The Caravan and Motorhome Club Caravan Design Awards 2019 & Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards 2019


Caravan Design Awards

The results of the twenty fourth Caravan and Motorhome Club Caravan Design Awards and the
seventeenth Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards were announced at the NEC on Friday 19 October
2018. The awards were presented by Club Chairman, Grenville Chamberlain, and Club Director
General, Nick Lomas.

Judging took place during the Motorhome and Caravan Show at the NEC in October. Ninety vehicles
were submitted for the Caravan Design Awards and thirty two for the Lightweight Leisure Trailer

The purpose of the Awards is to provide guidance for Club members who are looking to change their
current caravan or trailer tent. The Club’s Award results are always eagerly anticipated for this very
reason. The Caravan Design and Lightweight Leisure Awards offer fair, independent and objective
assessments of the vehicles submitted for scrutiny. All caravan and lightweight trailer
manufacturers, importers and dealers are invited to submit entries.

The panel of independent Judges for the Caravan Design Awards follow rigorous scoring checklists.
Judges assess everything from sitting comfort, standing headroom, kitchen design, storage,
switches, wiring, security, repair and warranty arrangements to general safety.

Similarly, Judges for the Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards assess everything from weights and
measures to Thermal Insulation Grade and recommended tyre pressures. Further scrutiny awarded
merit for build quality, setting up on site, together with sleeping and living accommodation.

Grenville Chamberlain, Chairman of the Caravan and Motorhome Club, who announced the results
commented, “The information and data gathered during the judging process is invaluable to our
members – and the caravanning community as a whole. This unbiased information enables people
to make informed choices when buying a caravan or trailer tent. The Club extends its
congratulations to all the worthy winners, and its sincere thanks to the industry for their continued
support of these competitions.”


Judges for Caravan Design Awards

Andrew Ditton – Journalist
Nick Haynes – Events Committee, Caravan and Motorhome Club
Gary Martin – Editor, Caravan and Motorhome Club Magazine
Alison Owen – Journalist
Martin Spencer – Technical Manager, Caravan and Motorhome Club
Dan Cartwright – Journalist

Judges for Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards

Martin Dorey – Journalist
Richard Evans – Technical Advisor, Caravan and Motorhome Club
Barrie Livesey – Caravan and Motorhome Club
Dave Rickard – Caravan and Motorhome Club

Press team contacts

Contact our press team - they're happy to help with any media enquiries.

Nikki Nichol
External Comms & Sponsorship Manager

01342 336 797
07771 834 443

For press information and imagery, please contact Molly Downes, Zoe Poulton or Helen Coop at Four Travel:

0203 697 4200 

For general enquiries, please contact us on: