Caravan and Motorhome Club Caravan Design Awards 2020 & Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards 2020


The results of the twenty-fifth Caravan and Motorhome Club Caravan Design Awards and the eighteenth Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards were announced at the NEC on Friday 18 October 2019. The awards were presented by Club Chairman, Grenville Chamberlain OBE, and Club Director General, Nick Lomas.

Judging took place during the Motorhome and Caravan Show at the NEC in October.
Ninety-six vehicles were submitted for the Caravan Design Awards and thirty-eight for the
Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards.

The purpose of the Awards is to provide guidance for Club members who are looking to change their current caravan or trailer tent. The Club’s Award results are always eagerly anticipated for this very reason. The Caravan Design and Lightweight Leisure Awards offer fair, independent and objective assessments of the vehicles submitted for scrutiny. All caravan and lightweight trailer manufacturers, importers and dealers are invited to submit entries.

The panel of independent Judges for the Caravan Design Awards follow rigorous scoring checklists. Judges assess everything from sitting comfort, standing headroom, kitchen design, storage, switches, wiring, security, repair and warranty arrangements to general safety.

Similarly, Judges for the Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards assess everything from weights and measures to Thermal Insulation Grade and recommended tyre pressures. Further scrutiny awarded merit for build quality, setting up on-site, together with sleeping and living accommodation.

Grenville Chamberlain OBE, Chairman of the Caravan and Motorhome Club, who announced the results commented, “Touring holidays are hugely popular and the information and data gathered during the judging process is invaluable to our members and consumers looking to buy a new leisure vehicle. The Club extends its congratulations to all the worthy winners and its sincere thanks to the industry for their continued support of these competitions.”

Judges for Caravan Design Awards

Dan Cartwright – Journalist
Andrew Ditton – Journalist
Nick Haynes – Events Committee, Caravan and Motorhome Club
Alison Owen – Journalist
Martin Spencer – Technical Manager, Caravan and Motorhome Club
Mark Sutcliffe – Journalist

Judges for Lightweight Leisure Trailer Awards
Sammy Fairclough – Journalist
Barrie Livesey – Caravan and Motorhome Club
Dave Rickard – Caravan and Motorhome Club
Giles Starling – Technical Advisor, Caravan and Motorhome Club

Press Enquiries:
Nikki Nichol
External Communications & Sponsorship Manager
07771 834443/01342 336797

Press team contacts

Contact our press team - they're happy to help with any media enquiries.

Nikki Nichol
External Comms & Sponsorship Manager

07771 834 443 - Please note, this number is for journalists/media enquiries only and they will not be able to assist with general member enquiries. For member enquiries, visit our Contact Us page.

For press information and imagery, please contact Zoe Poulton or Helen Coop at Four Travel:

0203 697 4200 

For general enquiries, please contact us on: