Rookesbury Park Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

.......great site!! great staff/site team

We're frequent visitors to Rookesbury Park Club site (with family living close by). The site is what it is full - of abundant, natural beauty. Just left earlier this week after 4th or 5th visit of the year and we will be returning in 2024 for probably the same number (perhaps more). However, it's a little sad as the whole staff team will be in pastures new in 2024 which is a shame but change is inevitable (apparently!). Hopefully the replacements at Rookesbury will do a grand job keeping this forest site up to the high standards. Thanks for looking after us Paul, Libby, Sal & Steve supported by others but you guys have been the backbone as it were and perhaps we will pitch up near you again........ good look and enjoy a winter rest

North Yorkshire Paul

Caravanner

Reviewed on 19/10/2023 17:36

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

GOOD FRIENDLY SITE

We visit Rookesbury quite regularly as it's convenient for visiting family. We never have any complaints, the site is well cared for in every area and the staff are always friendly and welcoming. We love the fact that the whole area is alive with wildlife, including loads of pheasants, rabbits, various birds etc. It's easy walking (providing the ground is reasonably dry) to The Roebuck pub and onwards on the disused railway line to Wickham, although do not attempt the long walk (approx 6 miles there and back) if you're not sure you can make it back as there are no buses to take you back (as we found out!). There is so much to do in this area too, Portsmouth is fascinating and it's definitely worth visiting the Mary Rose. Approach Portsmouth on the motorway and when you see the "sail" (you'll know when you see it) take the next exit. Follow the road and you will pick up the Park & Ride, very useful and it takes you right into Gun Wharf and the Spinnaker. Southampton and Winchester are also great days out. It feels as if you are really tucked away from the outside world at Rookesbury and once you're set up you'll be sorry to leave.

PeeBee149

Caravanner

Reviewed on 09/10/2023 17:20

16 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good site with fantastic wardens

Good site which is convenient for the ferry port at Portsmouth. However, if you are arriving off the late ferry the lighting up the the very narrow lane to the site is non existent and maneuvering on to the ferry pitches in the darkness is difficult. The site is good with very clean and tidy facilities and extremely helpful and friendly wardens.

Priston

Reviewed on 06/10/2023 10:56

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Fabulous!

Love this site. We were supposed to stay for a week but our next site was waterlogged (in a heat wave!) so we were able to add on another week keeping the same pitch. The plots are tidy and very spacious. Everywhere is clean. The shower blocks are modern and are spotless no matter which time of day. I like the way they have set up four or five waste disposal sites around the site instead of having a single compound. These are emptied every morning so there is no issue with smell & insects etc. The management and staff are superb. Always smiling and very helpful plus they seem, quite rightly, proud of the place. The location is great, nestled in a clearing in a forest so there lots of walks and a very nice atmosphere. The area has lots to do. Portsmouth, Wareham and Southampton plus the local market town of Wickham is delightful with the old town square, disused railway line which is great for walks plus the odd vineyard on the way. There are many other places to visit. We are going to have to go back next year to finish the current list off!! My only negative is the WI-FI. Being located on a hill in a forest the phone reception is bad and the WI-FI isn't much better. I gather this a general problem with club sites which hopefully will be sorted soon.

ScreenName0298BD0B4E

Caravanner

Reviewed on 29/09/2023 18:02

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Muddy Field

We stayed at Rookesbury Park for its location near the Portsmouth Ferry port. A ferry pitch was booked and when we arrived the area was empty. Reading the instructions we went to pitch number 1. This was unusable due to the standing water and mud. So onto pitch number 2, this wasn't flooded but still muddy. As others arrived they just pitched up where they wanted! We had a stopover in France at Camping Chateau De Chanteloup. What a delightful location. The ferry pitch, on a sloping muddy field, cost £39.10. A pitch at a French Chateau £31.00. No comparison.

nottsneil

Caravanner

Reviewed on 28/09/2023 15:28

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Good location

Have been to site several times over the years, access road into site takes you away from main roads so it can be peaceful - the Forest of Bere next to site is great for dogs and children alike to let off steam and run about (can get very muddy) Dog exercise field is still a good size as the other half was turned into a camping field ( I won't start on that !!) You can walk into the local village of Wickham- lovely walk with small selection shops, pubs & eateries (approx.1 hr - route has been changed slightly due to landowner) via the woods and the Meon Valley trail (note: One stop is cheaper than Co-op ) Shower blocks are clean & tidy - the usual club standard although a water service point would be good for pitches down near the dog field end as it's a trek uphill on both sides for water and emptying waste. Information room has the usual book/dvd exchange & plenty of info where or what to do. There are mobile food vans couple nights a week, tried the Fish & Chips on Friday night and was impressed - good quality & not greasy. If visiting Portsmouth go in via the Park & Ride - excellent value for money, no worries about parking so just take your time. It stops near Gunwharf Quays - shopping outlet with plenty to see & eat, Spinnaker Tower etc, or take time to visit the Historic Dockyard - well worth it. So apart from inconsiderate site users who let their dogs (four in total) bark when walking them at 1.00am !! or those that continue to walk around the back of your caravan, it's good site in good location with plenty to keep you occupied whether it be sightseeing, walking in the woods or just chilling out with a book....

usanddog

Caravanner

Reviewed on 21/09/2023 15:36

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Relaxing leafy retreat

Only had one night here, but will be back. Its spacious and open, set within accessible woodland for walks. Huge dog field and all facilities very good, with helpful wardens. Great fish & chip van on Friday night appreciated.

ScreenName64CDD91B64

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 20/09/2023 16:01

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Outstanding

This is an excellent site, extremely well-managed by Libby, Paul and the team. Facilities are spotless and cleaned in the afternoon, a real bonus. Pitches are generous and well-maintained, and the shop is lovely and much-needed. We had a warm and friendly welcome here and returned for a longer stay this stay after an earlier visit this year as we liked it so much.

markmagic

Reviewed on 19/09/2023 20:19

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Pleasant stay for the second time this year.

Warm welcome on arrival and swift process. Site was quite full but no problems in finding a pitch. Nice to see a variety of ways you can now position your outfit on a pitch. Toilet block was kept clean but half the showers and toilets were out of action with notices on doors to say sorry not in use. Is this so that site staff have less to clean? By Friday the site was pretty full so things were stretched.

goshawk

Caravanner

Reviewed on 12/09/2023 15:12

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer