Rated 4 of 5

Rated 3 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Just a grumble

We have visited this site numerous times and the selling point is the location. For visiting York it can’t be beaten if you want to avoid the hassle and cost of getting into the centre. The site is good enough although crammed in to maximise number of outfits and is not conducive to really relaxation. Of all the sites we visit though this one has the most inconsistent implementation of rules by the warden teams (not just the current ones). We were disturbed today as my partner has his van parked in the proper place to the left of the caravan and the tow car is where the awning should be - which we haven’t put up due to weather. The van is only here because my partner got stuck behind a serious accident on the way home from work so had to meet me at the site instead of home as planned. The actual website says extra cars are allowed, but we have just had an off hand warden tells us this isn’t allowed. It wasn’t a secret either - the other warden yesterday said it was fine. Meanwhile there are windbreaks all over the place on other pitches (not allowed according to rules), children playing ball games (not allowed according to the rules), outfits left without people staying (not allowed according to the rules), and all apparently unchecked. I have no issue complying with rules at all, but if you are enforcing them, then let’s have consistency across the board.

Reviewed on

2 reviews

2 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

tilda1509 replied on 10/08/2019 18:54

Posted on 10/08/2019 17:18 by JVB66

No space in car park? or £2 per add car, and you can leave outfits on site ( in rules)no wind breaks local rule? ball games ?

Posted on 10/08/2019 18:54

Hi. Yes there were spaces in the car park, but unfortunately they are locked off. No issue at all paying - done it on other sites in the past. Ball games is in the rules - not sure if you have been to this site but there is certainly insufficient room to kick/throw balls around without infringing on pitches. 

tilda1509 replied on 10/08/2019 18:55

Posted on 10/08/2019 17:32 by Tinwheeler

The complaint should be addressed to the club as described in the guidelines rather than being inappropriately placed in a site review.

Posted on 10/08/2019 18:55

Hi. This isn’t a formal complaint, it’s a review of the site with my observations. 

Tinwheeler replied on 10/08/2019 19:07

Posted on 10/08/2019 18:55 by tilda1509

Hi. This isn’t a formal complaint, it’s a review of the site with my observations. 

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:07

Clearly it’s not a formal complaint because it’s in a site review. The point is that a review isn’t the place to raise a complaint or, as you call it, a grumble. 

Your grumble in no way represents what others may expect to find on site as it refers to a fleeting event pertinent only to you. If you read the Community Guidelines relevant to reviews you’ll see the sense of what I’m saying. Also, you will see the reference relating to comments being made about club staff.

 

Dorset Diver replied on 10/08/2019 19:28

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:07 by Tinwheeler

Clearly it’s not a formal complaint because it’s in a site review. The point is that a review isn’t the place to raise a complaint or, as you call it, a grumble. 

Your grumble in no way represents what others may expect to find on site as it refers to a fleeting event pertinent only to you. If you read the Community Guidelines relevant to reviews you’ll see the sense of what I’m saying. Also, you will see the reference relating to comments being made about club staff.

 

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:28

Still practicing for your modship TW 😉😀.

tilda1509 replied on 10/08/2019 19:35

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:07 by Tinwheeler

Clearly it’s not a formal complaint because it’s in a site review. The point is that a review isn’t the place to raise a complaint or, as you call it, a grumble. 

Your grumble in no way represents what others may expect to find on site as it refers to a fleeting event pertinent only to you. If you read the Community Guidelines relevant to reviews you’ll see the sense of what I’m saying. Also, you will see the reference relating to comments being made about club staff.

 

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:35

Hi. If my comments caused offence to anyone then I sincere apologies, however I do not agree they are offensive in any way. My point was about the inconsistency of staff even in relation to this one point - that is not opinion, it is fact, although clearly I understand people can all make mistakes. All reviews are often based upon personal opinion that is relevant to some and not all. Surely the point is to cover, between all members, a range of matters. I do not care what time the toilet block closes for example, therefore I pay less attention to such reviews, but for others this is very important- different views and perspectives are what support members to make their own minds up. 

replied on 10/08/2019 19:41

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:07 by Tinwheeler

Clearly it’s not a formal complaint because it’s in a site review. The point is that a review isn’t the place to raise a complaint or, as you call it, a grumble. 

Your grumble in no way represents what others may expect to find on site as it refers to a fleeting event pertinent only to you. If you read the Community Guidelines relevant to reviews you’ll see the sense of what I’m saying. Also, you will see the reference relating to comments being made about club staff.

 

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:41

Fleeting event?

 

If we have one warden saying one thing then another saying something different, I doubt it's an isolated incident.

Laid back?

It's what I thought this caravaning malarkey was about.

 I say this whilst cooking Tempura Prawns, home made.

Im  in the awning on frying duty.

See what I mean, no rules on my seasonal site to speak off, we all just chill out.

 Sorry but let's talk about wardens  I think this links very nicely with the now closed thread.

 

Sorry for the OP, I hope your holiday mood is still intact.

Just laugh it off. Your on hols, misery guts is at work!

👍

JVB66 replied on 10/08/2019 19:44

Posted on 10/08/2019 18:54 by tilda1509

Hi. Yes there were spaces in the car park, but unfortunately they are locked off. No issue at all paying - done it on other sites in the past. Ball games is in the rules - not sure if you have been to this site but there is certainly insufficient room to kick/throw balls around without infringing on pitches. 

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:44

Have been several times and do not recognize the "problem"you hadsurprised

tilda1509 replied on 10/08/2019 19:49

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:44 by JVB66

Have been several times and do not recognize the "problem"you hadsurprised

Posted on 10/08/2019 19:49

Brilliant. Pleased you had a lovely time 😁