Grafham Water Caravan Club Site (REF : GFW)

Church Road, Grafham, Huntingdon, Cambridgeshire, PE28 0BB

View on map

Rated 5 of 5

Community rating

Read reviews

Ideal for ...

  • Cycling
  • Dogs
  • Families
  • Walking

Why stay here ...

Grafham Water Club Site is a peaceful, six acre oasis where you can relax and unwind. Located a mere 0.5 mile west of picturesque Grafham village in Huntingdon, the caravan park is ideal those who enjoy a slow wander in charming settings. It is also a short walk to Grafham Water, popular as an international centre for trout fishing, windsurfing and major sailing events. 

Boasting green, level pitches and a children's play area, Grafham Water Club Site also has at its centre a 350-year old cottage, once owned by the Oliver Cromwell family. Part of the moat that surrounded the estate still exists, providing an excellent haven for local wildlife, especially our family of ducks. For those who like some energetic fun, cycling, horse riding, tennis, golf and carting are just some of the activities near the caravan site to keep you entertained. For those interested in history, The nearby Imperial War Museum, Duxford Air Museum, is well worth a visit.

There is now a community run village shop in Grafham selling essentials and groceries.

The Club has taken the decision to close the swimming pool at Grafham Water Club site with immediate effect. We apologise for any inconvenience. The site still offers great facilities for energetic families, with Tourer Explorer activities, and a play area onsite. If you still need your water fix, Grafham Water is only 400m away from the site, and there are three family-friendly swimming pools within 10 miles of the site.

Things to do on site ...

  • Play area
  • Playground

Facilities on site ...

  • Baby changing facilities
  • BBQs allowed: charcoal, gas, electric
  • Disabled facilities: facilities for wheelchair disabled
  • Disabled shower room
  • Dishwashing area
  • Dog walk from site
  • Drive over waste disposal for motorhomes
  • Electric hook-up
  • Family washroom
  • Gas
  • Holiday Cottage
  • Laundry facilities
  • Toilet block
  • TV reception: good
  • Wi-Fi
  • Wi-Fi charge
  • Wi-Fi rating: Gold

Prices

Extras

Price per night for extra car: £2.00

Supplements

Pitches

Touring pitch types Awning Without Awning
Standard (electric & hardstanding)

Yes

Yes

Standard (electric & grass)

Yes

Yes

Non-electric (hardstanding)
Non-electric (grass)
Serviced (electric & hardstanding)

Yes

Yes

Serviced (electric & grass)
Super (electric & hardstanding)

Nearby

Walking notes:

Grafham Water is ideal for walks as well as sailing, trout fishing and picnics.

Supermarket notes:

The closest are Sainsbury’s, Tesco extra (petrol) and Lidl in Huntingdon, 7 miles from the site. There are no height barriers at Tesco or Lidl.

Great savings on days out

Offers available to Club members

View all savings

Map

Directions

From the A14: turn off at junction 20 signposted Grafham Water, Ellington. Then follow signpost to Grafham and site. From the A1: turn off A1 at the roundabout in Buckden onto B661 towards Staughton. In 0.75 mile turn right to Grafham. Follow international signs to site.

Sites key: Club Site

Postcode:
PE28 0BB
GPS:
Lat 52.31204 / Lon -0.30405
Plan a route to this site
OS field ref:
TL157698
OS map ref:
153
Handbook map ref:
K6

Transport links

  • Car hire on site
  • Nearest park and ride: Huntingdon and Cambridgeshire
  • Nearest train station: Huntingdon
  • Train station within 5 miles

Reviews

Rated 5 of 5

Overall rating

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

close panel

Log in to write a review

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

Great Site

Lovely site, toilets kept clean. Wardens were really pleasant and nothing was to much trouble, When we first arrived there were only about 10 caravans on the site but at the weekend it seemed to fill up a bit more. There was a sense of peace and tranqulity all the time we were there. Grafham Water is within walking distance and is amazing. Lots of lovely walks. About 35 minutes from Cambridge which made a lovely day out. Would definately return. Thank you to the wardens for making us feel welcome

Reviewed on

3 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 5 of 5

Good for families

rollerteam 2

This was our first visit to the site. We really enjoyed the visit and found this surprising. There is so much to do in the area. We visited Haughton Mill and Grafham Water. Had a number of local walks. We had a great meal out at Long Yuen Court, at Little Paxton. About 10 minutes drive from the site. A great meal with fantastic service at good value. We will most certainly return to explore more of the area. The wardens do a great job

Reviewed on

22 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 4 of 5

Good for families

Back Water Hide Away

We stayed here over the august bank holiday and had a super time. Walking from the site is great for us & the dog very close to grafham water just across the fields lots of blackberries and sloe about. The site was very well laid out and not to large we enjoyed a very peaceful time very relaxing. The newly laid dog walk is great as it goes on to fields. The toilet blocks are spotless very well looked after. the wardens have worked very hard to make the site look very bright and welcoming fantastic floral displays by reception well stocked shop wonderful Friday night pizza on site made a welcome change from fish and chips and Carl and Dawn are lovely wardens. One point i want to make its about time people read the site instructions prior to turning up NO ARRIVALS BEFORE 1PM This allows your hard working wardens the chance to clean the toilet blocks and get some lunch. The lane to the site is also quite narrow it would not be ideal for two caravans to meet we will be returning next year
Caravanner from Warwickshire

Reviewed on

10 reviews

1 Helpful note

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 1 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Where are the bins?

We have stayed at this site many times, only to find this time that the mini service areas for water, waste and bins no longer allows you to put rubbish in the bins as they have been removed. You have to use the main bin area which is some distance from the majority of pitches, so much so that if you have a mobility issue or are disabled, it is impossible to get rid of your rubbish and this makes life difficult when living in a small caravan/van as there is nowhere to store rubbish. I'm not sure why this decision has been taken but it is not in the interest of the members who have mobility problems or simply don't want to walk far with their rubbish if it's raining. This puts me off this otherwise great site which is well situated and quiet, except for a caravanner next to us leaving at 4.45am and waking us up whilst doing so. I think the wardens would do well to reinstate the bins to an otherwise pleasant site.

Comment from the Club

Many thanks for your review and we are really sorry to read that you had concerns about the bins on the site. We have forwarded your comments on to the site staff for their reference. We have also removed your second comment posted as a review, as it wasn't a review as such and you have already reviewed the site, however we have forwarded your comments to the site for their reference. Thank you for your feedback which we value. Please feel free to repost the information in the comments below. I have a copy of this if needed.  

Reviewed on

2 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Rated 4 of 5

Rated 5 of 5

Peace and quiet

Rated 5 of 5

Facilities and cleanliness

Rated 5 of 5

Location

Rated 1 of 5

Good for families

Walks, bikes,walks bikes and more

Only gave one tick for 'good for families' because it was a required field and we are not a family so haven't a clue. Children were at school so very quiet and I liked that, as said in other reviews it is nicely laid out, good clean facility block and three I believe disposal points but enough of the usual bla bla bla. Walking direct from the rear of the site onto the 'Three Shires Way' and various offshoots of bridleways and footpaths, at the entrance end of the site straight across the field gives you walking in the woods adjacent to the reservoir. We hired a couple of leccy bikes for 3 hours and did the reservoir cycle track, stopping off at the visitor centre at 'Perry' for lunch, really big helpings, good choice and reasonable prices. It's a paradise for both walkers and cyclists, definitely a return visit when we get our own leccy bikes after this first taster.
Caravanner

Reviewed on

12 reviews

0 Helpful notes

Report this reviewer

Site contact details

Telephone:
01480 810264

Site offers

Site information

The Club has taken the decision to close the swimming pool at Grafham Water Club site with immediate effect. We apologise for any inconvenience. The site still offers great facilities for energetic families, with Tourer Explorer activities, and a play area onsite. If you still need your water fix, Grafham Water is only 400m away from the site, and there are three family-friendly swimming pools within 10 miles of the site.

Please note long-term major roadworks taking place in the area over the next 2 years, which may impact journeys to/from our site. Closures and diversions are constantly changing so check your route via Highways England or Cambridgeshire Roads Works for up to date information.