Grafham Water Caravan Club Site (REF : GFW)

Church Road, Grafham, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, PE28 0BB

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Cycling
  • Dogs
  • Families
  • Walking

Why stay here ...

Grafham Water Club Site is a peaceful, six acre oasis where you can relax and unwind. Located a mere 0.5 mile west of picturesque Grafham village in Huntingdon, the caravan park is ideal those who enjoy a slow wander in charming settings. It is also a short walk to Grafham Water, popular as an international centre for trout fishing, windsurfing and major sailing events. 

Boasting green, level pitches and a children's play area, Grafham Water Club Site also has at its centre a 350-year old cottage, once owned by the Oliver Cromwell family. Part of the moat that surrounded the estate still exists, providing an excellent haven for local wildlife, especially our family of ducks. For those who like some energetic fun, cycling, horse riding, tennis, golf and carting are just some of the activities near the caravan site to keep you entertained. For those interested in history, The nearby Imperial War Museum, Duxford Air Museum, is well worth a visit.

There is now a community run village shop in Grafham selling essentials and groceries.

The Club has taken the decision to close the swimming pool at Grafham Water Club site with immediate effect. We apologise for any inconvenience. The site still offers great facilities for energetic families, with Tourer Explorer activities, and a play area onsite. If you still need your water fix, Grafham Water is only 400m away from the site, and there are three family-friendly swimming pools within 10 miles of the site.

Things to do on site ...

  • Play area
  • Playground

Facilities on site ...

  • Baby changing facilities
  • BBQs allowed: charcoal, gas, electric
  • Disabled facilities: facilities for wheelchair disabled
  • Disabled shower room
  • Dishwashing area
  • Dog walk from site
  • Drive over waste disposal for motorhomes
  • Electric hook-up
  • Family washroom
  • Gas
  • Holiday Cottage
  • Laundry facilities
  • Toilet block
  • TV reception: good
  • Wi-Fi
  • Wi-Fi charge
  • Wi-Fi rating: Gold

Prices

Extras

Price per night for extra car: £2.00

Supplements

Pitches

Touring pitch types Awning Without Awning
Standard (electric & hardstanding)

Yes

Yes

Standard (electric & grass)

Yes

Yes

Non-electric (hardstanding)
Non-electric (grass)
Serviced (electric & hardstanding)

Yes

Yes

Serviced (electric & grass)
Super (electric & hardstanding)

Nearby

Walking notes:

Grafham Water is ideal for walks as well as sailing, trout fishing and picnics.

Supermarket notes:

The closest are Sainsbury’s, Tesco extra (petrol) and Lidl in Huntingdon, 7 miles from the site. There are no height barriers at Tesco or Lidl.

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

From the A14: turn off at junction 20 signposted Grafham Water, Ellington. Then follow signpost to Grafham and site. From the A1: turn off A1 at the roundabout in Buckden onto B661 towards Staughton. In 0.75 mile turn right to Grafham. Follow international signs to site.

Sites key: Club Site

Postcode:
PE28 0BB
GPS:
Lat 52.31204 / Lon -0.30405
Plan a route to this site
OS field ref:
TL157698
OS map ref:
153
Handbook map ref:
K6

Transport links

  • Car hire on site
  • Nearest park and ride: Huntingdon and Cambridgeshire
  • Nearest train station: Huntingdon
  • Train station within 5 miles

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Where are the bins?

We have stayed at this site many times, only to find this time that the mini service areas for water, waste and bins no longer allows you to put rubbish in the bins as they have been removed. You have to use the main bin area which is some distance from the majority of pitches, so much so that if you have a mobility issue or are disabled, it is impossible to get rid of your rubbish and this makes life difficult when living in a small caravan/van as there is nowhere to store rubbish. I'm not sure why this decision has been taken but it is not in the interest of the members who have mobility problems or simply don't want to walk far with their rubbish if it's raining. This puts me off this otherwise great site which is well situated and quiet, except for a caravanner next to us leaving at 4.45am and waking us up whilst doing so. I think the wardens would do well to reinstate the bins to an otherwise pleasant site.

Comment from the Club

Many thanks for your review and we are really sorry to read that you had concerns about the bins on the site. We have forwarded your comments on to the site staff for their reference. We have also removed your second comment posted as a review, as it wasn't a review as such and you have already reviewed the site, however we have forwarded your comments to the site for their reference. Thank you for your feedback which we value. Please feel free to repost the information in the comments below. I have a copy of this if needed.  

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Walks, bikes,walks bikes and more

Only gave one tick for 'good for families' because it was a required field and we are not a family so haven't a clue. Children were at school so very quiet and I liked that, as said in other reviews it is nicely laid out, good clean facility block and three I believe disposal points but enough of the usual bla bla bla. Walking direct from the rear of the site onto the 'Three Shires Way' and various offshoots of bridleways and footpaths, at the entrance end of the site straight across the field gives you walking in the woods adjacent to the reservoir. We hired a couple of leccy bikes for 3 hours and did the reservoir cycle track, stopping off at the visitor centre at 'Perry' for lunch, really big helpings, good choice and reasonable prices. It's a paradise for both walkers and cyclists, definitely a return visit when we get our own leccy bikes after this first taster.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 4 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Nice site and great for dog walkers

Stayed two nights here last day of August and first day of September , for us it was our first stay here in our motorhome and it was ideal, we came as a couple with our dog. Wardens gave a friendly welcome , and the little reception had a stock of lots of items you may need. You are allowed to pick our own pitch, which is great , but if you are driving around the one way system looking and dont make your mind up first time round you have to get the warden to open the barrier to let you in again !! So maybe best to walk round first ! Site was clean , only one toilet/wash block but was well kept and plenty of space and good showers etc,, kids were still on holiday so there was quite a few there playing around the site but this didnt bother us , might bother others ! We parked near the wooden bridge , which was noisy when cars drove over it , but again not an issue. The main attraction of this site and why we will return , is the amount of places to walk the dog , there are fields accessed straight from the site , or you can walk across to Grafham Water , we walked for miles and our dog loved it (it probably helped that the weather was great) We will probably return again , easy access for us (40 mins away)
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

6 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Enjoyed our stay

We stayed here over the Bank Holiday and enjoyed the site, Dawn and Carl the wardens were most helpful and have made the site look fantastic everywhere was well maintained and nothing was too much trouble. The only downfall was from the parents of uncontrolled children who let them run riot around the site with no regard for other peoples pitches and did not tell thier children not to use ball games on site as it states in the rules. I dont know if these were members or not but if they were all I can say is are the club attracting the right members. We would go back again, but out of school holidays
Caravanner from Warwickshire

Reviewed on

9 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 4 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Lovely site

Ideal for dog walks nice and quiet clean site and friendly wardens . Nice touch invoice printed on back of map site save paper although don’t no why we don’t have email invoice and download map before we arrive. We loved the site and more important dogs did to
Motorhomer

Reviewed on

1 review

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Site contact details

Telephone:
01480 810264

Site offers

Site information

The Club has taken the decision to close the swimming pool at Grafham Water Club site with immediate effect. We apologise for any inconvenience. The site still offers great facilities for energetic families, with Tourer Explorer activities, and a play area onsite. If you still need your water fix, Grafham Water is only 400m away from the site, and there are three family-friendly swimming pools within 10 miles of the site.

Please note long-term major roadworks taking place in the area over the next 2 years, which may impact journeys to/from our site. Closures and diversions are constantly changing so check your route via Highways England or Cambridgeshire Roads Works for up to date information.