Durham Grange Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Road Danger

The main problem with this site is crossing the busy dual carriageway especially returning to the site from the Park and Ride where you are just around a bend where traffic cannot see you till the last moment. A fatality will eventually occur here, at the very least a sign warning of pedestrians should be in place It will be in place soon enough when someone is killed

BaileyOrion

Caravanner

Reviewed on 24/06/2022 14:36

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

What a noisy site

On arrival the site appeared to be well kept and organised. The warden was rather grumpy as we had arrived early. He told me I should read my emails before we arrived and take note of the arrival times. I said that it was confusing as I had received the said emails but my booking app showed contradictory information. Facilities were spotless and the information room well informed. The constant noise from the nearby a1 was too much. It was 24 hours. Impossible to have a relaxing meal or drink outside as the roar from the roads spoilt this. We booked for three nights but could only manage two as the noise was ridiculous. The second night there was someone using a stihl saw at 1.30 in the morning! Needless to say we had no sleep that night and we left one day early. The female in reception was most unhelpful and miserable when we asked her about local walks. Would definitely not return due to the road noise, miserable wardens and their passion to cut the grass at every opportunity.

Franthevan

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2022 19:10

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

The only site where washing on a rotary dryer on your pitch are regarded as a fire hazard!

Easy access from the A1 as long as you don't miss the final small dull sign pointing to the site. Inevitably there's a constant roar day and night from the A1 traffic, but it didn't really bother us. Rather like a Camping and Caravanning Club site, unfortunately, with some pitches in a central grass field, which means rude people are constantly walking across your gravel pitch in order to access the facilities rather than walk on the grass between pitches. The site is well placed for Durham City centre and the Beamish Museum. Pernickety warden made a ridiculous complaint to us for leaving our washing on a camping rotary dryer on our pitch while we were out, claiming that it was a fire hazard!

pmbbiggsy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 17/05/2022 15:57

6 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Almost missed the sign

Positives, convenient for A1 and Durham park and ride Spacious site well kept Lots of lovely riverside walking in and around Durham Close to city - helpful easy to find guides to give ideas and advice Lots of history Negatives, 24 hour noise, no way could you sit outside - reminded us of being broken down on the motorway Grumpy wardens Speeding, footballs and off lead dogs permitted

maisie19

Reviewed on 13/05/2022 11:35

27 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Miserable Wardens

Stayed here last week. Handy stop off on the A1. Good base for visiting the North East. Some of the wardens though are very miserable. We asked one of the female wardens where the nearest pub was, her reply ......No idea, I dont do pubs . What lovely warm person . Obviously in the wrong job !

brianandjulie

Reviewed on 04/05/2022 19:12

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 2 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing Location

As expected nice facilities, clean, tidy and flat site. Very disappointing that so close to the A1, very noisy all day and stays noisy until very late at night. If you're driving from South to Scotland or vice versa then its a very convenient pull off. If you want to explore Durham then I'd find somewhere else to stay.

ScreenNameEE8A498D10

Campervanner

Reviewed on 02/05/2022 11:49

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Site But Not Very Relaxing

Don't get me wrong. I think that this must be the most accessible and convenient site anywhere. Beautifully flat, clean, tidy and manicured. But while I realise that rules are important at times and the club is well for them but I felt that the wardens were perhaps a bit officious and I found this to be a bit off putting. It will not stop me staying here again but maybe a more relaxed attitude would make it more appealing.

seventiesboy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 21/04/2022 20:16

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A very nice nights stay

Just wanted to add a thanks to the lovely wardens who pre selected our pitch due to size of van. We hadn’t checked the site info properly advising those with vehicle length 8.5-10m to ring ahead to organise a pitch. With regards to comments of traffic noise due to its location we didn’t find it an issue. The site is very well kept, clean tidy & cared for. Couldn’t fault the place at all. Unfortunately we were only on a stop over so didn’t get to venture out & about. Hoping to return soon to further explore the surroundings.

LynneRly

Reviewed on 21/03/2022 07:51

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site just off the A1

This must be the easiest site to get to from a main road. In spite of being so close to the A1, the road noise is barely more than a faint hum most of the time. The site feels spacious, clean and very pleasant. All the facilities were clean, though we do tend to use our own most of the time. For me, a big plus was the dog run. As a wheelchair user, dog runs are often inaccessible but this one was great. I could walk my dog independently and even give her a little bit of off lead time. I also found the rest of the site to be good for accessibility. The only slight negative is that I can't get to the elsan points to empty the toilet myself. Each service area has a nice smooth path round to the elsan point but the grit and fire bins unfortunately block the path. That's a real shame as I would have liked to come back here by myself sometimes. There is plenty to do in the area, including: Durham city and Cathedral, Beamish open air Museum, the Durham coastline and much more. It would also make a good stop off on a long trip north or south.

Finnberrys

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/03/2022 08:31

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Made it at last

We have booked this site several times and last weekend finally got there due to one thing and another. The site is as many say right by the side of the A1 and it’s only a couple or so miles from the centre of a most wonderful city. Please don’t pass it by we stayed and the noise didn’t bother us at all in the slightest. The site wardens had only taken over five days before but knowing the site they came from at Bridlington and how they run that we have know sought at all that Durham grange will be in excellent hands.

jimandlyn

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 09/03/2022 19:22

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer