Ferry Meadows Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Superb site in an outstanding location

Superb site in an outstanding location. We usually go to Ferry Meadows two or three times a year and there is always something new to see in the country park walking round the lakes or along the river. I've given four stars for facilities as the TV booster system has extremely bad reception. Agreed it's better than the vans aerial but it isn't very good. The new free WiFi system is terrific, well done for that. Just improve the TV booster system and it's 5 stars all the way.

Freedom Fighter

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/11/2023 16:50

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Excellent again but...

Great site in a fantastic location with hard working wardens. Could do with serviced pitches on this large 2 area site and hope the WiFi is up to coping with demand when it is updated. Our experience with the new WiFi at Broadway was disappointing!

Normade

Reviewed on 02/11/2023 15:08

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic wardens at last

Our last weekend at ferry meadows for the winter roll on next year. The wardens this year have been fantastic after last years wardens, we were unsure of going back as the wardens were up their own backsides and not at all friendly.. What a turn around this year happy wardens friendly can have a laugh and a joke nothing to much trouble really great Always working their socks off clean site and happy site. Thank you for an enjoyable year see you in 2024

CT7BGT

Reviewed on 28/10/2023 14:04

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

AT LAST FRIENDLY WARDENS

We haven't been to Ferry Meadows for a year now , for one reason only, We had a very bad experience with the horrible wardens, Thankfully they have gone now . What a difference to the new wardens They are all hard working , they stop and speak to you ,they walk around the site , not sit on there bottoms driving around on the tractor so all you lovely people who have said they wont go back give it another try . We stayed there for a week three ago with our eight dogs and it was so relaxing we our going to book another week soon

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site - so much to see and do

This is an excellent site for its location, convenience to Peterborough, and access to the facilities at Ferry Meadows. A good level site, with a traditional style amenities block - a little old, but very well cared for - but struggling with TV and WiFi availability across the site. Why should we be dominated by the TV? A lovely place to chill in a peaceful "rural" retreat just a couple of miles from a busy city. The site has so much to offer families with the Ferry Meadows park just outside the site, a trip on the Nene Valley railway, paths to walk, cycle ways, etc., and then the whole of the East Midlands to explore. For those without youngsters to entertain, there are the walks around Ferry Meadows with all the nature to observe, and many places to eat and socialise within very easy reach. If gardening is your thing, then an excellent garden centre within walking distance. Otherwise just a space to sit out and take in the fresh air. Access is so easy. What's not to like about the site? This is the second time I have been, and though much busier this time, it never seemed to be crowded, etc., though it was one of the finest weekends weather wise this September. The site staff work hard to keep the site clean and cared for. If you've not been to this area of England, I fully encourage you to bring your outfit to Ferry Meadows and enjoy visiting and exploring.

MikePem

Caravanner from West Yorkshire

Reviewed on 27/09/2023 13:13

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Good week spoiled by late comers

We stayed here last week and up until our second to last day, everything was ok. A family of 6+ were allowed on the site next to us at 8:30pm to set up their caravan. The cut-off should be 8pm. As it was dark, they had two cars running pointing the lights at their caravan/awning. The engines were noisy, so the occupants were shouting to hear one another. Our two-year-old couldn't settle which ruined the night for us. I went to the office to complain at 8:50pm and of course, it was closed. The noise started to die down (engines off) at about 9:20pm, but it wasn't until 10:30pm that they'd finished setting up and the excess noise finally ended. With a little one on board, this completely ruined the week for us. With this being an official club site, I would have expected them to stick to the rules. Needless to say, we won't be returning.

ScreenNameDFFCFEF51A

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/09/2023 00:36

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

First Visit - will most definitely go back.

As CAMC members it was less than £100 for 3 adults for a 2 night stay. Booking was easy via the CAMC app and on arrival you’re directed into lanes on arrival (not before 1pm). Within just 10 minutes wait our booking was confirmed, we were given a map and directed to where we could pitch. There are 2 sites either side of Ham Road and we were directed to the second site where we had opted for a grass pitch with EHU. After choosing our pitch it was a quick walk back to the main site to give our pitch number and collect our barrier pass. The pitch itself was a generous size with ample room between neighbours and with our car, caravan and awning. The EHU point for our pitch was some distance but thankfully we had a long cable, there were ample fresh water points with waste water disposal and chemical points, normally close to rubbish and recycling points. The site was very clean, the toilet/shower facilities although a bit dated were very clean, I had noticed there were disabled toilets and showers I just felt that the door code was a bit high up for someone in a wheelchair. There was external washing up point, a laundry room and baby toddler wash rooms. It is a nice and peaceful site and even with the playground close to our pitch it wasn’t and issue. I noticed Dogs were permitted on this site but requested for them to be kept on a lead and there was also a dog toileting fenced off area. During our stay we saw wardens frequently emptying bins and picking litter, they always said hello and the staff I spoke to were always pleasant and happy. On the Friday night there was a food stall in the entrance selling loaded fries, we didn’t try that but the following day was a a Pizza van - cannot resist a pizza and was reasonably priced and rather tasty. This site is located literally 5 minutes walk from the Nene Valley Ferry Meadows lakes with the river Nene flowing through it. There is a cafe, restaurant and visitor/gift shop and toilets located there, a miniature railway and for anyone interested in photography a variety of wildlife from Otters, Kingfishers and other wildlife. A nice walk around the lakes generally all accessible for wheelchairs / scooters. For photos - visit by Google Maps review https://maps.app.goo.gl/MBa8cP12RTy578MZ6?g_st=ic

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great location shame about the wifi and tv reception

Ferry Meadows is a fabulous location for walking, cycling and watersports. We took our bikes and spent the 4 days cycling on flat pathways. Only disappointment was the lack of wifi and TV reception was poor. We changed pitches 3 times!! Wifi coverage is limited because of the trees and often dropped off. Hotspotting on phone was ok but signal only 3G on site. Plug in TV reception kept failing. Never mind read a book instead

ScreenName551D0013BE

Campervanner

Reviewed on 01/09/2023 15:19

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fantastic site

One of my favourite sites . Staff are excellent and extremely helpful. I thought I’d booked 3 nights for the bank holiday but I had only booked 2 … we just wanted that extra night to chill. We were fortunate enough to get that extra night with the help of the staff looking out for us . The site is kept tidy and the toilet and shower block are hygienic and kept clean . There’s local amenities and lots of fantastic scenic walks .

janieplops

Reviewed on 30/08/2023 17:35

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Staff

The wardens at this site are excellent. They are very helpful and friendly. They are always ready to help if you need help. We use this site usually for 2 weeks and often twice a year, some of the wardens that have been here have not been particularly good but the present wardens are some of the best we have come across and we spend 16 weeks a year on various sites. This particular time my wife and i spent 2 weeks here and then my wife stayed on for another week with her granddaughter. I was going back at the end of the week to help my wife take down at the end of the week but as it was due to rain on the day i was going my wife decided to take down the awning early. But she got stuck when it came to getting some of the pegs out. My wife went down to the wardens and asked if it was possible to give her some help. This they did willingly and came and helped her get it down. This is way beyond what you would expect. The site itself is very nice and is next to the country park and there is lots of off road cycling from the site. You can ride to Tesco or the town centre all off road and there are cycle tracks over the whole area.

Venus

Caravanner

Reviewed on 30/08/2023 15:54

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer