Ferry Meadows Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Great site for one or two nights.

Visited in July 2022. Excellent quick check check in system despite there being a large numbers of arrivals. Just give your name and membership card to either of the 2 wardens others were in attendance directing you. and off you go to get sited. Return at your leisure to pay/checkin and retrieve you card. Great location for nature lovers. Nearby park well worth a look.

Andy Crawford

Reviewed on 14/08/2022 09:09

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very Good for very large Motorhomes

Having a very large American Winnebago motorhome can prove challenging when looking for suitable pitches. called ahead and a very good space was reseved, arrival nice and simple, park up nice and simple, lovely site with trees and layout makes it very country feel. Few times i needed staff help, always friendly and helpful, will definately use again on my Winnebago Travels.

ScreenName8192EC4A34

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 06/08/2022 07:30

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Uncooperative staff

We arrived on Friday 29th July 2022 for a weekend stay that we had planned together with my sister and her family. We travelled separately to the site, and we arrived mid-afternoon. Unfortunately, my sister was delayed on her journey due to a traffic accident and diversion. We advised the campsite reception staff of this upon arrival and asked for an adjacent pitch to be reserved for them. We made this request because my sister's adult daughter has special needs and suffers anxiety when placed in an unfamiliar situation. This would be far less likely to occur if our two motorhomes were pitched side by side. The staff refused this request, despite my sister having made a booking and being en route to the site. The site was far from being at full capacity and we found several suitable locations where adjacent pitches were available. We subsequently set up and placed a table and chairs on the adjacent pitch, awaiting arrival of my sister's motorhome within the next hour. There was no issue with this until these were spotted by a staff member driving past on an ATV. He rudely insisted that the table and chairs were removed and would not entertain any discussion, simply repeating that "rules is rules" (sic). My sister actually arrived 10 minutes later and came through to the adjacent pitch which was unsurprisingly still available, as were the others around us. There were no new arrivals after my sister which the staff would clearly have known. It was not a pleasant experience and confrontational for no apparent reason.This uncooperative and unhelpful treatment by the site staff spoiled our holiday and we will not be returning. This is the second poor experience that we have had with CAMC and we will not be using them again.

ScreenName7BC7C0CE5E

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 05/08/2022 12:18

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Shame about the welcome

The site is great for families with play area and proximity to the Ferry Meadows country park. Shame about the welcome. We arrived at 12:50 and yes the arrival time was 1pm but we were somewhat surprised to be turned away at the barrier to drive around for a few minutes before being allowed in at 1pm. We would expect to have at least been allowed to park in arrivals lane even if we couldn't check in for a few minute. Welcome apart the site is in a great location and well maintained. The toilet blocks could do with a refurbishment but were clean.

Tim Gaffn

Caravanner

Reviewed on 04/08/2022 20:07

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Disappointed that there was no longer a food shop at reception

We have been coming to this site for years but were very disappointed that there is no food shop on the site any more. It used to be one of the better ones on the circuit and it would help even if it just stocked milk, as there is a 20-minute walk to the nearest Tesco and we try not to use the car. It is one of our favourite sites, as there are so many walks. The aerial connections on the bollard near pitch 161 were not working last year and are still out of order.

Greyhound

Caravanner from Buckinghamshire

Reviewed on 28/07/2022 17:20

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Site in Great Location

I was a little concerned that the site was going down hill after reading some recent reviews and wondered if this would be my last visit, despite going for 20 years. I was pleasantly surprised. We were greeted at the barrier by a friendly warden, who had a quick glance at his booking sheet and welcomed me by name and told me where to park to check in. The wardens in the office were friendly and chatty despite being busy and we were left to choose our own pitch. As we had grandchildren we chose to be by the large park, which was clean and the equipment in good order. The wardens were friendly all weekend whilst out and about on site keeping it clean and tidy. We weren't expecting to hear the tune, but about 5 pm the grandchildren were shouting 'the ice cream van is here'. The prices were reasonable but the guy wasn't very friendly. The 2nd night was a different ice cream van and he was a bit more pleasant. It is a shame the chip van burnt down a few years ago, but a quick journey round the corner to Vivienne's chip shop for a huge fish and lovely chips fed some of us, whilst others had a lovely pizza from the visiting pizza van (Friday evening). A short walk down the lane takes you to Nene Country Park. There are a few cafes, a farm shop and gift shop, a small train to take you to the other end of the park, boats for hire (best book on their website in advance), lots of space to play ball and picnic and different play areas. The large one by the boating lake has water / splash equipment which was great fun for the grandchildren. There are good walks and cycle areas around the lakes and it is good for bird and wildlife spotters. In the other direction, a short walk to the Nene Valley Railway, where steam or diesel trains run along the line. The trains are decorated and lit up at Christmas. Further along the lane is a garden centre and pitch and putt, and a pub / restaurant. Bikes can be hired from here, the country park or the site. The toilet and washing up facilities were kept clean. There was plenty of hot water. I didn't use the showers as still using my own. There is an information hut with leaflets of nearby attractions. I will definitely return but think the price of this site is rather steep to do it too often. Although it does have everything we want on site and within walking distance.

Judith and Alan

Caravanner

Reviewed on 27/07/2022 16:14

3 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Great site but could be better

Another great weekend at Ferry Meadows. Staff were welcoming and friendly. However, we think the club needs to find another Mr Whippy! The current one is rude, and also charges extortionate amounts. £3 for a medium 99 the size of a small cornet and £3 for a slushie, with no ice! The previous Italian man was always friendly and reasonably priced! The tiles in the men's showers are also missing in places, so potentially dangerous and unhygienic. Door hooks also missing in places. There seems to have been a high turnover of staff in quite a short period of time. Friendly squirrels!

ScreenName5D3FB25D6E

Campervanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2022 17:06

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Two words - Bike Thefts

We have visited this site a few times and sadly it has gone downhill. Why does this site have to be so strict its the only site i know that tells you your pitch is the gravel only nothing else Or gives the exact dimensions of a grass pitch ! Why have wardens who don’t like people a smile goes a long way And now the BIG PROBLEM bike thefts which seem to be happening nightly and nothing is being done about it was down to other campers to inform each other So sadly probably my last trip there….

PERCYTHE DOG

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2022 16:17

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Disappointing visit

We have been visiting this site every year since 2011 but sadly this may be our last visit. It was always our favourite , go to site due to its location on the country park. There was a Change of wardens since our last visit and they Didn’t appear interested or happy in their jobs. We stayed at the site in June 2022 during the time of the bike thefts. We didn’t sleep at all well due to worrying about thieves. Why has this problem not been addressed by the club. It’s not the first time it has happened and needless to say probably won’t be the last. Why does the club not build a secure storage for bikes as at The Clumber park site and employ security. The fees for sites have escalated over past few years and I think we deserve peace of mind when staying on the site for the prices we pay.

thegordons

Reviewed on 16/07/2022 13:55

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Location

Stones throw from the entrance to Ferry Meadows Country Park with Fantastic Lake, Water-sports and great cycling/walking trails. The site staff and Country Park staff are all friendly and helpful. Toilets and shower blocks are slightly dated but are extremely well maintained and cleaned by the dedicated staff. Peterborough can be easily reached bus or cycle or even a wonderful stroll along the river bank. All in all a site well worth a visit for families, couples and singles.

RichardG UK

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 15/07/2022 15:42

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer