Durham Grange Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Good, clean stop over, but soulless site

We stayed here for one night as a stop over and overall would recommend highly depending on your needs. If you are travelling on the A1M this makes a great stop off, if you are planning on staying multiple nights I'd maybe recommend else where if you want to use it as anything other than a base for exploring. The site is well run and very clean, however it's very soulless. There isn't a huge amount to say about the site other than it's a square piece of land with some grass, a few trees and pitches. In summary, if you are using it as a stop off or as a base for exploring this is great. If you want to hang around the site during the day, I'd suggest looking elsewhere.

ScreenNameA0D8EA86F0

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 02/09/2021 17:30

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Nostalgia ain't what it used to be

Last visited 28(ish)years ago. As might be expected in that time the facilities have been upgraded... Had a lovely 6 night stay. Walked into Durham via the footpath that finds its' way to the banks of the river. Cycling from the site isn't for the faint hearted and certainly ill advised for young children. Staff were approachable and friendly. Ideally situated site for a stop off during a long trek up or down the A1. Some vague drone from the A1 but certainly not enough to put us off a revisit (hopefully after a shorter gap than 28 years!).

Red Bob

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 18:16

43 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A great base for Durham Tyne and Wear .

We often visit Durham Grange site as its nearest to us at Sunderland and have to say its a lovely site always well managed . Well done and thanks so much Wardens . The wardens do a fine job as its a busy site due to members just stopping over from A1m route . Shame really as missing SO much to see from here. ! The so called background noise from traffic isnt as bad as some are saying. In fact we always sleep very well here. So . easy access from the A1M and just 800 meters from the " Park and Ride" to the lovely Durham City... very handy . To drive into Durham by car takes just 10 minutes down the hill and at the second set of lights you will see a multi story Car Park which leaves you right in the heart of the City. Dont want to drive ? No problem The Park and Ride is FREE parking for 100s of cars also designated motorhome places. You just pay the Bus fare (free... if you have a bus pass !! ). The fast service only stops once in Durham Centre . You can easily walk to the P & R but take care when crossing the A1M Roundabout slip roads . Dont try to cross the A690. Stay on the CClub side of road and you will be ok . You could also call Belmont Taxis and they will be with you in a few minutes and pick you up for return .Do not miss visiting Durham Cathedral (one the few World Heritage Sites in the UK ) . In fact the most important building in the North of England. Absolutely make sure you take a Cathedral "guided tour" because even if you dont normally do History this is a very special place with a fascinating history. Durham is a compact vibrant City with huge University.. so a fun city full of pubs etc . Only a short 10 minute walk uphill from Durhams Market Square to the Cathedral and Castle . So what else is nearby ??... . A great Day out will be had at award winning "Beamish Open Air Museum". Another must see up this way north on A1M for 10 minutes and you come to the "Angel of the North" with car park where you can pose for a nice photo . Other local places . Fancy some sea air . A great surprise to many a visitor the sea front at Sunderland is just 12 miles on A690 right in the Centre and head for Roker and seaburn also The National Glass Centre leads to river side walks taking you to three Blue Flag Beaches cafes pubs restaurants on Sunderland sea front. Plenty of Pay and display parking . Most Spaces on the Sea Front are just over 6 meters (so big enough for a mid sized Motorhome.) One mile further along at Whitburn the lovely National Trust Coastal Park and famous Whitburn Lighthouse. The First Electric Lighthouse in the World . Of course you are only 12 miles from Newcastle City Centre as well... Museums, Baltic Centre and Quayside. Or get the train from Durham as its only 15 minute Journey. I have to say the site is "VERY handy" for Durham, Newcastle and Sunderland and not to be missed. Stay a few days why not enjoy !!

TB22

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/08/2021 21:41

28 reviews

3 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Not really 'handy' for Durham.

I visited the site because I wanted to visit the City of Durham. There are no complaints at all about the staff or site or facilities as they are up to the usual standards - excellent. The comment is the location. It might be great for people looking for an overnight while whizzing down the A1(M) but not for visiting Durham. It's too far to be considered handy. An hour's walk or a dangerous cycle. We received sketchy instructions for cycling into the city ( the warden was helpful, of course, but didn't have the information we needed) and almost immediately got lost, had to retrace our steps and cross a busy dual carriage way. I think, if we are to reduce our carbon footprints and encourage walking and cycling then the club might need to reconsider how they bill this site or work with the site to create good cycling maps and signage to make it a pleasant experience to visit Durham. Thank you.

martipants

Reviewed on 15/08/2021 11:00

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

What a little gem

This was our first visit to Durham Grange but it certainly wont be our last. We only stayed here a couple of nights and really did not want to leave. It location is just off the A1\M. We drove into Durham and the parking their was easy to find. The wardens were really nice and friendly and did a great job keeping the site clean and tidy. People did ignore the band system, so glad that is now finished with but that is not the wardens fault.

Shevi

Reviewed on 29/07/2021 13:20

18 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 2 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Ideal for Durham visit

Site is well maintained and the facilities are spotless and in good condition. The wardens were delightful. The site feels a bit claustrophobic with the vans about a close to each other as they can be. The A1 drone is very noticeable at all times. Irritating to be honest. I would advise taking your car to the park and ride rather than risk a dangerous walk. At this moment on street parking is free after 2 pm (late July) The riverside walk to town is about 3.5 miles and rough in places. Dog enjoyed it. If you want to visit Durham or Beamish and don’t mind the minor negative this is a good place to stay.

Slowingdown

Reviewed on 26/07/2021 16:33

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Durham visit, never again

The facilities were well managed by the site staff. Unfortunately members didn’t follow guidance.Standing in the queue members were saying I just need into the toilet,what don’t they understand. Bands were left on hooks although toilet was empty. The site is a nightmare for members cutting through pitches, down the inside of the car, some redesigning of pitches required. Constant cars and caravans wizzing past into the storage unit, don’t see that mentioned in description. We didn’t even try to go to park and ride, you take your life in your hands. The site staff were friendly and helpful but site could be improved with some investment. Would not use again as expensive for what you get.

galaxy

Reviewed on 16/07/2021 17:39

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Description in brochure needs to be reviewed as the roads are too dangerous to walk or cycle on!

We booked this site as the caravan club write up says it is 800m from a bus stop. What it doesn’t tell you is that you have to cross a busy dual carriageway to get onto a pavement and then need to cross the slip roads on and off the A1(M). We had to catch the bus into Durham as we have a motor home which cannot be driven into the city. I was confused as to where the safe cycle route was, the pathway to the river wasn’t suitable. It was a shame as the site was good and the wardens were helpful, but in the end we decided to leave early and forfeit the loss of fees.

Edwin Brewer

Reviewed on 08/07/2021 21:06

11 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

A pleasant site, but not enough facilities

Stayed here two nights in June 2021; a very pleasant site, but the sanitary facilities were always full - another woman, whose husband needs to used the disabled facilities, said she wished there was more than one, and I was inclined to agree with her. Having said that, I was also pleased that the A1(M) was closed at night while we were there due to road works, so the site was significantly quieter than normal. I don't think the traffic noise would have bothered us unduly - white noise, after all - but I was glad it wasn't there. It is a pity that the park and ride service into Durham is on the other side of a dangerous roundabout, so you really have to drive to it, but that is scarcely the site's fault! My husband loved the river walk.

Mrs Redboots

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 26/06/2021 17:30

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Perfect campsite for what it is -

Theres no doubt about it, this is the perfect site for a stopover going north/south on A1 - Literally 2minutes off the A1 - Yes very close to motorway but not really that noisy. Its says perfect for Durham City and it is close by but you need a car / bus to get in, unless you fancy a good walk. And it is a busy road. The staff are really helpful, pleasant, and professional. The cleanliness is exceptional.

CalumT

Reviewed on 21/06/2021 09:58

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer