Lou P'tit Poun

Rated 4 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Quiet site away from the coast.

Loved this site but it could be so much better with a few changes. Very friendly and welcoming owners but a distinct lack of information on check in. No map which is unusual. For example, we found out about the bread ordering service by accident. Beautifully laid out site which is so well cared for. The site was about a tenth full when we visited but for some strange reasons a caravan was put less than a metre from ours. So many lovely alternative pitches! Why not spread us out a bit ! The pool is amazing. New And so clean. The loo blocks are dated. No loo seats and small Shower cubicles with a distinct lack of hooks. Water to wash up was tepid. Tennis court is neglected. And again without a map we stumbled upon it by accident. Very easy access from motorway and free shuttle bus to the coast. We cycled out of the rear of the site and along a lovely path next to the river. Glad we chose it over the bedlem was saw on the coast.

suew

Caravanner from Lancashire

Reviewed on 29/08/2021 17:33

10 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Well laid out site with large pitches

Second visit to Lou P'Tit Poun. When we arrived at the end of July the site was in excellent condition. The pitches are large and have good access to water etc. Pool very clean if a little cold. Free bus to Ondres beach is a real plus. Supermarket handy in St Martin de Siegnanx. Good site for easy visits to Bayonne, Biarritz and especially St Jean de Luz. On the minus side, there was no hot water in the upper shower block or dishwashing area but it is only a little distance to the main block. Also there are no toilet seats but there is loo paper. The Wifi is very poor generally - now you have it, now you don't. Would still come again as it is overall very pleasant and a short hop over into Spain which was next on our tour.

Response from Site:

Thank you for your review. In 2020 the site is investing in the swimming pool with a new spa area and lagoon for children and it’s going to be heated. Wifi is now free of charge and toilet paper provided.

devonduo

Reviewed on 06/09/2018 15:23

8 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good one night stop

A nice looking site handy for enroute South towards Spain. Reception was friendly but there was a lack of information from the receptionist which was a shame. Pool looked good but the bar area was closed and used neither. Toilets and showers looked ok but again we did not use either preferring our own. We will stay here again but will take the time to look around the area which sadly we did not have time for on this trip.

dougiec

Caravanner from Fife

Reviewed on 02/09/2017 17:54

25 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 2 of 5

Good for families

Most expensive and run down

We are touring (for a year) this was the most we paid to stay for 1 week, and WIFI ridiculous at 22€ & I rarely got signal, very poor! Site right off main Rd, we asked for quiet pitch, was given one closest to rd, back of site seemed much better we later found but too late to move. Yes Flowers and Greenery are lovely, but at the expense of everything else unfortunately. Toilets no seats or tissue, yes this can happen in France but at cheaper campsites we got better. Showers cold/tepid only & a lot don't spray right, night time lights seemed to be off or not all working properly. Plants badly overgrown onto rd we scraped our caravan quite a bit. Tennis courts and badminton courts wrecked no nets or extremely poor, flooring poor, fencing wrecked at bottom meaning balls roll out & as on slope they roll off site into neighbours! Swimming pool is nice, but entrance to it was unappealing & needed tidying, bar area cracked floor tiles, also expensive. Couldn't cycle straight off site with child as onto extremely busy main rd, also no where to walk. This was obviously once a well loved site but they seem to have lost their way or just given up as it badly needs some love again, and not just to the plants !!! In its current state would not recommend, it is not up to its advertised statement and there is better and cheaper available!

PooleSwindon

Reviewed on 14/08/2017 11:33

1 review

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 4 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 3 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great site

We stayed for a couple of nights at this great start as part of our CamperVan tour but could easily have stayed for much longer. Very large pitches on an immaculate site meant there was no feeling of being cramped or to close to our neighbours. Owners were keen to attend our every need and we really enjoyed this location.

JohnWright

Motorhomer

Reviewed on 29/07/2017 07:46

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Very Relaxing

​We stayed here in July 2017 - arriving without a booking and ending up staying for 9 wonderful nights. Without a doubt, this has to be the best site in France. Imagine a very quiet site with extremely large pitches and a site that is green and manicured and you start to get the picture. The site staff are cheerful and always ready to help. The pool area is clean and spacious - with plenty of sun beds - and the pool side bar serves ice creams and drinks etc at very reasonable prices. There is the added bonus of a shuttle bus that takes you, free of charge, to the very nice beach at Ondres. If I had one 'complaint' about Lou P'Tit Poun, it would be that it's opening season (mid June to mid September) is too short.

LeicesterFox

Caravanner

Reviewed on 20/07/2017 15:00

15 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Peaceful parkland

We originally booked 5 nights but stayed for 20. A peaceful relaxing holiday, ideal for retirees & those with young families. If you want action try the campsites on the coast. There is a SuperU 10 minutes away by car, with a Saturday market adjacent. We were only aware of background traffic noise in the rush hour. Ask at Reception for details of a cycle path to the coast. Pitches are huge and set in beautiful parkland. When we were there in September 2016, there were only 6-8 other pitches occupied. We will definitely go again.

Hitchlock

Reviewed on 17/10/2016 11:17

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 3 of 5

Good for families

Good for our needs

I obviously come from a different planet. The management were cheerful and helpful through out our two week stay. The bar/café has limited facilities but there are nearby places if one wants to eat out. Families there varied from toddlers to teenagers and all seemed to enjoy being there, and using the three play areas. The pitch we were on was massive with all facilities available but extension leads and hoses for electricity and waste water were needed.

Jonvox

Caravanner from Cambridgeshire

Reviewed on 31/07/2015 15:43

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 1 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 3 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 1 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Don't go.

This was a terrible site. teenagers were bored and you must drive everywhere, bars, shops, beach, restaurants. There are no cycle paths either.  Unfriendly owner. OK if you just want to park up for a stop over as its pretty enough. Don't arrive between 12pm and 2 pm you will not get in. 

Response from the Caravan Club:

Many thanks for taking the time to review this site on our website; we are glad that you found the area attractive.  However we do regret that the site did not live up to your expectations, we have contacted the site and asked them to address the issues that you have raised.  It’s also good to be aware that many continental sites – mainly those in France and Spain will shut between 12pm and 2pm and the barriers may be shut.  At the Caravan Club we are always happy to advise you of the opening and closing dates of facilities on site to avoid disappointment.

Response from Lou P’tit Poun:

We are so sorry that this family didn’t spend a good holiday on our site. I am very surprised because most English people are happy when they visit our site and say that they have good holidays.

I know in the low season we don’t have a bar or restaurant. 

We are at 10 km from the beach and since two years we have a free shuttle to go to Ondres beach in July and August

In high season, you can find bread, ice cream, a take away, a bar and a restaurant on our campsite.

Mc Sauvy

Walshie

Reviewed on 29/01/2015 18:28

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer