Penrhos Caravan Club Site

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent site

Excellent site. Excellent facilities, the best we've seen and immaculately maintained. Excellent wardens who were very pleasant and very helpful. We would highly recommend this site and will definitely revisit.

CCoulman

Reviewed on 23/10/2021 07:14

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Return visit after the facilities update and Covid

Coming to the end of a great week at Penrhos.The new facilities are excellent and very well kept as are the site grounds. All the regular haunts visited and a memorable walk along the beech and Island at Newborough. An enjoyable end to our 2021 touring season. Sadly, as highlighted in other reviews the selfish behaviour of the few spoils it for the majority of us. There seems a worrying trend of some visitors using the site roads as race tracks? 5mph is slow but the limit is there for a reason ! And a reminder to visitors not to leave their dogs alone in caravans/awnings wouldn’t go amiss. Our last evening was spoilt having to listen to a dog howling and barking in the adjacent pitch. But we will be back to Penrhos as it is a gem of a site.

Fizzler

Caravanner

Reviewed on 16/10/2021 20:29

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

An Oasis on the doorstep

Visiting at the end of Sept was always likely to be dubious regards the weather but our five night stay wasn't affected too badly. The site itself is easy to get to and is a perfect location to access the rest of the Island and indeed the mainland too. Large well spaced out pitches, excellent dog walk area and kids playing area nicely tucked away too. Shops are a very short car journey away and there are plenty of places to eat nearby too. I visited the Zip wire experience whilst there what a fantastic day out. The wardens on the site are very friendly and helpful.

Barry Jones

Caravanner from Merseyside

Reviewed on 04/10/2021 13:36

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Penrhos Again

No problem on arrival having made sure we arrived after 1pm as directed on booking confirmation. Lovely welcome at reception and we were soon pitched on our service pitch. Despite weather not being great we enjoyed ourselves as usual at this site. It was good to observe the wardens circulating and where necessary asking members to pitch in accordance with the pitching rules. These are always mentioned when booking in yet some people cannot retain this information for the time it takes for them to select a pitch!!!!!!! Bit like the speed restriction!!!! My last gripe is that people do not seem to respect other people’s pitches and privacy and walk in a straight line to their destination come what May!!! On a positive note this site is well located for beautiful beaches and good restaurants and a special mention to the butcher in Benllech whose meat is superb. Two weeks flew by but we will be back in 2022 all being well.

MikeCrowther

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 30/08/2021 16:59

19 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Summer holibobs

Just returned from a lovely break despite not good weather . Great upgrade to this site with spotless facilities and re surfaced driveway and new hard standing where used to be grass on an incline . Usual lovely beach days , Beaumaris pier and castle. Visited the sea zoo more suited to very young children and disappointing that the free bouncy rides are for < 102cm !! . Fab time at zip world on a rainy day which was great as in the Forrest . Nice grandparent and grandchildren group who got on beautifully and made fun together . Lovely staff who were very friendly and chatted regularly . Only negative was despite NO tents there are lots on site including more than 1 per pitch which already had a huge awning and people Carrier vehicle on ! There were even 2 IDIOTS with fire pits which the wardens promise to address tonight - this is such dangerous behaviour and are BANNED items - This is a great site snd would be a shame if sensible rules aren’t kept in place for everyone’s safety Enjoyed meals at one of our favourite places - The Old Boathouse red warf bay and nice pub grub at the Bull. Sac we couldn’t get in the Lobster pot or The four crosses but forgot to book ahead of the trip . Chippy at Molfre beats Benllech one which we’d always gone to on previous trips . The Chinese The Talents was nice takeaway too . We will definitely be back soon

Stellar400

Reviewed on 23/08/2021 19:07

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

2nd stay this year

Thoroughly enjoyed this site as our base again. Friendly staff, good, clean facilities. Even better now Covid restrictions have been lifted to allow everything to be fully opened. Site is quiet with a nice walk into village (Not tried local pub though). Secure dog walking field. Children’s play area seemed to have plenty of visitors. With the site being just 2 hours from where we live and easily accessible for all the places we love to visit, we will certainly be visiting again.

LynsB63

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 13/08/2021 15:16

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

A return visit to the area after about 30 years

I had hoped to visit in July 2020 but the site was delayed from opening because of modernisation work overrunning and Covid-19 didn't help. As a rule I don't normally turn up early to Caravan Club sites but I arrived sooner than intended because of a clearer journey up the A5 from Chirk with roadworks finished earlier than planned. A 'don't even think about arriving early' locally produced sign instructs you to turn around, leave and park offsite nearby if you arrive before 1.00pm. Don't turn right, as I did, because you won't be able to turn your unit round until you get to Llangefni (where there is ample shopping at Asda (including cheaper fuel), Aldi and Lidl). After 1pm the welcome seemed warmer and I found a quieter pitch in the small area on the right hand side. Note chemical waste can't be disposed of here, it's at the toilet block. The toilet block is new and the best I've seen on the network. However the single taps over the washbasins seem only to provide lukewarm water despite warning stickers of very hot water. (Yes, I had it fully on red and I let it run a very long time.) The site is well placed for touring the area. There is beautiful birdsong to enjoy and my pitch was sheltered from the wind. I had hoped to visit in July 2020 but the site was delayed from opening because of modernisation work overrunning and Covid-19 didn't help. As a rule I don't normally turn up early to Caravan Club sites but I arrived sooner than intended because of a clearer journey up the A5 from Chirk with roadworks finished earlier than planned. A 'don't even think about arriving early' locally produced sign instructs you to turn around, leave and park offsite nearby if you arrive before 1.00pm. Don't turn right, as I did, because you won't be able to turn your unit round until you get to Llangefni (where there is ample shopping at Asda (including cheaper fuel), Aldi and Lidl). After 1pm the welcome seemed warmer and I found a quieter pitch in the small area on the right hand side. Note chemical waste can't be disposed of here, it's at the toilet block. The toilet block is new and the best I've seen on the network. However the single taps over the washbasins seem only to provide lukewarm water despite warning stickers of very hot water. (Yes, I had it fully on red and I let it run a very long time.) The site is well placed for touring the area. There is beautiful birdsong to enjoy and my pitch was sheltered from the wind.

26 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best holiday ever

We have had the best holiday since getting our van 7 years ago, the site was perfect, so quiet and peaceful even though all pitches were full, lots of good information about what to do and see, the facilities were very well presented and spotless, Wardens were very helpful and the shop had a good range of essentials. With 2 dogs we took advantage of the dog walk which is off site so you can't hear other dogs greeting each other in your van which sometimes you can which spooks ours, long meadow grass areas for sniffing but mowed for easy walking. Arrived a bit before one but found a layby just past the California pub to wait in which was ideal. Will defiantly return, The Panton Pub was dog friendly and the food was excellent, the Phoenix Chinese in the next village is worth a visit, got loads of food which again was excellent. Benllech beach is beautiful, handy parking and cafes nearby and good shops in the village to stock up on supplies, with a good chippy on the row of shops just past the butchers, Just wish I had booked longer than a week.

Liz cleminson

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/07/2021 13:05

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely Caravan Park

We are new to CAMC and we are trying out different parks/locations in our Campervan. Penrhos scores highly on friendly wardens (it is made quite clear you can’t arrive before 1pm on the welcome email). Best showers we’ve had. The new facilities block was first class and spotlessly clean. Fab dog walk, mown paths through a secure field near the entrance, our pointer cross loved jumping through the long grass. We extended our walk around the caravan park during the evening. We had pitch no 91 which was huge and in the smaller, quiet area, turn right after reception. The children’s play area looked really good. This park is best suited to caravans or Campervans as you really need 4 wheels to get anywhere. Brynteg village is a walk along a busy road or via a very overgrown path. There are no real walks direct from the site as many OS footpaths on Anglesey interior are overgrown and not pleasant to walk along. However you are in the middle of Anglesey and can drive to stunning beaches and the coastal path within about 15 minutes.

Debs58

Campervanner from Gwynedd

Reviewed on 14/07/2021 14:53

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Excellent Site

First visit to Anglesey . Penrhos is a great site to base yourself to explore Anglesey and the Snowdonia National Park Arrived to a very warm welcome from the site team who were more than happy to answer any questions regarding the area and places of interest Site and Facilities kept to a high standard as you would expect from a club site Lots to see and do in the area 5 days was not enough Thank you site team for your lovely welcome and all your hard work during these difficult times 👍

N700JAF

Reviewed on 11/07/2021 21:15

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer