Results of the Caravan and Motorhome Club Motorhome Design Awards 2019


The results of the twentieth Caravan and Motorhome Club Motorhome Design Awards - this year sponsored by Avtex, Sat Navs that are exclusively endorsed by the Club and specifically for use with caravans and motorhomes - were announced at the NEC on Friday 22 February 2019.

Judging took place during the Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show at the NEC in February. 99 vehicles were submitted for the Motorhome Design Awards. 

The aim of the Competition is to provide the best quality, and quantity, of information to members and buyers.

Vehicles were assessed by an independent panel of judges who assessed criteria including electrics and safety, comfort, kitchen/washrooms, air conditioning, heating and ventilation systems, technical aspects and stowage. Although the judges did not drive the vehicles, the scoring of the vehicles still evaluated driving elements such as seating positions, handbrake positions, visibility, safety whilst travelling in habitation area, front seat comfort and driver ergonomics.

There were 19 entries in the Dealer Special categories. The definition of a dealer special is that the motorhome must be badged and named differently to the manufacturer’s model. These models are only available to purchase new through the dealer, or network of dealers, and are not available from the manufacturer direct.

Grenville Chamberlain, Chairman of the Caravan and Motorhome Club, who announced the results commented, “This competition goes from strength to strength and continues to provide an invaluable source of data for consumers looking to purchase a motorhome or campervan. Ninety-nine vehicles were evaluated during the Caravan, Camping & Motorhome Show by our panel of independent judges. Huge congratulations to all the worthy winners.”

Judges for the Caravan and Motorhome Club Motorhome Design Awards 2019

  • Andrew Ditton – journalist
  • Martin Dorey – journalist and presenter
  • Sammy Fairclough – journalist
  • David Jones – Events Committee member
  • Margaret Jones – volunteer
  • Gary Martin – Editor Caravan and Motorhome Club Magazine
  • Alison Owen – journalist
  • Peter Rosenthal – Campervan Magazine
  • Martin Spencer – Technical Manager, Caravan and Motorhome Club

Press team contacts

Media Contacts:

Contact our press team - they're happy to help with any media enquiries.

For more press information, please email Nikki Nichol at the Caravan and Motorhome Club on or by calling 07771 834443.

Or contact the Four Communications press team, by emailing Victoria Eltis and Helen Coop at or call 07891 423322.

For general enquiries, please contact us on:

Motorhome Design Awards

Motorhome and Campervan Design Awards

Browse this year's winners of the Club's Motorhome and Campervan Design Awards.

Find out more

Winning entrants