Haliotis

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Haliotis June 2022

Haliotis Pontorson June 2022 We (2 persons and 1 dog Lola) stayed here for 7 nights in June 2022. The site is 10 km from Mont San Michel (MSM) and a cycle path at the side of the site runs all the way. The plots are large and some are partly shaded with mature trees. They are separated by hedges. The pool is adequate but I think in high season could be crowded. At this time with the kids in school it is possible to be the only person swimming. The facilities are unisex, no toilet seats, but paper provided and hand driers. The showers are very good. There is a nice 10 minute shaded walk into Pontorson at the side of the river. The river is tidal and the flow up and down is significant. The opposite direction takes you to MSM. If visiting MSM, I recommend that you use the bus from Pontorson if not cycling. To park at MSM costs 15 euros. Don't go on a hot day. Choose a cloudy day in summer or visit in another season. It is a bit like the exodus so expect crowds. There are free shuttle buses that take you the last 2.5 km or you can walk, but not cycle. Don't take a dog. They are not allowed on the buses and the walk in hot weather is a killer. The site has a Carrefour supermarket 10 minutes walk - turn left out of entrance and left again. We visited the vets to get the worming tablet for the dog before our return. Cabinet Veterinaire St Michel in the centre of Pontorson. English speaking and very good with the dog. Most people stay on the site for a few days before moving on . There is not much around apart from MSM. The beaches are about 40 minute drive. Nice place to stop to break a journey

storiths

Campervanner

Reviewed on 16/06/2022 12:58

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Excellent

We stayed here recently and really loved this site. The pitches are well spaced with EHU and water. It’s a five minute to the supermarket and only five minutes along the river nearby to the town. The town is very pretty with lots of hanging baskets. There is a cycle path directly from the site leading to Mont St. Michel. We recommend this site as it is so friendly and everything is on hand. WiFi is free all around the site. We will certainly return.

GardenerJohn

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 03/10/2019 11:34

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

September 2019

We used this site on our way back from the Loire Valley and what a gem. The pitches were very large and we had plenty of sunshine. The onsite bar and mini shop were also very good and you could order your bread for the next morning at reception (we preferred to us the local bakery a short walk from the site). The small though small was also very well maintained and was warm. Our only criticism was the cleanliness of the toilets as they got dirty at times and it took a while to get them cleaned. The site is well located and there is a path at the rear that takes you into Pontorson along the river. Pontorson itself is worthy of a visit and if you have your bicycle follow the river in the opposite direction and after 7K you will be at Le Mon-Saint-Michel. If you want to visit the abbey you will need to leave your bike at the dedicated bike park and you can either take the leisurely 2K stroll or hope onto one of the free bus shuttles. This is a site that we will use again

Sam and Daff

from Down

Reviewed on 23/09/2019 20:47

7 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

2 day stopover

We were heading for Vendee and Loire so this site made the perfect start to our holiday from Cherbourg. Although nearly full the staff were friendly and helpful. The pool was warm and clean and all facilities were of a high standard. We have been before and wouldn't hesitate to call in again. We've done St Malo and Mont St. Michel in the past so a trip to Fougeres was a great day out and recommended.

awaydays

Caravanner from Dorset

Reviewed on 13/09/2019 20:57

5 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice location huge service pitch

Great location for access from St Malo. Huge services pitch, I have seen a pitch this size used for 4 units unserviced in other places. Whole site clean, nice pool, bar and reception. Pizza van excellent as is the visiting mussels van. Carrefour supermarket in walking distance, turn left out if the entrance. Mont St Michel just a 3 euro bus journey and an excellent place to visit. Bayeux 70 miles, tapestry, battle museum and Baron Gerard, get a triple ticket. Spread it over 2 days and do the Normandy beaches as well, makes 2 good days out. St,. Malo aquarium is also excellent. Rennes for shopping centres 45 miles also good. Touring over just relax on site or visit Pontorson the local town. Market Wednesday. Great for staying for a few days and a good stop off 25 miles from St Malo if you are going further down.

Dcstubbs

Caravanner

Reviewed on 22/08/2019 23:27

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

This is a lovely site with excellent large pitches. You can walk in to Pontorson town along the riverbank, and can also walk or cycle the 9km to Mont St Michel. Very convenient for visiting St Malo and Mont St Michel. There is a good Carrefour supermarket a short walk from the site. Staff very friendly and helpful and facilities good. Only slight moan is that there are no loo seats on the loos. Good site for kids with nice pool, play areas and lots of small fields of animals (goats, chickens etc).

Al and Gerry Smith

Reviewed on 28/05/2019 13:49

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site for Mont Saint-Michel

Stayed here for it's convenient location to Mont Saint-Michel. Nice site with lots to do for the kids, someone had put a lot of thought into providing a range of activities for them. Stayed here over Easter holidays and were disappointed the pool wasn't open yet as it's considered too early in the season, but I think that most sites don't open their pools that early in the year. (shame for us as it was 25 degrees). Reception staff were friendly enough. Enjoyed ordering croissants and bread to collect from reception in the morning, although the town's bakery and Carrefour are only a short walk away. Our pitch was tricky to get to (very tight bend), but I'd say that was the exception as most pitches looked very easy to access. The toilet block was clean and modern. The washing machine/tumble dryers were a handy facility and easy to use too. I would recommend buying tickets direct from the caravan site for Mont Saint-Michel to avoid the queues at peak times from the Monastry itself.

LucyLucky13

Caravanner

Reviewed on 05/05/2019 23:43

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Visit to Mons St Michael

A great location for visiting Mons St michael. The site is vibrant with large pitches and nsmall but nice swimming pool. Reception staff very friendly and helpful. site is very close to medium size town with good shops and a reasonable supermarket with fuel. Thers is a lovely Restaurant 5 minutes walk away. Big bonus is the frequent bus service to Mons St Michael at 3 euros each way. This bus takes you all the way to the end of the causeway and avoids you having to use the very busy park and ride shuttle. Mons st michael is free admission apart from the Cathedral itself which costs 10 euros. There are lots of tourist shops and restaurants which are not too highly priced. I would reccomend this site. Andy

armstrongandy

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 01/08/2018 14:27

20 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer