village of Lynmouth, absolutely worth a visit :) The only thing I would put out there for anyone who likes to have an awning up, we do as it gives us more space for our two dogs, because of the openness of the site and lack of trees, it can be extremely windy, after night two and an extremely worrying night thinking we may loose our awning we decided to move to a site more sheltered a few minutes away for our remaining 5 days. But obviously this isn't the sites fault it is just it's position, you wouldn't get the views otherwise!!

ScreenNameE17D0EDBCE

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/05/2022 12:20

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A- mazing place to stay

OMG when we booked in 2020, we didnt realise the amazing place this was, on entering the site it was so stunning and the lady said to me when I booked you would need to stay longer so due to the pandemic we had to cancel and rescheduled for this year, we have just returned from a wonderful stay and what a heatwave..... we had a brilliant stay and would highly recommend this site, it is stunning, the view, the atmosphere, the food and the people are so lovely, WE WILL BE BACK!!

Castaulden

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 23/07/2021 23:11

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Love Love Love this site

Our second visit to this site and only wish it were closer to home so we could visit more often. The views are fabulous, with amazing sunsets if you're lucky! Yes it is an open site and I would imagine in bad weather you are quite exposed but we have been extremely lucky on both of our visits. Morthoe village is really nice, fish and chip shop, pub, tea rooms, post office selling basic supplies. There are some fabulous walks out to Morthoe point and Bull Point Lighthouse. Also a must visit is Lee Bay, very steep road down into the bay but great for rock pools and take a walk back up from the beach along the footpath to a delightful pub and beer garden. A cycle along the coast road to Woolacombe with a couple of delightful bays before the main stretch of sand, Barricane Beach was particularly good as it has a really good take away at the back of the beach, all the usual stuff you'd expect but at 5pm the menu changes to authentic Thai food, didn't hang around long enough to try it out but if the smell was anything to go by it might be worth a try on a sunny summer evening. The facilities on this site are second to none and a welcome relief from all the rules and regulations from the usual CAMC club sites at the moment (yes I know we are in the middle of a pandemic and we have to be careful and considerate not only of other members but also the staff who have to clean and maintain the facilities) but if this site can manage it I'm sure others could take a leaf out of their books. Excellent rubbish and recycling facilities, onsite shop which couldn't be more helpful, although a little expensive. Pizza and chips available on most evenings, only had the chips, which were at least real potatoes! Will always come back whenever we are this way.

nutsinmay2

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/06/2021 22:11

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Can't speak highly enough of this site

This site must be the best in the whole of the country! The views are second to none. It is so very spacious. The facilities are super sparkling clean and spacious. The shop is most welcoming and well stocked. The ladies on reception are second to none with their welcome and a genuine desire to help at all times. WE WILL BE BACK SOON!!! Thank you to everyone involved in making this site so amazing.

ScreenName429CD31E14

Campervanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2021 20:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Love this Site!

I booked on the Tuesday for the following Friday for a week. Fingers crossed that we had made a good choice as a week away is pretty precious! Arrived on site. We were so not disappointed! The people running the site and I mean everyone, were warm and friendly and very helpful. After the second day of going to the campsite shop the lady already knew his name! And wow! the views! this is one of the most beautiful sites we have ever stayed on, the views were stunning. You could even see Wales on a good day. Our pitch was perfect, looking right over all the countryside, cliffs and sea. We were right next to the dog walk, which was definetly the best dog walk we have found on a site before. Even a nice little area you can throw the balls for your dogs. I feel I am gushing, but to find such a beautiful site was so good. You have the professionalism and cleanliness of a CAMC without all the rules and regulations and someone mowing the grass around you 24/7. We will definetly be going back to this site and to beautiful North Devon again. Thank you to everyone who made our week stay so perfect.

saddler1960

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/10/2020 06:22

9 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer