St Agnes Beacon Club Campsite

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful location

This is a great site, in a fabulous location with wonderful views across to Godrevy Head and St. Ives. It can be a bit exposed if the wind gets up, but that is the trade-off! Bring storm straps if you have an awning. The site is well placed for access to mid and West Cornwall. Porthtowan and Perranporth are very close and both excellent beaches. You can walk from the site to the coast path which will get you into St. Agnes and Chapel Porth. The site is probably not so good for families as it has no toilets or showers, but that means it is generally a quiet site. St. Agnes is a lovely village with more of a permanent population than places like Perranporth, so it has some character of its own. There is a small business that sells fresh fish on the road down to Chapel Porth which is highly recommended. The Everington pasties from the shop in the village near the Railway Arms are excellent and the bakery in Churchtown is very good. The access road is basically single track with some places where you can pass a car coming the other way and you are strongly advised not to arrive before 1.00 pm (you will not be admitted to the site anyway before then) because you are likely to encounter a caravan or motorhome leaving the club site or the commercial site next door. Meeting another caravan on that road is definitely not recommended - one of you will have to reverse! I don't know why the Club does not put this in the book. The pitches are all grass and, to be honest, some are in need of levelling and maintenance in the winter (and have been for some years - CAMC please take note!). You will definitely need levelling blocks - high ones one some pitches - and your awning base may not be very flat or level. Some pitches down by the hedge along the road are more sheltered, but have no views and get some road noise. The wardens, Viv and Ray, are great - very friendly and helpful, as are the reserve wardens, Billy and (I forget his wife's name). There is wifi (now free), but it is appallingly slow, and if you have a reasonable data allowance on your phone, you should get a good signal from the Four Lanes mast on the hill to the south-west that you can see from the site and I find that the mobile data from that is far better. I even managed a work Teams meeting using mobile data during my stay! The digital TV signal is very strong from that mast.

UncleRob

Reviewed on 16/09/2023 23:24

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

A little gem!

We stayed on this site in august and it was no more than half full. If it had been full, the pitches may have been tighter and we would not have enjoyed it as much. Very peaceful. The roads leading up to the site are tight but we have a large caravan and managed fine. Welcoming wardens, we would definitely stay again.

Hpockley1

Caravanner

Reviewed on 23/08/2023 14:23

4 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Best site EVER with the best staff EVER!

From the outset, the hosts (Viv and Ray) were incredibly welcoming and helpful. The are 2 of the most genuine and likeable people you could ever meet and I'm so very pleased that they were hosts to one of the nicest spots on the North Cornwall coast. Getting to the site requires some patience and I would suggest a reasonably good ability to manoeuvre your caravan (especially if you have a twin axle model) through the tight lanes. However, choosing your route and time of entry/exit is probably key. The site has no shower/toilet block, but there are enough waste/fill point to accommodate4 your needs. The views are as per the pictures, quite stunning and the nearby walks are also fantastic for both humans and 4 legged companions. I managed to leave some guide ropes and a flag/flagpole on site (don't ask, I was tired), and when I called a couple of hours later, I can only imagine that Ray & Viv had packaged it that very same day as it arrived here less than 2 days later. Now that's service and a half!!! Great spot to park up for a few days and use as a base to go to all of Cornwall as it's ventral and nothing is more than about 45 mins-1hour away. We will most definitely be back. Thank you for the best stay EVER!!!

Obiwan JediJitsu

Caravanner

Reviewed on 25/07/2023 10:41

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Perfect Location

We came to this site for the first time last year. It was rammed full (in June) but still had a wonderful time here. When we were alerted by an email from the club there were vacancies in August we were surprised but jumped at the chance. We booked for seven but stayed for nine days. The weather wasn't bad and we were able to get on the beach three times. There is so much to do in the area whatever the weather! The hosts Viv and Ray were here last year. They are lovely people and great ambassadors for the club. Nothing is too much trouble and in fact Viv gave my wife some of her washing powder as we didn't have any with us! They made our stay even better - thank you both! We will go there again - we find it better as few children are there as there are no facilities or play areas. It may not suit all but for pensioners, its perfect!

Delbert Maltbug

Caravanner from Somerset

Reviewed on 29/08/2022 15:54

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

St Agnes

Very kind and helpful on our arrival. Beautifully quiet surroundings. Lovely to hear birds 'talking' instead of traffic zooming by.

ScreenNameA79580AC3B

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 11/07/2022 05:42

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Total bliss

Third time of visiting and I really didn't want to leave. Site is so peaceful and only a 10 minute walk away from the coastal path where there is walking in both directions with awesome views.

sparky46

Caravanner

Reviewed on 06/07/2022 18:44

4 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Lovely quiet site with great views and walks

Great site and will be returning again at some time - I left 5 stars for facilities as the ones that were there were fine, but there is no toilet or shower block on site so you are required to use your own (I know this will bother some people) Very friendly and cheerful staff about and generally a very happy site with great walks

Dave1298

Reviewed on 21/06/2022 19:33

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Wonderful stay at St Agnes!!

We have recently returned from a wonderful stay at this site…… so wonderful that we extended our stay as didn’t want to leave! The site is beautifully kept & very peaceful. The pitches are well arranged with many having a view of the sea. The wardens are extremely friendly and helpful & are doing a fantastic job! We enjoyed some amazing walks with our dogs from the site along the coast path, to beaches & up to the Beacon; there’s also a small dog walk on site. There is no toilet block, but we’re happy with this as we use our own facilities anyway. We will definitely be back!!

SJFergs

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 18/06/2022 12:25

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Lovely location

Lovely site in a great location with wonderful views along the coast and out to see. Old Cornish tin mine within easy walking distance and many walks to choose from.The wardens were very friendly and helpful. The only thing that spoilt our visit was the very narrow lanes with overhanging hedgerows on the approach to the site resulting in hedge branches scratching the sides of our motorhome. We appreciate that the maintenance of roadside hedgerows is not under the control of the Club and presumably is the responsibility of the local Highways Department who no doubt will say that they cannot cut hedgerows during the bird nesting season. But would it be possible to put pressure on them to give the hedgerows a good trim before the start of the bird nesting season. Apart from the above we had a wonderful stay on a lovely site.

ScreenNameAE59622788

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 27/05/2022 11:54

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Friendly welcome

Though no toilet/shower facilities the site is kept well tended, bins regularly emptied. Waste area in general kept tidy and clean. Grass kept short. Lovely small dog walking area, enough for dogs to stretch their legs. Couple who run the site are so friendly, it felt like you were visiting friends. They care about the site and visitors which makes such difference. Great sea views and on the door step coastal walks. Easy walk to St Agnes though up hill on the way back. When in reception take a look at Viv's artwork, she is quite shy about it but they are superb and should be on display, you can see the passion she has put into them. Live this site.

ScreenName7CD5BBD5D3

Caravanner

Reviewed on 18/05/2022 20:15

2 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer