Durham Grange Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

First Visit

This is our first visit to this site, lovely warm welcome. I would say one thing be careful if accessing it from the North bound A1 as you need to swap into the middle lane of the dual carriage way to access the site. Everything was good, but the toilet and shower facilities where covered in a white dust on various occasions, looked like they hadn't been completely cleaned down. Minor gripe was lack of foot paths around the site to access the facilities especially from the pitches to the right of the toilet block. Also no heating on and water pressure a tad lacking. MH Service point is pretty much the wrong side of all UK motorhomes. Requiring a long hose to be used. Great access to Park & Ride into Durham, but don't try to walk it, very dangerous roundabout to cross. There is dedicated MH parking but they where happy for us to use a car parking space in our 6m van conversion. Only 10 miles to Beamish also

Lynch76

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/04/2024 11:21

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good Stopover

We stayed here for two nights as a stopover on a return from the North. Easy to find and access was good. Wardens welcoming and friendly. We stayed on a level service pitch. Good selection of shops within a short drive, however we used this site as a base to go to sightsee in Newcastle. The wardens were busy during the day. There is road noise from the A1 so for us this is only a stopover site and definitely not a holiday destination, we would however use it again if needed.

Sporadicus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 14/04/2024 09:19

36 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Reasonable site.

First time at Durham grange,next to the motorway which has it’s good points and bad.A couple of things I didn’t like the shower temp was just warm enough to use and the toilet block was not heated the other thing has been reported to the club. WiFi was handy though Lots of places to visit,I didn’t see any leaflets for Beamish museum in the info room and also no mention of 15% discount available for club members. The guy next caravan to us was leaving the site at 5.45am every day and was brought to the attention of the warden who just smiled at me and said she would have a word with him.

Ianp45

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/10/2023 20:37

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Safe and Sound

Excellent welcome, hard working warden's, pristine and clean, We had mechanical problems prior to our arrival, so we were now able to rest with ease, and enjoy Durham and its amazing history, especially the Cathedral, so had a comfortable and lovely week on the Grange site. Thank you

bouncerdog1

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/10/2023 20:04

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Been here Before!

Clean, tidy well kept site. Ideal for stop over on way up or down the country. And for a longer visit to cover this area of the friendly north east. Yes there may be an element of noise from the A1 but not intrusive.

Red Bob

Reviewed on 21/09/2023 16:21

43 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good location, basic facilities and some road noise

We stayed at Durham Grange as a stopover for 2 nights on our way home from Northumberland and so that we could visit Beamish museum. I’d say this site is fine as a short stay site for visiting Durham or Beamish and and as a stopover for either travelling to or from Scotland. It’s not a pretty site, it’s a basic site with clean, functional but ageing facilities. It’s a site I would class as serving a purpose rather than a site enjoyed for being picturesque. Depending on where you are pitched you could get some road noise from the nearby A1. We had a pitch far enough away for it not to bother us. The dog walk is small and there isn’t really any sizeable grassed area to let dogs off for a run. The wardens were lovely, very friendly and welcoming, the reception building had some very pretty hanging flower baskets and troughs outside. The site is easily reached from the A1 and it’s only 11 miles from the Beamish Museum and an easy drive into Durham or to the park and ride.

Granville and Alison

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/09/2023 14:53

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

This is how it should be

Just spent 3 nights here due to business in Newcastle. The welcome from the wardens Mick & Andrea was suburb with a full explanation of the site & pitch options. The toilet block is modern & spotless and the grounds are well kept with flower beds. There is some work going on but this didn't disturb us. Good dog walking area and convenient for visiting local area. we didn't use the park & ride which isn't far away. we found 2 walk-able pubs the Travelers Rest & Belmont Working men's club which accepts non members & dogs. You have to be really careful crossing the road but it is possible. Will go back if in the area.

Johnnyd5

Reviewed on 01/08/2023 15:59

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Enjoyable stay

We recently stayed here for 3 nights. Clean facilities, close to Durham (our reason for chosing this site). We used the park and ride to go into the city, it's a short walk from the site - you just need to take care crossing the roads, but really not a problem! The site is close to the A1, so yes there is traffic noise but we didn't find it to be a problem- think "background noise" or "white noise". We would have no hesitation in returning to this site in the future.

Rubytoby89

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 25/06/2023 17:07

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

OUTSTANDING SITE

We cannot praise the staff enough, they work as a team from start to finish. Are quiet happy to have a chat and seem happy to hear peoples moans and groans. The site is exceptionally well maintained. I had read on reviews that it was used as a one night stop over on route to and from Scotland. We saw NO EVIDENCE of this at all. The site was full most nights. I would also like to comment on the Traffic noise, yes there is noise but it is not an issue. No more noise than most sites. The facilities block was immaculate. The laundry room was spotless as well.

graham5252

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/06/2023 19:22

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Clean and well maintained facilities

Fantastic location just off the A1 so easy to get to and will use again due to this location. By far the most cleanest and well maintained facilities, toilet/shower block across all of the caravan and motorhome sites we have ever been to.

D123G

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 04/06/2023 23:04

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer